• October 15, 2019, 03:32:41 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: Can't find firmware to download?  (Read 20460 times)

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Can't find firmware to download?
« Reply #15 on: December 27, 2011, 03:16:13 PM »

Please see the following thread I posted (quite a while ago), for restoring the DNS-615 firmware following a failed firmware upgrade on my DIR-615 C1: http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=11596.0
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

Anesthetize

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Can't find firmware to download?
« Reply #16 on: December 28, 2011, 04:42:04 AM »

I found everything in that thread of yours completely confusing. I will try the crash reset later, but if that fails, I'm gonna be stuck!
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Can't find firmware to download?
« Reply #17 on: December 28, 2011, 04:52:43 AM »

I found everything in that thread of yours completely confusing. I will try the crash reset later, but if that fails, I'm gonna be stuck!

LOL. . . I was very confused when my DIR-615 crashed.

Try the crash reset first. If the crash reset fails, there is an alternate, albeit more complex, recovery procedure that I've successfully used. The procedure involves assigning your PC a specific static IP address, which will enable you to access your DIR-615 and open a special admin page via a browser (different from the standard DIR-615 admin web interface). This special web interface offers nothing more than an option to upload a firmware file stored on your local PC. D-Link technical support walked me through this recovery process.

It's been well over a year since I used that procedure, so perhaps another forum member can fill in the blanks here.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2011, 05:26:58 AM by JavaLawyer »
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Can't find firmware to download?
« Reply #18 on: December 28, 2011, 09:11:46 AM »

Coincidentally, this morning another user posted the recovery procedure I was looking for:

1. Plug the Ethernet cable that connects your computer, that was plugged into one of the LAN ports,
2. Setup your PC with static IP - ex: 192.168.0.2 (different from 192.168.0.1)
3. Make sure the PC has the new firmware
4. Unplug the power
5. Hold the reset button for 3~5 seconds and re plug the power WITHOUT RELEASING THE RESET BUTTON.
6. Open a web browser to 192.168.0.1 and then you should see EMERGENCY FLASHING page then click browse/upload locate the file and click UPLOAD FIRMWARE NOW
7. You should see a SUCCSESS page, If you donít then re do steps 2-6
« Last Edit: December 28, 2011, 09:53:23 AM by JavaLawyer »
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47838
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't find firmware to download?
« Reply #19 on: December 28, 2011, 10:10:49 AM »

Just at step 5, hold the reset button until the amber power light keeps blinking on and off. Then you can let go and proceed to the browser step.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Anesthetize

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Can't find firmware to download?
« Reply #20 on: December 28, 2011, 03:33:57 PM »

I think that's how I done it last time I needed new firmware. Anyway, I'm going to try these mothods very soon. I'll post back if I need specific help.

Thanks for all the help guys :D
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Can't find firmware to download?
« Reply #21 on: December 28, 2011, 03:54:03 PM »

We posted a sticky at the head of this board with the whole procedure: DIR Router - Router Recovery from Corrupt Firmware
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

Anesthetize

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Can't find firmware to download?
« Reply #22 on: December 28, 2011, 05:55:06 PM »

My router doesn't seem to be responding to any form of reset. I take the power cable out, even leave it out for a minute or so, press and hold the reset button for 5 seconds (I feel the reset button depress), plug the power cable in while keeping the reset button down, but the router turns on as if I don't even have the reset button down, and just continues to provide me with internet access.

Problem is, this is working as it would if I were just going from my modem to my PC. Typing in an ip address doesn't take me to the D-link login page (so it doesn't seem to recognize the router is plugged in), instead I just a get 'problem loading page' error. And also my laptop doesn't recognize any wireless signal. It's as if the router isn't there, and it's reaction to the reset button is non-existent. No flashing amber light, just...nothing.

Any ideas?
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Can't find firmware to download?
« Reply #23 on: December 29, 2011, 02:53:47 PM »

Try using a different Ethernet cable and make sure you properly configured the static IP address on your PC.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2011, 02:57:36 PM by JavaLawyer »
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

Anesthetize

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Can't find firmware to download?
« Reply #24 on: December 31, 2011, 08:14:51 AM »

The whole static IP is something I've never done before. I'm worried about messing up my network connection as a whole. Know of any simple guides to do this? the ones I found were hard to follow!

Thanks for the reply.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47838
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't find firmware to download?
« Reply #25 on: December 31, 2011, 10:00:44 AM »

Once the static IP address on the PC isn't needed anymore, then just put it back to where you had be before. Most default IP properties on PCs are set for Auto Obtain, thus they get the addresses from a router or the modem where the PC is connected too. Write this information down before you make changes if you need to.
If your just not comfortable with making any changes, I might seek a computer help desk or technician who could come to your house and help you with this. A friend or neighbor, someone with some computer experience to help you out?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Anesthetize

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Can't find firmware to download?
« Reply #26 on: January 03, 2012, 01:07:32 PM »

Once the static IP address on the PC isn't needed anymore, then just put it back to where you had be before. Most default IP properties on PCs are set for Auto Obtain, thus they get the addresses from a router or the modem where the PC is connected too. Write this information down before you make changes if you need to.
If your just not comfortable with making any changes, I might seek a computer help desk or technician who could come to your house and help you with this. A friend or neighbor, someone with some computer experience to help you out?

I did look at the screen where you assign a static IP, and there is an option for auto obtain, but when that option is selected, I don't see any numbers in the ip section pop up for me to write down, so I'm assuming it's just automatic. So if I put in a static IP, when I'm done, I should just delete it and select auto obtain again right?
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Can't find firmware to download?
« Reply #27 on: January 03, 2012, 01:09:22 PM »

Correct. With auto obtain the router will assign a free IP address to your PC.
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47838
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't find firmware to download?
« Reply #28 on: January 03, 2012, 01:10:56 PM »

Yes you need to change from Auto Obtain to manual and input the IP address. Then once your done, then got back to this setting and set it for Auto Obtain.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Anesthetize

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Can't find firmware to download?
« Reply #29 on: January 04, 2012, 10:25:01 AM »

Okay, and just to confirm, because I'm not sure how this is change anything, applying a static IP will allow me to reset my router?

Because as said before, I still get internet wth my ethernet cables going through my router. It's almost as if my modem is ignoring the fact that there's a router connected, and that it's working as it normally would (a solid net connection, no wireless). When I try and reset my router, it doesn't respond to resets. The internet doesn't cut out, if I'm doing the kind of reset where I unplug my routers power cable, keeping the reset button held, then plugging it back in, there's also no reset, as soon as the router has power, it just provides internet (without wireless, again, as if my modem is ignoring the fact that there's a router connected).

I remember when I reset my router before, plugged the power cable back in, there's a short period where even when the router has power you're not getting any internet because it's resetting itself. It's not doing that at the moment for some reason.

So using a static IP will allow me to reset my router? or is my router still going to have reset problems?
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3