• October 27, 2020, 02:24:57 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: Wifi cutting off?  (Read 41724 times)

niniendowarrior

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Wifi cutting off?
« on: June 07, 2013, 07:59:19 PM »

Hello,

I just bought the DIR-636L to replace my old dead DIR-655 and after setting up wifi and security, I noticed that on my Vista box, it would connect and then at random lose the internet connection only to restore it after a few moments.  I use two Ubuntu machines as well but I have not noticed this issue so I am asking for help here (I was reading into firmware upgrades before I decided to ask for some insight).

DLink router details:
Hardware Version: A1      Firmware Version: 1.01

My Vista is on an Acer Aspire 5920G.
My Ubuntu computer uses a Linksys USB Wifi device to connect, which seems to work OK.
I have an Ubuntu laptop which connects just fine.

I initially had issues with configuration when the DNS wouldn't resolve, but it seemingly "went away" on my Ubuntu machines and my Android phones.  My Vista laptop connected right away but experienced these issues of which I have not experienced with my old DIR-655 router.

My wifi is configured invisible and uses WPA.  It also has a MAC address filter list and has my 2 Ubuntu boxes under the reserved IP list.

If anyone please help me diagnose this.  I'd be very happy.  I am happy and willing to provide more info if needed.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Wifi cutting off?
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2013, 08:12:31 PM »

Link>Welcome!
  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
  • Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options, Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
  • Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
  • Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
  • Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench
  • Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
  • Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
  • If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6.
  • Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
  • Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules. Enable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming for routers that have a Media Server option. Disable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming if IPv6 or Media Server is not being used.
  • Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
  • WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
  • Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP Server feature. Tools/Time.

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something thats already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz Routers only: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • Any cordless house phones?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
  • Try turning off Short GI, WLAN Partition,and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
  • Enable WMM Enable Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

3rd Party Security Software Configurations
  • Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
  • Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.


Ensure the Vista Wireless adapter drivers are up to date.
Does the Vista PC work if you make the WiFi visible for testing temporarily?
If your other devices are working and the Vista PC isn't, there could be a configuration issue with this device and not the router. You might temporarily disable WiFi security while testing to see if the Vista PC works with it off.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

niniendowarrior

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: Wifi cutting off?
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2013, 08:23:11 PM »

Hi,

I'm in the Asia region.  I will check the router configuration for your tips to see if performance improves.  I do use a DSL connection but we mostly leave router settings as dhcp.

I use a wpa personal security and use channel 11.  I run a mixed b,g,n AP as my Ubuntu connects at 54Mbps (which I presume is g).  I believe my Vista connects at n.

We do not have any cordless phones.  We do have mobile phones in the area.  There are also a few wifi routers in the area that I know of and are visible.

I am currently running a test with my Vista laptop with no settings change, but it has not tripped up yet.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Wifi cutting off?
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2013, 08:31:08 PM »

IF you don't have any devices that use or need B mode, then switch to Mixed G and N modes.

Keep us posted.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

niniendowarrior

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: Wifi cutting off?
« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2013, 09:45:01 PM »

I have implemented most of the tips with a few exceptions.

I skipped DNS relay for now since I don't have a DNS IP address yet to use.

I didn't find the endpoint independent option in the firewall settings.

I didn't find WISH but WPS is disabled.

I disabled b protocol.

I've run inssiders and found that there are 6 APs and my router is emitting 2. 1 is blank and open and the other contains my wifi security.

The nearest router to me runs on the same wifi signal channel 11.  Within the vicinity, the poorest signal uses 1 and another uses 6.

So right now, there's 2 overlapping networks.

I'm running another test.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2013, 09:47:41 PM by niniendowarrior »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Wifi cutting off?
« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2013, 09:50:13 PM »

Try switching to channel 1 if 11 seems to exhibit problems with disconnections.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

niniendowarrior

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: Wifi cutting off?
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2013, 10:35:42 PM »

I have switched to channel 1 after another failed test.  It seems to be reacting much quicker on my Android tablet.  I sincerely hope that my wifi will be sorted with this change.
Logged

niniendowarrior

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: Wifi cutting off?
« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2013, 01:05:45 AM »

The problem persists.  I will attempt to use g only.  When I had my DIR-655, all my devices were using g.  I wonder if there's an issue with my Vista wifi when using n.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Wifi cutting off?
« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2013, 02:49:45 PM »

Try testing vista with WPA2/AES only and see. Then test WPA2 and TPIK only.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

niniendowarrior

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: Wifi cutting off?
« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2013, 01:27:13 PM »

I had run a test using g and it seemed stable for a long while before briefly acting up once again.

I have altered my wifi to use WPA2/AES as you have suggested.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Wifi cutting off?
« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2013, 03:51:49 PM »

You maybe encountering WiFi congestion in your area on 2.4Ghz.
Managing Signal Congestion

If you are, you may want to switch to 5Ghz WiFi.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2013, 06:53:50 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

niniendowarrior

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: Wifi cutting off?
« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2013, 03:14:52 PM »

You maybe encountering WiFi congestion in your area on 2.4Ghz.
Managing Signal Congestion

If you are, you may want to switch to 5Ghz WiFi.

How do I switch to 5GHz?  I don't see a setting to change the wifi band.

Also changing the transmission to low or medium has made one of my Ubuntu machines unable to ping the router even though it is connected to it.  Sigh... I seem to have made things all the more worse.  ???

EDIT:
I managed to get it working again by directly wiring the problematic Ubuntu laptop to the router.  When I disconnected the lan and attempted to connect my wifi, I checked and my laptop once more appeared on the list of clients.  It seems to be working again.  I did set the transmission back to High though... although the laptop is just like around 5 feet away...
« Last Edit: June 10, 2013, 03:31:44 PM by niniendowarrior »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Wifi cutting off?
« Reply #12 on: June 11, 2013, 07:10:57 AM »

Unfortuntately this router does not support 5Ghz. You'll either need to add 5Ghz wireless by connecting a D-Link DAP model wireless AP to the 636L and upgrading all PCs to 5Ghz for those that can be upgraded and are needed on WiFi connections or get a D-Link model 8 series router that supports both 2.4 and 5Ghz radios. Some devices like cell phones can't be upgraded to 5Ghz.

Reivew this for DAP information:
Bridge Mode vs Relay vs Acess Point (AP) / Routers vs Dedicated Access Points (AP)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

niniendowarrior

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: Wifi cutting off?
« Reply #13 on: June 11, 2013, 03:50:29 PM »

I guess I'll have to just be happy with what I got.  This router seems like a totally big step backwards from my excellent DIR-655.  :'(
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Wifi cutting off?
« Reply #14 on: June 11, 2013, 04:01:00 PM »

I really don't think it's a router issue, more like your environment. Having many other WiFi routers near by on 2.4Ghz will cause any router to not work well. It was possible that your older 655 router didn't have the "good neighbor policy" as newer generation routers now have and there maybe some near by you that don't. Thus all the congestion and interferences on the 2.4Ghz radio near you.

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using Link> teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: [1] 2 3 4