• September 23, 2019, 04:16:28 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: UPS and DNS - 340L  (Read 6113 times)

SteamMaster

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
UPS and DNS - 340L
« on: September 29, 2015, 09:16:18 AM »

Hello guys !

Need help, im thinking on buy a UPS for my NAS, i had some big issues with the power at my home....

Everytime the power goes out i have to make a scan on every disk.. last time one of them lose all the stuff i had on them... (the disk were an old Seagate)
Since last time i have bought some WD Red on it im affraid that all of this power on, power off damage my NAS or even my disks ( they are toooo expensive).

So, the question here is what to buy, i dont need anything special, just enough to maintain the NAS for a few minutes and if needed to shut it down safely.

Im looking at this one APC Back-UPS 700VA but im afraid that it wont connect directly ( i mean the NAS knowing when the UPS is going to ShutDown and let the NAS shutdown first) or its not compatible.

Any help is apreciated !!!

Best regards
« Last Edit: September 29, 2015, 09:19:22 AM by SteamMaster »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: UPS and DNS - 340L
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2015, 10:01:14 AM »

I have an APC myself, I can't remember the model at the moment. However mine doesn't support my DNS however I have my DNS just connected by the power cord to the UPS so when the mains go down, I can manually power off the DNS.
Mine similar to this one:
http://www.apc.com/products/family/index.cfm?id=29

The model you linked doesn't have any LAN connection support I don't think. And you need a UPS that has the female power plugs like the one I link too, rather than the male version seen on the model you linked too.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2015, 10:04:36 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

SteamMaster

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: UPS and DNS - 340L
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2015, 03:15:39 PM »

Hello Furry

Thanks for the fast reply.

I was talking about that specific UPS because it has an USB interface, and in the 340 L manual has references to connect to any UPS by usb.

Since the UPS is only to connect to the NAS i was thinking that could be enough.

Forgot one thing, the point of the UPS is to be able to shutdown the DNS alone, without human interface !!!!!

What NAS/DNS do you have ?!

Sorry for all the questions !!!

Best regards
« Last Edit: September 29, 2015, 03:18:30 PM by SteamMaster »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: UPS and DNS - 340L
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2015, 03:17:52 PM »

AH ok, well i haven't tried using USB so I don't know if it would work. You might contact the Mfr of the UPS and D-Link and ask them what is compatible and configuration needed.

DNS-345.

Ask any questions. I might not be able to answer all.  ::)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

SteamMaster

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: UPS and DNS - 340L
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2015, 03:27:02 PM »

heheheh

Thank you !!

In my zone and specially in my house i have some problems with a not so strong power connection, and sometimes the power goes down, everytime i turn on the DNS i have to do a scan to the drives, i was hoping that with this, even if the power was turned off more time than the UPS capacity, the UPS would send info to the DNS to make a "soft" shutdown !!!!

I will try to understand if the specific UPS can do the trick, if so i will return here for some feedback

Best regards !
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: UPS and DNS - 340L
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2015, 07:35:58 AM »

Yes if USB UPS is supported on the DNS and if you and find a particular UPS unit, then a seemless shut down should be what your looking for. You might ask D-Link what they recommend for a UPS unit.

Keep us posted.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

SteamMaster

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: UPS and DNS - 340L
« Reply #6 on: September 30, 2015, 08:05:36 AM »

I've bought the one i said in the first post, i have the possibility to return it if it doesn't work, so cross your fingers !!!!

I've check in D-link site about the Compatibility list for the DNS-340L and it has a reference for APC BACK-UPS ES BE500TW but i cant find it in my country for sale..... So, i checked the features and all related to the USB connection are the same, so im very excited, so wich me luck !!!!

Thanks again for the suport !!!!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: UPS and DNS - 340L
« Reply #7 on: September 30, 2015, 08:13:08 AM »

Hope it works out. Let us know.  :)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

SteamMaster

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: UPS and DNS - 340L
« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2015, 07:17:31 AM »

 ;D im a happy dude !!!

