• November 21, 2019, 12:45:04 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: bridge mode with WiFi modem  (Read 23068 times)

koroziv

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #30 on: August 03, 2014, 08:22:01 PM »

Actually the firmware does not support/include repeater mode, the router is  supporting just fine this feature when added...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #31 on: August 03, 2014, 08:34:32 PM »

Looks like a feature for your region then...What region are you located?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

koroziv

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #32 on: August 05, 2014, 08:01:52 PM »

It's not for my region, it is a customized version for StarHub subscribers, and I have no idea of who and where are they. I only use the router as a repeater now, so I don't know what else is in this firmware or how stable it is in regular use. I don't have time any-more  to test it properly.
Dlink should include all this working features in fw for everybody (this and pppoe offloading)
Right now this powerful device is turned in to a paper weight by poor software. I know about 20 people that  turned away from dlink (to asus or whatever) because of this crippled firmware.  
Edit:
StarHub community is from Singapore.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2014, 08:08:31 PM by koroziv »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #33 on: August 06, 2014, 07:11:05 AM »

Ya thats a custom ISP specific FW thats not supported out side of that ISP community by D-Link for other regions.

Even though those features would be nice to have, D-Link probably has not included it for legal and marketing reasons for all other regions on this model router. D-Link has other devices that handle repeating at this level and may not want this router to compete with those products would be one reason why they don't include it in this model router, i.e. DAP models. Other features like PPPoE offloading maybe a business class or enterprise class feature which is not used or needed by the average home user or not used very much in standard DSL environments. And again, that feature maybe handled on a different model router that D-Link has. Basic PPPoE protocols are handled on this router for most home DSL environments which is all thats needed.

I don't agree with your evaluation of the router being a paper weight due to the FW being crippled. Iv'e had this router since before release and it's been a solid working router and works well for it's intended use. IF you and others are expecting this router to have features that was not originally intended then you need to review your network needs and review other model routers for features that you truly need. These routers are mainly designed for host router use out of the box and work well for HOME and SMALL BUSINESS. If your needing features that this router did not have or will ever be added, then you chose the wrong router. It's not up to the router Mfr to figure out what users needs are, it's up to  the perspective users to review there network needs then ask questions to D-Link sales or support to find out what specific model router would meet there specific needs. Mfr's have a wide variety of models and features and levels of routers to select from. It's up to users to find the right one. I've tested many Mfr routers out and D-Link has the most mature and best featured routers for home and small business use.
Wireless Router Buying Guide

If people are turning away then they are not correctly informed or have made wrong presumptions about D-Link routers and didn't give D-Link an honest chance to maybe satisfy there network needs.

The bridge function that was included is a great feature and glad it was added in. I've had other users set up this router in bridge with with another 868L as the main host router for complete Max WiFi speed connections and it works great. My 868L is currently in bridge mode servicing my xBox 360 for gaming. Solid connection at 1300Mb on 5Ghz.

Good Luck.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2014, 07:14:42 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

koroziv

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #34 on: August 07, 2014, 07:33:43 AM »

Other routers in the same price range and even cheaper have all the those features that d'link lacks. Proper ipv6 support, pppoe offloading, repeater and maybe some more but this are the ones that matter to me atm. And all that in a single firmware worldwide.
If the 868l would work properly as a router I couldn't care less about the repeater mode.
A gigabit router should work at gigabit speed with pppoe, I didn't see in the specifications otherwise. They advertising 1750  mbps on AC, let's say I expect around 600 mbps transfer speed but the router can't do more than 300 even wired...
They should specify that it works at gigabit speed only with dhcp but they don't.
In one year I had my hands on routers from 5 different brands and sadly this one was the most disappointing. I loved the wifi coverage compared to others but the rest is nowhere.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #35 on: August 07, 2014, 08:13:26 AM »

Have you contacted D-Link about your experiences?

