• April 03, 2020, 08:33:48 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS  (Read 17952 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48530
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« on: February 13, 2012, 08:38:01 AM »

This thread is in regards to what users of the DIR-827 would like to request DLink to review and consider adding features to the routers FW and operation. Also this thread includes any reports of bugs that arere-producible, that should be reviewed by DLink seen my us users. Please be professional, detailed, concise and tactful when posting the requests and bug details.

Do not arbitrarily post defects or bugs here. Before reporting concerns about defects or bugs, please ensure that troubleshooting of the problem has been thoroughly completed before posting a problem about defects. Not all issues are a defect or bug related. Let other users help you troubleshoot the problem first before posting here.

Ranting or Demanding anything will not get us anything. There are no guarantees.

Please keep other subjects, topics and questions to other threads and posts. This thread is just a central list of Features and Bugs for review by DLink.

Example:
FEATURE REQUESTS:
Firmware update file process performs a Automatic Factory Reset after the firmware data has been applied. Would be nice to have the update automatically do a factory reset after the data has been applied to the unit. Some end users are not aware of doing a factory reset after the FW update has been applied and they presume that the unit has been wiped and back to factory settings. It would probably be beneficial if this additional reset was handled by the FW update process automatically.

DEFECTS:
Seems that upon entering the routers password for logging into the web page, then hitting ENTER on the key board, the router does not accept the entered PW and gives a incorrect password message when using Safari and other browsers on Mac OS. Possible Windows OS's as well. Seem that after several tries, the routers web page will accept this operation eventually. Entering the password and then clicking on the login button with the mouse seems to resolve this. The ENTER key on the keyboard should be a valid command and the web page should accept this operation. It was mentioned that Safari was not supported by the router and to use IE or Firefox. Mac OS comes native with Safari and as a end user, Safari should be supported fully by the router. MS does not make a recent version of IE and no longer develops IE for Mac.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2012, 09:01:58 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48530
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
QoS disabled on ISP Uplink speeds 2Mb and higher...
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2012, 09:30:21 AM »

QoS is being reported as disabled on ISP Uplink Speeds over 2Mb. Dlink, Please review and consider QoS and the impact of uplink speeds over 2Mb and the interaction between the two to allow higher ISP up links speeds to work with QoS on router products.

Please review the following DIR-827  thread for additional information:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=46674.0
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Patrick533

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
Re: FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2012, 08:38:49 AM »

Daylight savings time fix. Please see link for details:

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48599.0
Logged

drshock

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
Re: FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2012, 05:41:47 AM »

E-mail settings

Please do some testing and debug your firmware to work with the most common USA ISPs SMTP servers.  At least one of your older products does work with Time Warner Cable (Road Runner).  Figure out why the same settings work fine on the DGL-4100 but do not work at all on the DIR-827.   Also, fix DIR-827 log message that says "email sent" as it has the to and from addresses mixed up.
Logged
Live for today....

Patrick533

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
Re: FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2012, 09:17:27 AM »

In  firmware 1.03, if you add more then 4 IP or MAC addresses under Time based filtering, it causes the router to disconnect the WAN, essentially leaving you with no internet.

This worked fine in 1.02, so I consider it a bug.

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=50949.0
« Last Edit: October 29, 2012, 09:19:50 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged

runun

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2012, 06:03:52 PM »

Please fix how this router behaves with using NTP servers.  My father and I both have the DIR-827 and directly connected LAN computers fail to connect to secure websites, since these routers time is incorrect.  We have both resorted to setting the time manually, since repeated attempts at using native Dlink NTP servers and multiple other NTP servers have resulted in no improvement.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48530
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2012, 06:09:52 PM »

I recommend that you phone contact DLink support with this issue. Talk to level 2 or higher.