So, i found out that the 340L is even better than o initially thought.

Going to try to explain.

What i was looking for was an UPS that could protect my DNS from the power cut's that i suffer in my area, maintaining the DNS ON and if necessary make a seamless shut down if the UPS could no longer maintain the DNS on.
I found it, the exact same one that i started the thread, the APC Back-UPS 700VA, so, what is amazing in all this, the DNS recognize the UPS with the usb cable, giving some intel about the UPS itself, like the percentage of the battery, if its on power cable or battery, the serial number of it and even the Make and model....

The most amazing thing (at least for me) is the capability of the DNS transform the UPS in a network UPS, making it a Master UPS and can be accessed by windows (this part i havenīt really go all the way in config but at least halfway it was all cool) with a ip address ;D. I found this amazing because the price range of a network card for any UPS is kinda high....

So, maybe this won't matter for the most people but for me its perfect, and i could not let this go untold !!!

Really hope that someone could benefit with this the way i did !!!!

So, for finishing this my thanks to FurryNutz  :D for all the help !!

Best regards

Steam

PS: forgot something, at this point the UPS is only for the DNS, i unplugged the UPS from the power hopping to see what would happen when the battery went dry, and 30 minutes later the battery still had 50% battery  :o, so i haven't had the "on site" confirmation that it could shutdown the DNS.... the 30 minutes pass with my DNS being used to watch a series on my pc, so it was in some load ..... when i have the confirmation of a safe shutdown i will report it here !!!!
« Last Edit: October 01, 2015, 07:23:25 AM by SteamMaster »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: UPS and DNS - 340L
« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2015, 07:29:26 AM »

Awesome. Thank you for sharing. Glad it's working well.

You can put other devices on the UPS after your done testing. I have my ISP modem, router and DNS on my UPS. One of these days I'll upgrade the UPS so I an get remote control and connections with the DNS.

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

SteamMaster

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: UPS and DNS - 340L
« Reply #10 on: October 02, 2015, 03:00:18 AM »

Iīm a sad dude.... :(

So, it doesn't work.... no safe shutdown for me... all perfect until the shutdown part...

I even get the message that the battery is low and it will shutdown in a few moments, the UPS i mean.... Why, WHYYYY .....

How much i would like to know how to create a simple add on to make this work, if the DNS receive the message that the UPS is shutting down why the hell doesn't the DNS shut to ...... bahhhhhh

Going to try to find someone who can help me, the problem is i dont know were to start ....

Best regards

Steam

ps: i was looking for the logs and now im confused....


Oct  1 19:48:41 SteamCloud smbd: CIFS: [192.168.1.100] closed the connection to service [Volume_1].
Oct  1 19:48:41 SteamCloud smbd: CIFS: [192.168.1.100] closed the connection to service [P2P].
Oct  1 19:48:41 SteamCloud smbd: CIFS: [192.168.1.100] closed the connection to service [Volume_3].
Oct  1 19:48:41 SteamCloud smbd: CIFS: [192.168.1.100] closed the connection to service [Volume_2].
Oct  1 19:48:37 SteamCloud upssched-cmd: LowBattery and run shutdown procedure.
Oct  1 19:48:37 SteamCloud upssched-cmd: The UPS has been On LowBattery.
Oct  1 19:04:55 SteamCloud smbd: CIFS: [192.168.1.100] connected to [Volume_2] as user [SteamMaster].
Oct  1 19:04:55 SteamCloud smbd: CIFS: [192.168.1.100] connected to [Volume_3] as user [SteamMaster].
Oct  1 19:03:44 SteamCloud smbd: CIFS: [192.168.1.100] connected to [P2P] as user [SteamMaster].
Oct  1 18:57:13 SteamCloud smbd: CIFS: [192.168.1.100] connected to [Volume_1] as user [SteamMaster].
Oct  1 18:51:27 SteamCloud smbd: CIFS: [192.168.1.100] closed the connection to service [Volume_2].
Oct  1 18:51:27 SteamCloud smbd: CIFS: [192.168.1.100] closed the connection to service [Volume_3].
Oct  1 18:51:27 SteamCloud smbd: CIFS: [192.168.1.100] closed the connection to service [P2P].
Oct  1 18:51:27 SteamCloud smbd: CIFS: [192.168.1.100] closed the connection to service [Volume_1].
Oct  1 18:49:39 SteamCloud upssched-cmd: The UPS has been On Battery.