Other routers in the same price range and even cheaper have all the those features that d'link lacks. Proper ipv6 support, pppoe offloading, repeater and maybe some more but this are the ones that matter to me atm. And all that in a single firmware worldwide.
If the 868l would work properly as a router I couldn't care less about the repeater mode.
A gigabit router should work at gigabit speed with pppoe, I didn't see in the specifications otherwise. They advertising 1750  mbps on AC, let's say I expect around 600 mbps transfer speed but the router can't do more than 300 even wired...
They should specify that it works at gigabit speed only with dhcp but they don't.
In one year I had my hands on routers from 5 different brands and sadly this one was the most disappointing. I loved the wifi coverage compared to others but the rest is nowhere.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

koroziv

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #36 on: August 07, 2014, 07:38:32 PM »

Yes I did, they ignored me. You put me in contact with someone and it was ok, we communicated and I did all the tests that I was asked to do regarding the ipv6 problem, they ignored the pppoe issue. I couldn't give them the wan side packet capture because I don't have the necessary equipment to do it. They admitted that there was no RA from the dir 868L, visible in the LAN side packet capture; they asked for LAN capture from a router that doesn't have this issue and I gave one to them.
In my opinion the wan side is not that relevant, because the router gets ipv6, it just not capable to pass it on to the lan devices. It's native ipv6, not tunnel or something unusual. All other routers I tested don't have this issue so the problem is obviously with the 868L. This is my second 868L, and i tested another one in a store, all have the same behaviour.
D'link Romania gave me a firmware that was patched for the pppoe issue, 1.05 beta, but that fix was not included in the next fw realeases.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #37 on: August 08, 2014, 07:26:49 AM »

I'll pass this along to my contact in the east EU region and see if we can get some information on this. If you have a case number it would be helpful at the ready.

I recommend lets close this thread as it's become off topic. Let continue the discussion here:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=59319.0

Thank you.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2014, 07:31:24 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Papuz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #38 on: November 07, 2014, 03:32:08 AM »

Hi Furry...
that's me again... do you remember?
My system is working as per last post:

From 3G modem Huaway 587 --> Minimac through WiFi
Minimac share WiFi internet connection to LAN
DIR 868L receive internet connection from Minimac by LAN and share to WiFi and LAN
Now... the problem is that Minimac is not in the same network of 868, so it is a pitty.

My though now was:
If I buy a DIR-518L, just to keep WiFi of Huaway 587, and share it in LAN of DIR 868L, could it work?
In this case, could I use the DIR 868L as router, and not as a bridge (like it works now)?

Thanks for your time.

Mirco

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #39 on: November 07, 2014, 07:33:48 AM »

I don't think you could connect a Lan cable from the WAN port of the 868L to the WAN port of the 518L. It would depend if the WAN port acted as a LAN port while it was bridged or connected to the ISP modem and could provide the data flow from it's WAN port to the WAN port of the 868L. I don't know for sure.

You know of of these days you should get into a wired ISP service and wired ISP modem which would make things easier. hehe.  ::)

You'll have to ask your regional D-Link support office if thats possible with the 518L in this configuration.

Let us know how it goes.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Papuz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #40 on: November 07, 2014, 07:55:21 AM »

I don't know if DIR 518L  ethernet port can work only as LAN or also WAN... I supposed you know better than me  ;D

Anyhow... if it works as LAN, is it possible to connect to first LAN port in DIR 868, and use DIR 518L (if it accept fix address) as Getway?

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #41 on: November 07, 2014, 08:11:12 AM »

Check the user manual or phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask. I don't have the 518L and un sure if that would be a supported behavior.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Papuz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #42 on: November 07, 2014, 08:57:27 AM »

Hi Furry,

I've check the user manual...

http://www.dlink.com/-/media/Consumer_Products/DIR/DIR%20510L/Manual/DIR_518L_A1_Manual_v1_01_EU.pdf

In your opinion, if I set internet connection as Wi-Fi Hotspot Client (see pag. 75) and I set Network with static IP address, DNS disabled, DHCP disabled, UPnP disabled.... Can I use this as MODEM?

Thanks once again for your help!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: bridge mode with WiFi modem
« Reply #43 on: November 07, 2014, 09:42:43 AM »

It would probably depend on the the behavior on the Internet port in that mode which I don't have any knowledge of...If in HS mode and if D-Link allowed the Internet port to be used as a LAN port, then it might work...You'll have to ask and see.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 2 [3]