• November 12, 2019, 12:59:20 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb  (Read 2475 times)

rich493

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb
« Reply #15 on: August 27, 2018, 09:28:18 AM »

That drive is reformatted in a Win10 computer with all the files waiting to go back onto the Nass drive
Logged

rich493

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb
« Reply #16 on: August 27, 2018, 09:31:33 AM »

No Toshiba listed yet they use this drive in Buffalo nass drives go figure
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47888
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb
« Reply #17 on: August 27, 2018, 09:39:10 AM »

Any chance of returning the drives and getting ones that are on the list?

No Toshiba listed yet they use this drive in Buffalo nass drives go figure
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

rich493

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb
« Reply #18 on: August 27, 2018, 09:39:48 AM »

Thanks for your input guess I'll have to try something else.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47888
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb
« Reply #19 on: August 27, 2018, 09:42:38 AM »

Make sure the DNS is still working. Find a drive to test with in mean time. The DNS should come to ready with or with out a drive installed I believe. Better to have one in it. Just something small to play around with.  I recommend using a Static IP address ON the DNS set to 192.168.#.32 or .20. Something that's outside of the routers default IP address pool. That way you know the IP address always and should always have a connection there.

Let us know how it goes.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

rich493

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb
« Reply #20 on: August 27, 2018, 09:44:39 AM »

No they came from a Buffalo Nass that I didn't like had no sleep mode like the d-link you had to schedule everything  which is impossible for me as I'm retired and have no schedule.
Logged

rich493

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb
« Reply #21 on: August 27, 2018, 09:46:08 AM »

OK
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47888
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb
« Reply #22 on: August 27, 2018, 09:46:49 AM »

Might find someone online who would either make a trade for HDDs that are compatible or sell them and get you new ones that do work...
Good Luck.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

rich493

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb
« Reply #23 on: August 27, 2018, 09:48:49 AM »

Thanks By
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47888
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb
« Reply #24 on: August 27, 2018, 10:32:44 AM »

 ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1454
Re: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb
« Reply #25 on: August 29, 2018, 12:43:21 PM »

Sorry I missed this one.

It appears that you have drives that are formatted in a way that precludes the NAS from doing a proper Linux format.  Before you can use the disks in the NAS they have to be returned to their virgin state (windows does some strange things to disk drives , especially win 10).  It sounds as if win 10 has turned the drive into a GPT disk from an MBR disk.

You need to download the manufacturers disk tools and use them to restore the disks to a clean state (no partitions or data on them) then the NAS firmware should be able to format them as RAID 1 without problems, assuming you have the latest firmware on the NAS.

Getting windows near a Linux formatted disk is usually bad news for any data on the disk because windows does not understand the Ext3/4 file system.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2018, 12:46:11 PM by ivan »
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]