• November 17, 2019, 04:32:28 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4

Author Topic: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW  (Read 29217 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #30 on: October 31, 2012, 07:16:14 AM »

I would presume it might take some time for D-Link to investigate this and get a fix into the works before we see it posted.  ::) I know that after almost an hour on the phone and 3 people last nite with a DIR-645 issue, supposedly, a fix for that will be made sometime this year. We'll see.

One thing I do recommend, and I know it's a pain, after we troubleshoot here and if we can find any fixes here, phone in and make contact, always has for level 2 or higher support. Any unresolved issues here need to be made known to D-Link directly. Problems seen by all need to phone in and let it be known for some of these problems that we can't fix here. I was asked if others had the same problems since they weren't aware of anyone else. So we as users need to help D-Link and make them aware of anything we can't seem to fix here. I've also learned that email support, at least for me on 2 different issues is not the best way to get the ball rolling. Phone is the best and even though it might take a while, get on the phone and move the problem up the chain as best as you can. Always have your ducks in a row, meaning you have details on what you have done, troubleshooting, updates, comparison on other HW and routers if possible and any forum help and information. Giving all this to the phone support people will help them understand the problem, tell them that we've already done most of the troubleshooting and that D-Link needs to take a hard look and provide users with feedback, resolution and fixes.

After all that we just have to be patient and wait for results.

Ok just tested the access control bug on 1.04, it is still present.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #31 on: October 31, 2012, 07:22:41 AM »

Ok guys I managed to do some more troubleshooting. My isp is a wireless radio solution, and the storm last night blew my antenna out of whack. Had to climb the 30 foot tower today and readjust it. According to my ISP service voicemail they are having some network difficulties, my pings are all over the place and when I use the command prompt to ping say google, microsoft or facebook I am having time outs with any setup (including direct modem connection) This makes troubleshooting dropped packets with the switch futile unless I can test locally. I am not sure if I can replicate the error pinging locally.

FurryNutz I did bring up my other DGS1008g earlier today and it was showing dropped packets just the same when using www.pingtest.net. I pulled out my old dir-655 half an hour ago, hooked up the switch and couldnt get it to show any dropped packets through pingtest.net. This is fishy. I am going to triple check all my network cards have up to date drivers. Should I try manually setting the negotiation? When testing I disconnect most of my wired LAN to prevent interferrence. I have  fairly large collection of junk on my network. 1.04 on the dir-827 still had dropped packets with either dgs1008g switch, dgs1005d was still rock solid. I would test the 1008gs with out being connected to the router, just do some testing between 2 PCs and see if you notice the dropped packets then. Remove ALL other "junk" from the network during this test if you can. Need to isolate and narrow down where the dropped packets are coming from. You should use WireShark to help you out. Then connect the switches to the 827 still using only 2 PCs. I would test with and with out the router being connected to the ISP modem. If the 1005d's are working well with 827 and the 1008g's aren't, I presume problem is with these. Also try swapping out cables. I highly recommend CAT6 if you aren't using that already.  ::) Do the DGS series have any sort of FW updates?

They are supposed to be plug and play auto negotiation, I cant fathom what would be causing the dropped packets. I mean, this is now three of the DGS1008g's I have tried and all do this on my network. I am beginning to think my network hates me. I am going to have to put my tests on hold until my connection stabilizes as any testing I do now may lead to false negatives.

I will however test 1.04 with more access control entries now and see if that has been addressed. I imagine it would be in the release notes if it was however.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #32 on: October 31, 2012, 07:24:08 AM »

I also have forwarded this on to my contact at D-Link for review. I hope we'll get some information on it.

Ok just tested the access control bug on 1.04, it is still present.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Slimline

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #33 on: October 31, 2012, 01:15:49 PM »

I am working 12's the next three nights, so I dont know if I will get an opportunity to look into my swith issue. Once I have some time I will most definitely try your recommendation of isolating the issue with two computers and no wan connection while using WireShark. That was my logical next step, I just didnt know what script or program to use to packet test across Lan. I have mixed cat 5e and 6, honestly I cant afford to wire my house with 6 right now. I have many spare cables that I can swap out for testing purposes, many I already have. Once I complete this test I can call Dlink and post here with my results. I have an asus RT-N12, dir-655 and my dir-827 available to test with. I am going to be sad if this is another issue I have solely with the 827 and one of their own switches.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #34 on: October 31, 2012, 01:21:39 PM »

Understand. Keep us posted.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Slimline

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #35 on: November 08, 2012, 01:57:06 PM »

Ok, I hope I can post this with enough clarity to not confuse everyone. (Including me lol) So I was able to get down to business and test my DGS1008G Switch which has been causing me issues with my DIR-827. It is worth noting I have two different revisions of this switch, as it seems important. I have Revision A1, and Revision B1. Revision B1 is my second version of this, as I exchanged it at the store when i first started experiencing my packet loss issues. I believe I have come to the conclusion that revision B1 of the DGS1008g rev B1 has an incompatibility with the DIR-827, or the DIR-827 dislikes my isp.

