D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-615 => Topic started by: Anesthetize on December 25, 2011, 08:03:53 AM

Title: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: Anesthetize on December 25, 2011, 08:03:53 AM
So, a simple question really. Where can I download firmware? I've been trying to get it through the official site and downloads page, but everytime I click download, then click 'open' there's absolutely nothing in the zip folder (0 bytes).

Specifically, I'm looking for the D1 4.11 firmware. It's the one I've been using for about 2 years until needing to reset my router today. And as I forgot how to Hard Reset, I accidently reset everything deleting the firmware too, and I really need the D1 4.11 firmware back as it gave me no issues for 2 years!

Any help, or provided links would be fantastic. Cheers!
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: JavaLawyer on December 25, 2011, 10:52:16 AM
What country are you in? ...and what site were you pulling the firmware from?
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: FurryNutz on December 25, 2011, 12:03:38 PM
Resetting the router does not delete the FW. It only sets the router back to the factory defaults and removes any user configurations you may have set.
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: JavaLawyer on December 25, 2011, 12:59:50 PM
Resetting the router does not delete the FW. It only sets the router back to the factory defaults and removes any user configurations you may have set.

I didn't fully read the second paragraph about the FW deleting.  :-[
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: FurryNutz on December 25, 2011, 01:01:02 PM
Too much egg nog?

I didn't fully read the second paragraph about the FW deleting.  :-[
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: JavaLawyer on December 25, 2011, 03:17:11 PM
Too much egg nog?


Too much something...  ???
Still doesn't explain the empty FW zip file from the download site, though.
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: Anesthetize on December 26, 2011, 07:58:08 AM
Hi guys. I'm in the UK. and I tried pretty much every firmware just to see if any of them was available, but they wern't.

I was getting the firmware from the official page, here:

http://www.dlink.co.uk/cs/Satellite?c=Product_C&childpagename=DLinkEurope-GB%2FDLTechProduct&cid=1197319391320&p=1197318962293&packedargs=QuickLinksParentID%3D1197319391320%26locale%3D1195806691854%26packedargs%3Df9ffeaf4e83ab6d0166b8cc93b23ebbc3d83540f46ceb58f26706558f9479c4ec3df1411a95e2d40ad11206575581fc22bd5088af56051c987d64b73399cf16d&pagename=DLinkEurope-GB%2FDLWrapper (http://www.dlink.co.uk/cs/Satellite?c=Product_C&childpagename=DLinkEurope-GB%2FDLTechProduct&cid=1197319391320&p=1197318962293&packedargs=QuickLinksParentID%3D1197319391320%26locale%3D1195806691854%26packedargs%3Df9ffeaf4e83ab6d0166b8cc93b23ebbc3d83540f46ceb58f26706558f9479c4ec3df1411a95e2d40ad11206575581fc22bd5088af56051c987d64b73399cf16d&pagename=DLinkEurope-GB%2FDLWrapper)

When I click 'Download,' then on the next page click 'Please Click Here to Download File,' the download window pops up asking me if I want to open or save the file. I click Open, but I've tried both, but even in the file description on this page it says the file is '(-1 bytes)'.

(http://img850.imageshack.us/img850/7246/39681520.jpg)

(http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/1183/72587991.jpg)

Is it possible for anyone to be able to download this file (the D1 4.11), and send it to me? Or at least know of another place where I can get it? I'd very much appreciate it!

Thanks for any help.
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: JavaLawyer on December 26, 2011, 09:49:05 AM
You're absolutely correct. . . the source file on the D-Link UK site is corrupt. I'll look around for another location hosting the same version.
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: FurryNutz on December 26, 2011, 10:52:06 AM
Is the router not working at the moment?
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: JavaLawyer on December 27, 2011, 05:07:53 AM
I successfully downloaded the firmware from D-Link UK this morning. From the looks of things D-Link was having issues with their FTP site. The firmware file was not the cause, else the file modification date in the FTP website would be dated this week.  ???

Here is the direct link to the UK DIR-615 firmware repository: ftp://ftp.dlink.co.uk/dir_products/dir-615/ (ftp://ftp.dlink.co.uk/dir_products/dir-615/)
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: FurryNutz on December 27, 2011, 09:54:55 AM
Thanks for the update Jave.  ;)
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: JavaLawyer on December 27, 2011, 09:57:11 AM
No problem....  ;)
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: Anesthetize on December 27, 2011, 12:34:52 PM
Furry - no, the router isn't working, cause I have no firmware on it.

