• November 18, 2019, 10:23:40 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: bridge mode with WiFi modem  (Read 23059 times)

Papuz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
bridge mode with WiFi modem
« on: May 22, 2014, 12:44:02 AM »

Hi everybody!

I've just buy a DIR-868L, and it looks good!
In my home I have a modem router WiFi (only) because I there's no way to get ADSL.

The pack (complete with modem and connection) is this one:

http://www.tim.it/prodotti/internet-pack-4g-per-6mesi

the modem is that one:

http://www.huaweidevice.it/device/huawei-e589-copy

Ok... I've tried to set bridge mode (as per D-link manual) removing DHCP and UPnP, but it doesn't work :(
I've put static address to the D-Link, tried to set the same WiFi connection (same name, same WPA, same Chanal) but no way.

Do you have any suggestions?

My intention was to set the D-Link as the main router of the house, and use the huawei only to go in internet from the D-Link. Do you think it is possible?

Thanks in advance for your help!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47911
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2014, 06:33:21 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Did you use the Bridge mode feature see here?
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=53989.msg212805#msg212805

It's recommended to bridge the ISP Modem if it support that and then use the DIR-868L has your main host router and WiFi AP. You'll need to refer to your ISP service for support help and information regarding bridging modems and setting up the router with there services.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Papuz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2014, 06:58:53 AM »


Hi Furry,
thanks for your answer.
regarding your questions:

 - H/W Ver.:A1  F/W Ver.: 1.07
 - I have not updated the Firmware, since I can not connect to the internet
 - I'm from Italy
 - In my firmware version there is the availability to switch in BRIDGE MODE
 - Huaway modem can not accept bridge modem, so I must set D-Link as bridge :(

Any suggestions of how can I set?
Thanks
Regards

Mirco
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47911
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2014, 07:04:12 AM »

Two suggestions,
If you can disable the ISP modems' Wifi, use the 858L as a wired AP or main host router. Just put the 868L in to the ISP modems DMZ if you use the 868L in router mode. Wired AP mode you'll just be connecting a LAN cable from the ISP modem to the black ports on the 868L, not the yellow Internet port.

Or run thru the bridge feature on the 868L and use it as a bridge. You'll only be able to use 1 radio when in bridge mode, so if the modem is broadcasting 2.4Ghz, you'll not be using the 5Ghz on the 868L.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Papuz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2014, 07:18:51 AM »

Hi Furry,

ISP modem has not ethernet connection (It would be easy...) just WiFi connection.

Now the questions is: how to set 868L as bridge?
As I've explained I've tried, but no results... Is there any documentation or instruction to follow?

Thanks!

Mirco
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47911
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2014, 07:30:04 AM »

There should be some instruction in the user manual...let me know if there isn't. I can walk you thru it.

It will be starting here with the Bridge feature under Setup/Internet/Manual:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=53989.msg212805#msg212805
« Last Edit: May 27, 2014, 07:35:21 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Papuz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2014, 07:49:13 AM »

From the manual I've found:


Note: It is strongly recommended to replace your existing router with the DIR-868L instead of using both. If your modem is a combo
router, you may want to contact your ISP or manufacturer’s user guide to put the router into Bridge mode, which will ‘turn off’ the
router (NAT) functions.
If you are connecting the DIR-868L router to an existing router to use as a wireless access point and/or switch, you will have
to do the following to the DIR-868L before connecting it to your network:
• Disable UPnP™
• Disable DHCP
• Change the LAN IP address to an available address on your network. The LAN ports on the router cannot accept
a DHCP address from your other router.
To connect to another router, please follow the steps below:
1. Plug the power into the router. Connect one of your computers to the router (LAN port) using an Ethernet cable. Make sure
your IP address on the computer is 192.168.0.xxx (where xxx is between 2 and 254). Please see the Networking Basics
section for more information. If you need to change the settings, write down your existing settings before making any
changes. In most cases, your computer should be set to receive an IP address automatically in which case you will not have
to do anything to your computer.
2. Open a web browser, enter http://192.168.0.1 (or http://dlinkrouter.local./) and press Enter. When the login window
appears, set the user name to Admin and leave the password box empty. Click Log In to continue.
3. Click on Advanced and then click Advanced Network. Uncheck the Enable UPnP checkbox. Click Save Settings to continue.
4. Click Setup and then click Network Settings. Uncheck the Enable DHCP Server checkbox. Click Save Settings to continue.
Connect to an Existing Router


I've found the manual here:

ftp://ftp2.dlink.com/PRODUCTS/DIR-868L/REVA/DIR-868L_MANUAL_1.00_EN.PDF

But this is for cabled bridge (via ethernet) and not wifi bridge as I need.
Thanks for your help!