I think the easiest way to explain my findings is to list my test methodology. I utilized the same cables for all tests and I will tell when I swapped a component. My Desktop and Laptop were the only peripherals connected to the routers/switches during these tests. They were attached for all tests.

I am sorry FurryNutz, I installed wireshark and it looked awfully complicated for me for now so my tests were using command prompt pings and pingtest.net

Test 1:
DGS1008G REV B1, DIR-655 Router, Wired Lan, NO WAN,
-11 minutes of pinging laptop from desktop through command prompt. 657 packets sent, 657 received, errors 0.
-Test pass

Test 2
DGS1008g REV B1, DIR-827, wired lan, NO WAN
-11 minutes of pinging laptop from desktop through command prompt. 658 sent, 658 received, 0 lost
-Test Pass (It is worth noting that when pinging the 827, I notice 1-2 second pauses about every 8-10 pings, however it does not show any greater latency then 1ms, nor does it report any lost packets)

Test 3
DGS1008g REV B1, DIR 827, wired lan, WITH WAN, pingtest.net packet test
- numbers listed as sent-received,
250-250, 250-249, 250-250,250-250,250-249,250-249,250-250,250-248,250-250,250-249
-Test fail. Packets consistently lost

Test 4, same config as test 3, with factory reset 827 on fw1.04
-250-244,250-238,250-229
-Test Fail

Test 5, Same Config as tests 3 and 4 but with DGS1008G REV A1
-250-250,250-250,250-250,250-250.....ran this test 10 times with no dropped packets
-Test Pass

Test 6, Back to DGS1008G Rev B1 using exact same setup as Test 3,4,5
-250-250,250-221,250-248,250-239
-Test fail

Test 7, DGS1008G Rev B1, DIR-655, WAN on, wired with laptop and desktop, pingtest results
250-250,250-250,250-250.....ran this test 10 times without fail.
-Test pass (interesting)

Test 8, DGS1008G Rev B1, DIR827 again, wan, wired up
-250-239,250-224,250-248
-Test fail

Test 9, DGS1008G Rev A1, DIR 827, wan, wired up
-250-250,250-250,250-250....10 passes, no issues.
-test pass


In conclusion, the DGS1008G revision B1 loses packets of internet traffic when connected to my DIR-827. Revision A1 does not appear to have this same issue. This is my second DGS1008g B1, as i exchanged it in store. DGS1008G Rev B1 appears to work perfectly fine when Dir-655 router is used, issue only present when connected to the dir-827. My DGS1005D still works fine with my DIR-827, no lost packets through internet traffic.

I feel as if I knew how to use Wireshark, it would report problems with the LAN traffic when using the DGS1008g B1. The pauses when I ping computers is fishy to me, and I only see it with the B1 revision switch. I am not sure why command prompt doesnt show a delay in milliseconds when this happens. It also shows no dropped packets. Maybe its paranoia.

All I know is my DGS1008g B1 does not function properly when connected to my 827. I had contacted Dlink over phone support as noted in my previous post. They want to send me a new DGS1008g. I think this is a router issue still, and the switch is fine. It is odd however that the A1 revision does not appear to have the same troubles. I wonder if any hardware or coding was changed between the switch revisions. FurryNutz, where do I go with this now? Should I try to get my dir-827 warranty replaced? Maybe I have a faulty gen 1 unit? I did buy it very soon after release. 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #36 on: November 08, 2012, 02:10:45 PM »

Awesome info Slim,
So do both A1 and B1 switches work with out loss on the DIR-655?

Does seem like there is a problem with the ISP Modem or service, B1 and the 827. I would be interesting to see if this is exhibited across the amplify line...Any interesting in letting someone test the B1 out on a 857, 657 and 645?  ::)

Can you take a wire-shark capture on with the B1 and 827 and do the same testing. Save and keep the file. You don't need to look at it however should D-Link need to review it, it would be good to have it on hand if they do need it. I might have you send it to me and maybe I can pick out something.