And...

Java - cheers buddy! Just looks like I chose the wrong time to accidently delete my firmware :P

Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: JavaLawyer on December 27, 2011, 01:27:53 PM
As FurryNutz pointed out, you did not delete your firmware (i.e. firmware can not be deleted from the router). More likely, you may have corrupted the existing firmware during a failed firmware update or the installed firmware was corrupted by some other event. In either case, the DIR-615 will fail to work if the firmware is corrupt.
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: Anesthetize on December 27, 2011, 03:10:47 PM
As FurryNutz pointed out, you did not delete your firmware (i.e. firmware can not be deleted from the router). More likely, you may have corrupted the existing firmware during a failed firmware update or the installed firmware was corrupted by some other event. In either case, the DIR-615 will fail to work if the firmware is corrupt.

I see. This is the older D-Link DIR-615 I have here by the way, not sure if that actually makes a difference. But I recall reading that by resetting the router the way I did, it completely wipes it (taking the firmware too).

Either way, I now have the right firmware here, but I can't remember how to install it! so I'll need to do a bit more reading...

Hopefully I'll get this all resolved tomorrow, bit late to do it now. Thanks for the replies anyway :)
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: JavaLawyer on December 27, 2011, 03:16:13 PM
Please see the following thread I posted (quite a while ago), for restoring the DNS-615 firmware following a failed firmware upgrade on my DIR-615 C1: http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=11596.0 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=11596.0)
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: Anesthetize on December 28, 2011, 04:42:04 AM
I found everything in that thread of yours completely confusing. I will try the crash reset later, but if that fails, I'm gonna be stuck!
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: JavaLawyer on December 28, 2011, 04:52:43 AM
I found everything in that thread of yours completely confusing. I will try the crash reset later, but if that fails, I'm gonna be stuck!

LOL. . . I was very confused when my DIR-615 crashed.

Try the crash reset first. If the crash reset fails, there is an alternate, albeit more complex, recovery procedure that I've successfully used. The procedure involves assigning your PC a specific static IP address, which will enable you to access your DIR-615 and open a special admin page via a browser (different from the standard DIR-615 admin web interface). This special web interface offers nothing more than an option to upload a firmware file stored on your local PC. D-Link technical support walked me through this recovery process.

It's been well over a year since I used that procedure, so perhaps another forum member can fill in the blanks here.
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: JavaLawyer on December 28, 2011, 09:11:46 AM
Coincidentally, this morning another user posted the recovery procedure I was looking for:

1. Plug the Ethernet cable that connects your computer, that was plugged into one of the LAN ports,
2. Setup your PC with static IP - ex: 192.168.0.2 (different from 192.168.0.1)
3. Make sure the PC has the new firmware
4. Unplug the power
5. Hold the reset button for 3~5 seconds and re plug the power WITHOUT RELEASING THE RESET BUTTON.
6. Open a web browser to 192.168.0.1 and then you should see EMERGENCY FLASHING page then click browse/upload locate the file and click UPLOAD FIRMWARE NOW
7. You should see a SUCCSESS page, If you donít then re do steps 2-6
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: FurryNutz on December 28, 2011, 10:10:49 AM
Just at step 5, hold the reset button until the amber power light keeps blinking on and off. Then you can let go and proceed to the browser step.
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: Anesthetize on December 28, 2011, 03:33:57 PM
I think that's how I done it last time I needed new firmware. Anyway, I'm going to try these mothods very soon. I'll post back if I need specific help.

Thanks for all the help guys :D
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: JavaLawyer on December 28, 2011, 03:54:03 PM
We posted a sticky at the head of this board with the whole procedure: DIR Router - Router Recovery from Corrupt Firmware (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=44918.0)
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: Anesthetize on December 28, 2011, 05:55:06 PM
My router doesn't seem to be responding to any form of reset. I take the power cable out, even leave it out for a minute or so, press and hold the reset button for 5 seconds (I feel the reset button depress), plug the power cable in while keeping the reset button down, but the router turns on as if I don't even have the reset button down, and just continues to provide me with internet access.

