• August 10, 2020, 05:22:19 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb  (Read 2880 times)

rich493

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb
« Reply #15 on: August 27, 2018, 09:28:18 AM »

That drive is reformatted in a Win10 computer with all the files waiting to go back onto the Nass drive
Logged

rich493

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb
« Reply #16 on: August 27, 2018, 09:31:33 AM »

No Toshiba listed yet they use this drive in Buffalo nass drives go figure
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49051
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb
« Reply #17 on: August 27, 2018, 09:39:10 AM »

Any chance of returning the drives and getting ones that are on the list?

No Toshiba listed yet they use this drive in Buffalo nass drives go figure
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rich493

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb
« Reply #18 on: August 27, 2018, 09:39:48 AM »

Thanks for your input guess I'll have to try something else.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49051
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb
« Reply #19 on: August 27, 2018, 09:42:38 AM »

Make sure the DNS is still working. Find a drive to test with in mean time. The DNS should come to ready with or with out a drive installed I believe. Better to have one in it. Just something small to play around with.  I recommend using a Static IP address ON the DNS set to 192.168.#.32 or .20. Something that's outside of the routers default IP address pool. That way you know the IP address always and should always have a connection there.

Let us know how it goes.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rich493

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb
« Reply #20 on: August 27, 2018, 09:44:39 AM »

No they came from a Buffalo Nass that I didn't like had no sleep mode like the d-link you had to schedule everything  which is impossible for me as I'm retired and have no schedule.
Logged

rich493

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb
« Reply #21 on: August 27, 2018, 09:46:08 AM »

OK
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49051
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb
« Reply #22 on: August 27, 2018, 09:46:49 AM »

Might find someone online who would either make a trade for HDDs that are compatible or sell them and get you new ones that do work...
Good Luck.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rich493

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb
« Reply #23 on: August 27, 2018, 09:48:49 AM »

Thanks By
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49051
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb
« Reply #24 on: August 27, 2018, 10:32:44 AM »

 ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1475
Re: 3tb Hd formats as 1tb
« Reply #25 on: August 29, 2018, 12:43:21 PM »

Sorry I missed this one.

It appears that you have drives that are formatted in a way that precludes the NAS from doing a proper Linux format.  Before you can use the disks in the NAS they have to be returned to their virgin state (windows does some strange things to disk drives , especially win 10).  It sounds as if win 10 has turned the drive into a GPT disk from an MBR disk.

You need to download the manufacturers disk tools and use them to restore the disks to a clean state (no partitions or data on them) then the NAS firmware should be able to format them as RAID 1 without problems, assuming you have the latest firmware on the NAS.

Getting windows near a Linux formatted disk is usually bad news for any data on the disk because windows does not understand the Ext3/4 file system.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2018, 12:46:11 PM by ivan »
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]