Let us know how it goes.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

runun

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #7 on: December 13, 2012, 09:10:59 AM »

Please include in a future firmware download the guidelines for username and password creation in the "STORAGE" section.  For example, "usernames or passwords must be at least 6 characters, numbers are NOT allowed, no uppercase, etc."  I tried, without success, to create a username and password for my brother-in-law.  I tried multiple combinations and none of them could access the attached flash drive through the SharePort site.  However, my admin account username and password has no problem logging into the SharePort site.  Then, I got in touch with level 3 technical support.  Through the use of remote management, the tech tried numerous different username and password combinations.  Some combinations worked and some didn't.  After spending over an hour with the tech, I felt I had a good handle on what would be allowed and wouldn't.  Then, I spent a frustrating amount of time unable to find a successful combination.   Finally I found one and notified my brother-in-law that he can, at last, login to my SharePort site.  Amazingly, the configuration page allows you to create any combination of usernames and passwords for accessing storage via the SharePort site.  Yet, when you try to login, the SharePort site gives you a message about "invalid username/password."  It would be very helpful to know what the limitations are for username and password creation, before setting them, saving settings, rebooting the router, and attempting to login with the credentials.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48530
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #8 on: December 13, 2012, 09:17:05 AM »

Good info, thank you for sharing. Any chance you happen to talk to them about the NTP Time service problem?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

runun

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #9 on: December 13, 2012, 10:26:52 AM »

No, I did not bring up the NTP problem, since I now have reconfigured my DIR-827 as a router.  It was setup as a WAP (NTP was always wrong).  Also, I'm hoping (fingers crossed) that things will be stable, since you told me to do a factory reset before installing any new firmware.  The NTP has been accurate since having done a factory reset and upgrading to 1.04, with one glaring exception.  Yesterday, the internet light changed to yellow and the router was unable to obtain an IP address.  Rebooting did not help.  Rebooting my modem did not help.  Factory resetting the router did not help.  My Ooma (VOIP) box had no problems getting an IP address and getting me on the internet.  After nearly two hours, I gave up and called tech support with the intent of RMA'ing the DIR-827.  Then, after being on hold for about fifteen minutes, I decided to try connecting the DIR-827 behind my Ooma and D-Link DGS-1008G switch.  It managed to obtain an internal IP address served up from the Ooma and connect to the internet just seconds before I was transferred to the level 3 tech.  Previous to this, I was stable for about a day.  Since my time spent with tech support, I've now been stable for 17 hours.  When I had it setup as a WAP, I think I was stable for a couple weeks.  We will see how things go from now on.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48530
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #10 on: December 13, 2012, 10:41:02 AM »

What ISP make and model Modem do you have again?

Recommended set up for routers is ISP Modem>DIR router><wired devices and switch connected to router.
I would recommend testing the ISP Modem with the 827 and test one PC and maybe a wireless device to see. Don't connect the switch for this temp test. All devices should have a reserved IP address made on the router. The OOMA should be placed in the DMZ on the 827 for full open internet connections.

FYI, NTP services is not supported when using the router configured in AP mode. NTP services required the use of the WAN port for it's connection. When using the router in AP mode the WAN ports isn't used so NTP can't get it's information from the LAN port. SO the NTP issue is not a bug if in AP mode. I see this all the time on my DGL-4500 and Airport Extreme in the logs since they are in AP mode. So if your run in AP mode, set the time manually or use the set time to PC option. Disable the NTP option while in AP mode.

Keep us posted...
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

runun

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #11 on: December 13, 2012, 11:11:20 AM »

I have Charter internet and a Motorola SB5101 modem.  Yeah, I will put the Ooma into the DMZ of the router.  I just wanted to get some other settings done 1st with port forwarding and setting up my NAS.  Also, I already knew that about NTP not working in AP mode.  I should have been more clear about that in my previous post.  However, when I was in AP mode, I did set the time manually and tried the set time to PC option.  Neither of these options worked.  It didn't matter how many times I would set and reset the time manually, it would always go bad.  It wasn't minutes or even hours off, but days, months, and sometimes years off.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48530
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #12 on: December 13, 2012, 11:20:32 AM »

Does charter allow BYOM? I would recommend getting into a Motorola SB 6 series modem.

Shortest possible CAT 6 between modem and router.

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using Link> teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

runun

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #13 on: December 13, 2012, 11:46:19 AM »

The Motorola SB5101 is mine.  I haven't rented a modem in years.  Yeah, I've wanted to get into the SB 6 series for a while now.  Also, yes I've got a 1 meter CAT6A shielded cable between my modem and cable.  The level 3 tech reviewed my routers settings last night using remote administration.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48530
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #14 on: December 13, 2012, 12:01:29 PM »

Get into a 6 series when you can. Ensure that the ISP signals going into either modem is to spec. If TV line splitters are being used, remove them to test as well. If you need to use one, use a GOOD quality one. I recommend dedicated Cable service to the ISP Modem.

Keep us posted on how it goes.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: [1] 2 3