• April 10, 2020, 03:41:42 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Mixed Raid-0 and Raid-1  (Read 2775 times)

cyp1983

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Mixed Raid-0 and Raid-1
« on: October 08, 2015, 11:06:56 PM »

Newbie NAS question...

Is it possible to setup 2xHDD on Raid-1 (redundancy) and 1xHDD on Raid-0 (non-critical files) on DNS-340L at the same time?
Logged

SteamMaster

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Mixed Raid-0 and Raid-1
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2015, 09:23:48 AM »

Hello,

I would like to help, but i really don't know. Try the manual.

I personally have 4 disks, 2 with 2 TB on raid 1 and another 2 with 500 GB on standard. Maybe you can play with the other 2 to achieve your goals.

I know it's not a big help but ......

Maybe someone who knows will help you !!

Best regards

Steam 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48557
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Mixed Raid-0 and Raid-1
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2015, 09:45:40 AM »

I don't think you can have different RAIDs on one NAS at the same time. You have to pick one.

I recommend using non RAID formatting and set Standard formatting (Windows) and use the drives like you would in a PC. Each one could be used as a back up of the other or from PC sources.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

cyp1983

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Mixed Raid-0 and Raid-1
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2015, 07:35:06 AM »

ok thanks for your input :( disappointed slightly but thats just how it is...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48557
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Mixed Raid-0 and Raid-1
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2015, 07:59:02 AM »

 ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1471
Re: Mixed Raid-0 and Raid-1
« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2015, 11:45:55 AM »

I will just add one comment.  You can't make a RAID array with only one disk.

In the case proposed by cyp1983 with only three disks.  You can have a RAID 1 array made with two of the disks and the third can be formatted as a standard disk.  Doing it that way should do what cyp1983 wants.
Logged

cyp1983

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Mixed Raid-0 and Raid-1
« Reply #6 on: November 07, 2015, 07:17:57 AM »

ivan, you are right!! i got confused a bit earliar, I meant "normal/standard disk" not RAID-0! Thanks for clarifying :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48557
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Mixed Raid-0 and Raid-1
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2015, 07:39:00 AM »

Any status on this?  ???
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rtanski

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Mixed Raid-0 and Raid-1
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2020, 11:40:20 PM »

I think the problem is that the UPS USB config on the dlink has the wrong permissions.

you can login to the device over ssh and play around with the syslogs
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48557
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Mixed Raid-0 and Raid-1
« Reply #9 on: February 26, 2020, 06:14:03 AM »

Thanks for posting. However I presume after 5 years, the user, hopefully has resolved the problem.

I think the problem is that the UPS USB config on the dlink has the wrong permissions.

you can login to the device over ssh and play around with the syslogs
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rtanski

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Mixed Raid-0 and Raid-1
« Reply #10 on: February 26, 2020, 01:52:50 PM »

ok looks like the problem is that the linux guys at dlink forgot to add the shutdown command from busybox.

theres no shutdown anywhere to execute.

meanwhile the upsmon.conf expects
SHUTDOWNCMD "/usr/sbin/shutdown"
which doesnt exist
Logged