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47911
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2014, 08:46:04 AM »

Ok, Set a Static IP address on your PCs networking for 192.168.0.49 and Subnet Mask of 255.255.255.0 only. No need to set Gateway or DNS.

Now, log into the 868Ls router page, go to Setup/Internet/Manual with the wired LAN PC.

You should see the check box Bridge mode option there.
Select the check mark the select Save Settings. It should display a message saying that the routers IP address and mode is changing and the IP address should be 192.168.0.50 and is going to reboot. Select Ok to continue. Wait for the router to reboot. Close the browser.

Reopen the browser and go to 192.168.0.50 and the routers web page should appear.

Navigate to Setup/Wireless. Find the Scan button. This will bring up a small window with WiFi scan results of near by WiFi SSID names and information. If your ISP modems Wifi is enable and working, you should see the SSID name listed here.

Select the SSID name if your WiFi that you want the 868L to connect too and Ok.

This will bring you back to the main WiFi page. Enter in the security password for the ISP modems WiFi that you use on it. Be sure you enter it in correctly. All other settings should be automatically set so no other changes should be mace. Just input the ISP modems WiFi PW is all.

Select Save Settings. I believe the router may reboot or just attempt to connect with out a reboot.

Change your PCs networking settings back from the static IP address to the Automatic Obtain IP addressing. While the PC is connected to the 868L in bridge mode, check the networking status of the PC to see if the ISP modems IP address string has been set on the PC. Give it a few seconds to populate if the 868L reboots. The PC should gain a IP address from the modem via the 868L that should be now connected to the ISP modems WIFI.

Check Internet connections by surfing the web.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Papuz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2014, 11:44:02 AM »

Hi Furry!!!

Thank you so much!!!
It works!
I don't well understand if I'm using wifi by d-link or by the modem... But it works!!

Thank you so much!!

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47911
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem (RESOLVED)
« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2014, 11:45:51 AM »

Well if you have the PC LAN wired to the back of the 868L and you got it connected in bridge mode to the ISP Modem, your getting internet via the 868L from the modem.

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Papuz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem (RESOLVED)
« Reply #10 on: May 28, 2014, 07:53:04 AM »

Well if you have the PC LAN wired to the back of the 868L and you got it connected in bridge mode to the ISP Modem, your getting internet via the 868L from the modem.

Enjoy.  ;)

Hi Furry,

still me...
The system is working, and well... it's ok. But it is not what I had in my mind.
The WiFi connection will remains the one of the modem (Huaway) but it is slow bad, and small radius.
Is it not possible to keep the D-Link as main router also for wifi connection?
It's a very pitty to have this router and use it only for cabled connection  :'(

Any suggestions is appreciated! Thanks again!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47911
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #11 on: May 28, 2014, 07:57:18 AM »

Does the modem have a DMZ or do you have access to the modems web page?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Papuz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #12 on: May 28, 2014, 09:17:14 AM »

Does the modem have a DMZ or do you have access to the modems web page?


Yes, I have an access via webpage to the modem
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47911
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #13 on: May 28, 2014, 09:26:17 AM »

There any configuration for the WiFi and is there a DMZ that you can find?
If there is any way to disable the WiFi on the modem and if there is a DMZ you could connect the 868L in wired router mode by putting the IP address the 868L gets from the modem into the modems DMZ using the yellow Internet Port on the back of the 868L to connect to the modem, or you could Turning a router into an AP. This would be using the Black LAN ports on the back of the 868L router to connect to the modem.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Papuz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #14 on: May 28, 2014, 09:29:42 AM »


Sorry... this *****g modem have no ethernet ports... just wifi...
it's like this one....

Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3