• December 13, 2019, 05:56:42 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Have problems configuring to a new ISP using PPPoE with VDSL  (Read 329 times)

Tictank

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Have problems configuring to a new ISP using PPPoE with VDSL
« on: October 26, 2019, 08:40:18 AM »

Hello,

I had changed ISPs, switching from cable to vdsl.

I'm trying to keep the DIR-880L (FW:1.08WW) in router mode with the vdsl modem in bridge mode.

Currently I'm not getting any connection when I set it to PPPoE with the ISPs usersname and password. I have a ethernet cable connected to the Internet port and linked to Port 1 of the vdsl modem. I tried following along the Wizard steps but it just says "Congratulations, your device has been configured" regardless of it not working.

Previously I had no problems when the connection type was DHCP

Have a missed something?

Any help with this would be appreciated, thanks.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47982
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Have problems configuring to a new ISP using PPPoE with VDSL
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2019, 02:31:13 PM »

Have you tried this with the v1.20 FW update?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Tictank

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Have problems configuring to a new ISP using PPPoE with VDSL
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2019, 04:57:41 AM »

Ok I attempted to upgrade with DIR880A1_FW120b02_beta01_20181221_icl9, but an error occurs and fails to update.
Edit: I upgraded with the middle firmware this time and got it to the latest 1.20 version.

But I still get the same problem connecting to internet with it, "Cable Status: Disconnected". I'm not sure how else to configure it for PPPoE.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2019, 06:00:07 AM by Tictank »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47982
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Have problems configuring to a new ISP using PPPoE with VDSL
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2019, 11:21:08 AM »

Did you factory reset the 880L after the last FW file was loaded?

Swap LAN cables between the modem and 880L? Be sure your using a good quality LAN cable. CAT6 recommended.

What is the Mfr and model# of the ISP modem?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Tictank

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Have problems configuring to a new ISP using PPPoE with VDSL
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2019, 02:31:38 PM »

Great, so factory reset sorted it out, thanks a lot for the help ;D

I noticed that Website Filter does not seem to work. Is there an an access control to enable? Or could I use WAN IP filtering?

Thanks!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47982
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Have problems configuring to a new ISP using PPPoE with VDSL
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2019, 11:12:07 AM »

I think web filter needs DNS Relay enabled. And it only works for HTTP and not HTTPS sites.

Glad you got it working.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting