• November 16, 2019, 10:51:53 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW  (Read 29202 times)

Slimline

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« on: October 23, 2012, 08:04:27 PM »

OK, FurryNutz I have a good one for you. This took me a long time to isolate down to this sole issue. I upgraded to the 1.03fw about 2 weeks ago. I attempted to load my saved configuration and noticed the router was not connected to the internet. I logged on the router and saw that all of my DNS and ip addresses were associated, however the connection up time was showing N/A.

I restored factory config, and the internet started working again. Basically through trial and error and a ton of reboots I have isolated the root cause of the router not wanting to pick up my internet connection.

Long story short, I cannot have a defined schedule (i.e.monday-fri 2300~0600) blocking all access with more then 4 IP addresses associated with that schedule under the access control tab. If I have 4 or less, the router works as it should and I have internet access.

The minute I attempt to add a 5th ip address to that access controlled schedule, upon reboot my router shows Connection up time: N/A and I have no internet connectivity.

I tried to isolate it further, and have noted that I can block all access using access control with more than 4 computers as long as I have no user defined schedule, as in I just plain block all access using the ALWAYS setting.

I never had this issue on firmware 1.02. I can load my 1.02 firmware config file, reboot, no connectivity. If I delete any IP address totalling more than 4 per access  controlled schedule, boom I have connectivity. Something is the 1.03 firmware upgrade has broken access control. I tried redownloading 1.03 and the same issue happens.

Can someone else try this and see if there router loses connectivity? My ISP is cablecable, its a wireless broadband with 5mb down and 768k up.

I am curious if this is firmware and router wide or isolated to just me.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2012, 08:15:28 PM »

Have you factory reset, upgraded FW, factory reset once more then set up the router from scratch and not load any saved configuration file?

What browser are you using when you manage the router?
IP addresses reserved?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Slimline

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2012, 12:42:43 AM »

I have tried the factory reset route. Part of my troubleshooting step was to:
-factory reset
-leave all settings default
-create test schedule, mon-fri 2300-0600
-enable access control
-apply access control schedule test to 6 ip addresses within my DHCP range (192.168.0.150,192.168.0.151 etc)

This still causes my connection to show N/A and have no connectivity.

I have tried manually reentering parts of my config, with static Ip addresses that I have manually assigned to devices etc and it always fails to connect at greater than 4 ips associated with a given access control schedule.


I am using firefox from a wired lan connection. Setup has been working flawlessly as we speak given I have a maximum of 4 IP's associated to my rule. If i were to log on the router now, add one more ip address, it fails to connect. Something seems fishy. It worked fine on 1.01 and 1.02

On a side note, 1.03 has been rock solid for me while torrenting. No more lock ups!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2012, 07:04:30 AM »

I will give this a go on my 857 this evening and see if I notice the same thing. This could be isolated to the 827 or across all of the Amplfi lines...

I'll forward this to D-Link and see if they can reproduce as well. If it didn't happend on the other versions and now your getting problems on v1.03, I presume something could be broke.

You could do us a favor and do a factory reset, load v1.02, factory reset, and then configure your access controls again to verify that v1.02 works  and report your results please?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Slimline

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2012, 11:18:03 AM »

Sure I can try that when I get home this evening when I get home. I will post up my results as soon as I can.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2012, 11:18:22 AM »

Thank you sir.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Slimline

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2012, 07:54:58 PM »

Ok FurryNutz, test complete. My results are the same. I loaded 1.02, restored to factory settings and applied these settings:

-created schedule: "test" Sunday,Monday, Tuesday, Thursday Friday, 2300~0600
-enabled access control
-Created access control profile "test" with the schedule "test".
-associated ip's 192.168.0.150,192.168.0.151,192.168.0.152,192.168.0.153,192.168.0.154,192.168.0.155,192.168.0.156 with the "Block all" setting
-rebooted router
-Internet connection connected successfully, router working as normal

I then reloaded 1.03 firmware, factory reset, followed the same directions and had Internet connection status showing "N/A" again. I then deleted 3 of the ips to bring the total of controlled ip's down to 4, rebooted the router and voila! Internet connection showing connected and working as normal.

