• August 09, 2020, 10:49:26 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 6

Author Topic: DGL-4500 automatic uplink speed  (Read 40304 times)

BTRY B 529th FA BN

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: DGL-4500 automatic uplink speed
« Reply #15 on: February 02, 2012, 04:59:20 PM »

i dont know what you are talking about by mapping

it's WAN side
Logged
Rig1: Q9650 stock, 100G Vertex LE, Hauppauge 2250, Lian Li PC-A20 - Main
Rig2: i7 920 stock, GTX 480, ABS Black Pearl, AVCHD machine
Rig3: i7 920 @ 3.4Ghz, 2x 5870 X-fire, EVGA 760, 100G Vertex LE, Obsidian 800D - Gamer
Smart phone: Droid X > Black Berry Storm1 9530 > Motorola E815

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49045
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-4500 automatic uplink speed
« Reply #16 on: February 02, 2012, 05:03:05 PM »

You said something about a map session  ???
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

XS

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
Re: DGL-4500 automatic uplink speed
« Reply #17 on: February 03, 2012, 06:00:43 AM »

What is the purpose of limiting your upload speed in the first place?  I mean why would anyone want to lower there upload speed if the bandwidth is there?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49045
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-4500 automatic uplink speed
« Reply #18 on: February 03, 2012, 07:11:19 AM »

Theortically you don't want to and technically the speed handling between the router and modem should be handled automatically, specially at higher speeds since some routers manual preset settings don't cover anything much above 2Mb. Now days were seeing alot more UPLink speeds faster than 2Mb. I was on a teamviwer call yesterday with a guy that really didn't know what speeds he had from is ISP. I believe he was on a 20down and a 8 up from one speedtest.net sample. However when I looked at the automatic uplink speed counter on the 4500, I saw 16000Kb once then I swore I saw a 46000Kb reading.  ???

When it comes to lowering speeds, there is a valid reason, when I was in the military in communications, one rule I still remember today, "You can only send as fast as the receiver can receive." So sometimes going too fast can present problems.  ::)

So with all these faster speeds the ISP are allowing users to have, is a good thing, however I believe these routers can handle them just fine if left in automatic. Users should test each setting out and see what works best for them.

My 2 cents.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

XS

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
Re: DGL-4500 automatic uplink speed
« Reply #19 on: March 10, 2012, 12:19:10 PM »

I am wondering if anyone knows how GF truly handles upload speed?  What I mean is, my minimum upload speed is 2meg and I have confirmed this numerous times by running upload speed tests.  However if I enter a manual setting of 2048 and run those same speed tests, they come up short at 1.6-1.8Meg.  
If I enter the manual uplink speed to 2.5meg (2560) then I get my minimum upload speed of 2meg every time.

Anyone know why this is the case, why GF (QoS) is only allowing your network to use 80-90% of your actual upload capacity?

I read somewhere that the router actually reserves this 10-20% as headroom and will use it if needed, is this true?

Update: 3/12/12
Looks like it was the website I was using to test upload speed that was/is giving me low upload speeds is the culprit.  I been running sustained upload speed tests on a few other sites and I am closer to 1.9meg.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2012, 12:52:55 PM by XS »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49045
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-4500 automatic uplink speed
« Reply #20 on: March 12, 2012, 02:34:18 PM »

What site were you using? Just curious...
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

carvwa

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DGL-4500 automatic uplink speed
« Reply #21 on: March 12, 2012, 02:59:33 PM »

I usually recommend turning this option OFF if running a low uplink. Since your is a higher UP, not sure if setting it OFF would work. It could be possible that the router is falling back to a lower speed if the router isn't being used alot, not sure. Can you set a manual 6048 speed or will it let you? I know the max preset is 2048. What FW version are you on right now?

I had to do this (4500, A2, FW 1.23b3), without "manually" setting my upload speed, it was cut in half.
Logged

XS

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
Re: DGL-4500 automatic uplink speed
« Reply #22 on: March 12, 2012, 03:16:54 PM »

I was using this website to test upload speed and I chose the 29.2M upload test since I have speedburst.
http://testmy.net/upload

Also to avoid any confusion with my first post and last post.  I have 15/2 service with speed burst which gives my downloads and uploads a jump start with additional bandwidth use and then slows down to my minium bandwidth.  With speed boost I get 18/5 and this is why I was using a sustained speedtest website/

Also I highly recommend setting this option to manual uplink speed and entering upload speed.  I am going to start a separate thread discussing GF and cable companies that use speedburst.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49045
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-4500 automatic uplink speed
« Reply #23 on: March 12, 2012, 03:48:50 PM »

What happens if you put in 4096? Guess im goin to have to break out the 4500 and test again.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

XS

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
Re: DGL-4500 automatic uplink speed
« Reply #24 on: March 12, 2012, 04:08:08 PM »

If I set it to 4096 it will come in at 3.7-3.8 meg on that one website. 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49045
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-4500 automatic uplink speed
« Reply #25 on: March 12, 2012, 06:24:36 PM »

And what is your UP your paying for again?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

fraggboy

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
Re: DGL-4500 automatic uplink speed
« Reply #26 on: March 13, 2012, 08:00:41 AM »

I found a bug, or something going on with my Automatic uplink speed.

Under Log options, I have all checked, except for Informational.

When that is un-checked, and I have Automatic Uplink Speed checked, Measured Uplink Speed is unknown

When I check to include Informational in the log, reboot, the Measured Uplink Speed is correct.

Too bad it won't be fixed.  :(  I don't know if having everything logged will bog down the firewall.  I only enable Informational when I'm troubleshooting.  I wonder if anyone else can duplicate this.

Logged

XS

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
Re: DGL-4500 automatic uplink speed
« Reply #27 on: March 13, 2012, 08:03:57 AM »

2meg up, furry.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49045
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-4500 automatic uplink speed
« Reply #28 on: March 13, 2012, 08:07:20 AM »

Ok, thats probably the reserved over head. I remember someone talking about this years ago.

@ Fraggboy, what AW and FW version do you have? What ISP SVC and Modem do you have. Speed UP and DOWN?

Maybe XS and chime in on this?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

fraggboy

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
Re: DGL-4500 automatic uplink speed
« Reply #29 on: March 13, 2012, 08:15:21 AM »

@ Fraggboy, what AW and FW version do you have? What ISP SVC and Modem do you have. Speed UP and DOWN?

Maybe XS and chime in on this?

1.23NA, and V2.  I have Cox with a Motorola 6120.  I am on the Premier plan, which supposed to get ~20-25 down, and ~5 up, but my speeds tells me I'm on their Ultimate plan (Much higher download. Not complaining).
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 6