• December 15, 2019, 10:43:11 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: UPS and DNS - 340L  (Read 6297 times)

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1455
Re: UPS and DNS - 340L
« Reply #15 on: October 05, 2015, 12:06:16 PM »

The fact you bought your UPS in Portugal is not very surprising, my stores person has managed to buy items here in France that the manufacturer stated were not available in France and never would be.

Now back to your problem.  As far as we have been able to find out your UPS is designed to work with a computer with that computer requiring the APC software to utilise the signal from the UPS to shut down the computer (this is the typical usage of small UPSs intended for SOHO use).

To shut down any other equipment requires that equipment to understand and act on the signal from the UPS, not all equipment does this usually because a lot of the shutdown signalling is non standard while the UPS state is and so is shown.  There are ways around this but they require either modifying the OS or firmware or building a small dedicated unit that will shut the equipment down as necessary (we did the latter for all our in house DNS-323/343 and 320 NAS boxes so they would shut down if our servers shut down).

Again, when we have time, I will have my software person look at the APC software and the DNS-340L firmware to see if it is possible to get them working together in some way but that is not going to happen tomorrow, sorry.
 
Logged

SteamMaster

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: UPS and DNS - 340L
« Reply #16 on: October 05, 2015, 01:27:44 PM »

OMG don't say your sorry, its all the way around, its me who is graceful for all the help !!!!!

For now the simple fact that the ups can hold for about an hour makes happy and for all the power cuts i had so far, 2 of them, the amount of time that the power where down was less than 10 minutes.
So the ups is up the task.

All my questions was just only to maximize the investment i made in the UPS. If you any time soon or later have the time or the know how to make them work together i will be in your debt, but please don't lose your sleep over it !!!!

Once again Ivan you have my greatest Thanks !!!!!

I will be waiting for any development or not you my have, so like i said, no worry's !!!!

Best Regards

Pedro
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47985
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: UPS and DNS - 340L
« Reply #17 on: December 04, 2015, 07:39:40 AM »

Any status on this?  ???
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

SteamMaster

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: UPS and DNS - 340L
« Reply #18 on: December 04, 2015, 07:59:54 AM »

Hello

Last info was from Ivan, i said that when he have some time he would look into it and see if anything could be done to resolve this problem.

So, for the time being just waiting for some light in the end of the tunnel ;) !!

Best regards

Pedro
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1455
Re: UPS and DNS - 340L
« Reply #19 on: December 27, 2015, 06:08:20 AM »

An update:

It appears that the firmware in the DNS-340L does NOT have the necessary hooks to accept the shutdown signal from the UPS.  Why this was missed out when they included the UPS status information is beyond our understanding.

We are now looking to see if it would be possible to include the necessary programming in Fun-Plug or Alt-F but that again is something that is very much a 'back burner' project at the moment.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]