One good thing is that the UPS can hold the DNS for 1 hour, that awesome, but the this message make me confused "LowBattery and run shutdown procedure." , shouldn't this be what i was looking for ?!

Best regards

Steam
« Last Edit: October 02, 2015, 03:18:03 AM by SteamMaster »
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1448
Re: UPS and DNS - 340L
« Reply #11 on: October 02, 2015, 08:00:55 AM »

Sorry I'm a little late to the party but...

For a start we don't have any of these units in service either with ourselves or our clients.  That being said I do have a couple of general observations from reading the manual.

First up SteamMaster if you don't have any other UPS on your network then you should be using the 'Stand Alone' setting in 'Configuration --> USB Devices' not master (in general a master UPS with slave units should be only used where it and the units have fixed IP addresses - NO DHCP for them).

The UPS should send a shut down signal to the controlled device.  The time this signal is sent may be fixed on small UPSs (for example at 25% power remaining in the battery or it may be a fixed time depending on the manufacturers usage calculations), larger units usually have that time period user settable.

The very long battery powered running of the UPS may be confusing both the UPS and the DNS-340L (the UPS would normally have a run time before shut down of 10 to 15 minutes maximum (I will sat our UPS gives us just over a hour running but considering its size, 7 kW, and the size of the battery bank it should).

Looking at the log shown I don't see an actual shut down command listed.  I do see a couple of warnings that could be used as actual commands  but they are, as it stands, warnings.  This may be because of the UPS being set as a master unit in the DNS-340L.

Logged

SteamMaster

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: UPS and DNS - 340L
« Reply #12 on: October 02, 2015, 06:53:09 PM »

Hello Ivan
Thanks for your coments. This time i have limited use to the internet.

But there is one thing i can tel you, i use the UPS on standalone, not on master...

In this way the DNS should shutdown right ??????

Thank you
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1448
Re: UPS and DNS - 340L
« Reply #13 on: October 03, 2015, 10:51:10 AM »

OK, now we have to find out why the UPS and NAS are not communicating.

Since your UPS is new you should have a CD with a control program  and hopefully a full manual, by full I mean something with more than the two page quick setup.  There should also be a manual for the control software which will outline what you can setup on the UPS.

What you need to find is how to set the 'switch off' of a device at a set battery level.  To make that setting you will have to connect the UPS to a computer and I would assume install the interface drivers on the computer (for example, our large EATON UPS is setup to send the shutdown signal to our servers via their iLO interfaces.  We had to set this up using the UPS interface).

If we have a quiet day on Monday I will get one of my people to see what they can find out about your UPS and its setup, apparently that model is not available in Europe The APC website says it is Asian delivery only. 

Logged

SteamMaster

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: UPS and DNS - 340L
« Reply #14 on: October 05, 2015, 01:26:00 AM »

Hello again !!

I've connected the ups to my computer and installed the software, all good.

I've set up to shutdown after 5 minutes of power on battery, but i have a question, the configurations that i do on the software of the PC are they not only for the pc ?!

I havenīt tried to remove the power cord to check if it works, but tonight i will do it.

The most odd thing of all it's you telling me that this ups is for Asian delivery only... i bought mine in my local PC store, in Portugal..... very odd...

The most important, thank you very much for all the attention im getting with my "problem"

Best regards

SteamMaster

Logged
Pages: [1] 2