My guess is either the firmware has a coding error or my router is bad. Considering everything works fine on 1.02 I think it is firmware. As I do not have a dir-857 to test on I can not verify whether this is across the whole amplifi line.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2012, 08:37:05 PM »

Ok, I have loaded the same rules into my 857 and used 7 IPs and rebooted the router and I'm connected. Playing MW3 right now. This maybe be isolated to the 827 and v1.03. Only thing is that I'm using 12 hour time and not 24hour time in the Schedule.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Slimline

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2012, 10:26:53 PM »

Hmm maybe it is isolated to the 827. I did try using 12 hour time on my initial test and it was still causing me the same issues. I wish I knew someone else with this router.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #9 on: October 25, 2012, 08:45:40 AM »

Let me get a hold of Patrick553 and PacketTracer and see. I believe they have 827s.

I tried 24hr and it didn't effect or change anything on my 857. I might try the 657 and 645 this weekend and see since they are on the same product line.

In mean time, if anyone else and try this who has a 827 and try Slims access control rule setup and post results, please let us know.

« Last Edit: October 25, 2012, 10:06:14 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Patrick533

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #10 on: October 26, 2012, 05:44:19 AM »

Seen the chatter come across my E-mail. I am using this feature on v. 1.02 without a problem, my times are a little tighter for the kids but still fall short of 12 hours, kinda nervous about updating to 1.03 because everything works perfect.

I have a problem right now in Asia that is causing me to work late so I can talk to them live, the first opportunity I would have to load the new firmware would be Saturday morning(Please tell me that is tomorrow, Exhaustion!). After all the firmware problems I had with the 825, I would opt to go the 30-30-30 route instead of just a factory reset. But I honestly CRINGE at the thought of installing 1.03 since my IPV6 and everything is perfect. Except for DST using NTP, that is broken in 1.02 and has to be manually set. I remember the days when I would be stumbling over myself to get to a new firmware, now days its more like tarter sauce cat....... :-\

Let me know, if I need to take one for the team, either Saturday or Sunday morning, but I don't think it is a bad router since it only can be duplicated in 1.03.

Time to jump in my Pony and zoom off into the sunrise.........
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #11 on: October 26, 2012, 06:54:57 AM »

I see they have the email notifications fixed so glad you chimed in.

Patrick, if you get some time this weekend, if you could try and reproduce his problem and see what results you come up with, it would be appreciated. Just kind of odd that using more that 4 or 5 devices in a rule is causing the WAN connection to go down.

I would save off the current configuration first, of course.  ::)
I would recommend doing a factory reset before and after the update. I don't think the 3x30 is needed and seems a bit to extreme. Factory resets work well for clearing any thing out of memory and settings.

And after the test, you an go back to v1.02 after since you'll have a saved configuration file.

Not sure if you'll want to keep v1.03 after or not. Seen some people have better experiences with v1.03 and manually setting up the router from scratch. So not sure if you'll want to try and apply the saved configuration file from v1.02 over v1.03. Might be work a test. Again, you can always go back to v1.02 as a last resort.

Thanks for your time and help sir and have a great weekend.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Patrick533

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #12 on: October 29, 2012, 08:14:11 AM »

Yes, that is a confirmed bug! I tried it with IP addresses and MAC addressees. As soon as you go past 4 addresses, the router/wan connection no longer works.

I checked security and everything and it works fine and I will leave it on for a while as I only have 2 clients being filtered at this time.

Sorry for the delay, I have been fighting with Win 8 and making it look and act like Win 7 but taking advantage of my 8-Core processor and all the other goodies in the machine with the win 8 kernel. It just takes a little tweaking to loose Metro and regain Aero that is in hidden files, then you have a Win 8 desktop with full power and a start button(what were they thinking?)

As far as the D-link, next firmware please........
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #13 on: October 29, 2012, 08:24:35 AM »

Thanks Patrick, I'll get this to D-Link for review.

How does Win 8 look? Have fun with Win 8.  ::)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #14 on: October 29, 2012, 08:54:01 AM »

Can either one of you input this into the Features Request and Bugs thread please at your earliest convenience?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1] 2 3 4