• September 21, 2020, 05:59:12 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Have problems configuring to a new ISP using PPPoE with VDSL  (Read 1391 times)

Tictank

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Have problems configuring to a new ISP using PPPoE with VDSL
« on: October 26, 2019, 08:40:18 AM »

Hello,

I had changed ISPs, switching from cable to vdsl.

I'm trying to keep the DIR-880L (FW:1.08WW) in router mode with the vdsl modem in bridge mode.

Currently I'm not getting any connection when I set it to PPPoE with the ISPs usersname and password. I have a ethernet cable connected to the Internet port and linked to Port 1 of the vdsl modem. I tried following along the Wizard steps but it just says "Congratulations, your device has been configured" regardless of it not working.

Previously I had no problems when the connection type was DHCP

Have a missed something?

Any help with this would be appreciated, thanks.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49195
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Have problems configuring to a new ISP using PPPoE with VDSL
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2019, 02:31:13 PM »

Have you tried this with the v1.20 FW update?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Tictank

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Have problems configuring to a new ISP using PPPoE with VDSL
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2019, 04:57:41 AM »

Ok I attempted to upgrade with DIR880A1_FW120b02_beta01_20181221_icl9, but an error occurs and fails to update.
Edit: I upgraded with the middle firmware this time and got it to the latest 1.20 version.

But I still get the same problem connecting to internet with it, "Cable Status: Disconnected". I'm not sure how else to configure it for PPPoE.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2019, 06:00:07 AM by Tictank »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49195
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Have problems configuring to a new ISP using PPPoE with VDSL
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2019, 11:21:08 AM »

Did you factory reset the 880L after the last FW file was loaded?

Swap LAN cables between the modem and 880L? Be sure your using a good quality LAN cable. CAT6 recommended.

What is the Mfr and model# of the ISP modem?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Tictank

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Have problems configuring to a new ISP using PPPoE with VDSL
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2019, 02:31:38 PM »

Great, so factory reset sorted it out, thanks a lot for the help ;D

I noticed that Website Filter does not seem to work. Is there an an access control to enable? Or could I use WAN IP filtering?

Thanks!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49195
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Have problems configuring to a new ISP using PPPoE with VDSL
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2019, 11:12:07 AM »

I think web filter needs DNS Relay enabled. And it only works for HTTP and not HTTPS sites.

Glad you got it working.

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!