Where did you get your switches from?
Who is your ISP service and what make and model is the ISP modem?
« Last Edit: November 08, 2012, 02:19:56 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Slimline

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #37 on: November 08, 2012, 02:44:05 PM »

Yes, the A1 and B1 switches both work without issue on my dir-655. I have an asus RTn12 I could possibly try as well but it is finicky to begin with and may skew my results. My ISP is www.cablecable.net. It is a wireless solution to my home since I live in the country. I generally have very good service, I have their wireless ultra bundle with 6mb down and 640kb up. My antenna was blown out of Line of sight a week ago during the Sandy storm, however I climbed up and reset it, confirming with tech support my connection is excellent. My ISP modem is an RCA DCM425. I wouldnt mind letting someone test the switch, however depending on where you live it could cost more for me to ship it then to buy one lol.

I would take a wireshark capture if I knew how to use it. I installed it and it looks pretty foreign to me lol. Tonight at work maybe I will try reading the howto about it. I am self taught in network stuff and still pretty amateur. I like learning about it, however it can be difficult to self teach some stuff that is far over my head to start. I bought my switch from NCIX online, and exchanged it at the NCIX store in markham ontario.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #38 on: November 08, 2012, 02:48:25 PM »

Ah your in Canada, ya, might be to much to send via mail evening though I will be visiting Victoria this coming xmas.  ;D

Do you have any other friends, family or neighbors you could take the switch and router to and test with there ISP modem to see if the problem follows? Would be a good test to see if you can test this out using a different ISP modem.  ???

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Slimline

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #39 on: November 08, 2012, 03:20:20 PM »

Ah, that is a fantastic idea! I actually had not thought of trying the switch/router with a different ISP. Hmm, on my next day off I will most definitely try and arrange a test like that.
Logged

Patrick533

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #40 on: November 08, 2012, 03:43:21 PM »

Almost sounds like there is a firmware issue/conflict between the switch and router.

Both these are Gigabit routers? And I assume gigabit switches. It almost sounds like some sort of race condition is causing the switch to drop packets (timing mismatch causing collisions). Both switches handle LBA? Maybe try turning LBA off or on. Full duplex or half duplex operation?

Is the WAN port set on "auto" speed, maybe try 100Mbps and 10Mbps manually on the DIR-827 WAN port. If one was worse then the other that may indicate something to a engineer with a schematic.

Because it only happens with the WAN hooked up maybe a store and forward error in the switch. Does the switch have a newer firmware(most don't).

Going home to a computer in pieces so until my machine is back up..........


My slightly educated 2 cents.

Pat
Logged

Slimline

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #41 on: November 09, 2012, 02:00:36 PM »

All are gigabit switches and routers yes. I had to google what LBA was, I dont know if they support it. It is something I can look into however. I have not tried playing with the duplex settings, everything is on auto negotiation. The switches light up showing gigabit activity but I dont know at what duplex. The wan port is most likely on auto speed, that isnt something I had thought about adjusting or to be honest knew I could. I head back to work here shortly but that is a quick fix check I can try when I am off next.

I am not entirely sure it only happens with internet activity, I have yet to full figure out wireshark to test LAN traffic properly. Ditching windows 8 eh? I like it so far with Start8 on. My windows 7 hadnt been formatted in over a year, but 8 feels snappier then I ever recall 7 feeling.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #42 on: November 09, 2012, 02:20:51 PM »

Any chance of testing an entirely different make and model switch?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Slimline

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #43 on: November 10, 2012, 01:08:24 PM »

Well i have two dlink DGS-1005D switches within my network I could do the same thign two, however I have no issues within my network that I have found with them in 24/7 service. I dont have another switch. I was debating buying the tp link 8 port unmanaged switch on sale for 15 bucks but thats just more money on hardware that I dont know if it will conflict with this router. At this point in time it almost feels wise for me to purchase a different router instead of playing the hardware lottery. I know newer hardware needs a few firmware updates to become a solid contender, and I am finding that out first hand. I just really need a dependable piece of equipment that doesnt need me spending every free day I have chasing loose ends. That access control bug took me quite some time to find, and now I have spent more time with these switches.

I may end up still buying it. I loved my dir-655, I want to love this router lol.
Logged

Patrick533

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
Re: Access Control/schedule bug on 1.03FW
« Reply #44 on: November 12, 2012, 09:13:40 AM »

Happy Veterans day Furry, thanks for floating around the world and keeping us safe!

I can't find 1.04 on this site or the new site, FTP, ETC.

Is it released in the states?
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4