Problem is, this is working as it would if I were just going from my modem to my PC. Typing in an ip address doesn't take me to the D-link login page (so it doesn't seem to recognize the router is plugged in), instead I just a get 'problem loading page' error. And also my laptop doesn't recognize any wireless signal. It's as if the router isn't there, and it's reaction to the reset button is non-existent. No flashing amber light, just...nothing.

Any ideas?
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: JavaLawyer on December 29, 2011, 02:53:47 PM
Try using a different Ethernet cable and make sure you properly configured the static IP address on your PC.
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: Anesthetize on December 31, 2011, 08:14:51 AM
The whole static IP is something I've never done before. I'm worried about messing up my network connection as a whole. Know of any simple guides to do this? the ones I found were hard to follow!

Thanks for the reply.
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: FurryNutz on December 31, 2011, 10:00:44 AM
Once the static IP address on the PC isn't needed anymore, then just put it back to where you had be before. Most default IP properties on PCs are set for Auto Obtain, thus they get the addresses from a router or the modem where the PC is connected too. Write this information down before you make changes if you need to.
If your just not comfortable with making any changes, I might seek a computer help desk or technician who could come to your house and help you with this. A friend or neighbor, someone with some computer experience to help you out?
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: Anesthetize on January 03, 2012, 01:07:32 PM
Once the static IP address on the PC isn't needed anymore, then just put it back to where you had be before. Most default IP properties on PCs are set for Auto Obtain, thus they get the addresses from a router or the modem where the PC is connected too. Write this information down before you make changes if you need to.
If your just not comfortable with making any changes, I might seek a computer help desk or technician who could come to your house and help you with this. A friend or neighbor, someone with some computer experience to help you out?

I did look at the screen where you assign a static IP, and there is an option for auto obtain, but when that option is selected, I don't see any numbers in the ip section pop up for me to write down, so I'm assuming it's just automatic. So if I put in a static IP, when I'm done, I should just delete it and select auto obtain again right?
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: JavaLawyer on January 03, 2012, 01:09:22 PM
Correct. With auto obtain the router will assign a free IP address to your PC.
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: FurryNutz on January 03, 2012, 01:10:56 PM
Yes you need to change from Auto Obtain to manual and input the IP address. Then once your done, then got back to this setting and set it for Auto Obtain.
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: Anesthetize on January 04, 2012, 10:25:01 AM
Okay, and just to confirm, because I'm not sure how this is change anything, applying a static IP will allow me to reset my router?

Because as said before, I still get internet wth my ethernet cables going through my router. It's almost as if my modem is ignoring the fact that there's a router connected, and that it's working as it normally would (a solid net connection, no wireless). When I try and reset my router, it doesn't respond to resets. The internet doesn't cut out, if I'm doing the kind of reset where I unplug my routers power cable, keeping the reset button held, then plugging it back in, there's also no reset, as soon as the router has power, it just provides internet (without wireless, again, as if my modem is ignoring the fact that there's a router connected).

I remember when I reset my router before, plugged the power cable back in, there's a short period where even when the router has power you're not getting any internet because it's resetting itself. It's not doing that at the moment for some reason.

So using a static IP will allow me to reset my router? or is my router still going to have reset problems?
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: FurryNutz on January 04, 2012, 01:16:23 PM
This process will help you send the FW down to the router while in the recovery mode. If you can get the router in to the recovery mode first. So yes you need to set up a static IP address on the PC, then Power on the router while holding the reset button in back until the amber light starts to blink. The light should turn amber and keep blinking that color. Then you would open a web page and go to the 192.168.0.1 address and you should see a Recovery screen.

If your getting internet thru the router on a wired connection, can you access it's web page at 192.168.0.1 and leaving your network settings set for Automatic? If you are getting internet via the router on a wired connection, Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using teamviewer. (http://www.teamviewer.com)
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: Anesthetize on January 06, 2012, 11:22:21 AM
Okay, I'll try soon. I think what I was trying to say is that when I hold the reset button on the router, I get no flashing amber light. There's no response at all to the reset button. But I'll see if the static IP makes any difference and report back soon.

Thanks again!
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: JavaLawyer on January 06, 2012, 11:39:25 AM
At the very least, I can validate that this procedure does work on the DIR-615, as I used it myself (twice)  over a year ago.  ???
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: Anesthetize on January 06, 2012, 11:58:29 AM
I just had a go actually, followed this guide:

http://portforward.com/networking/static-win7.htm (http://portforward.com/networking/static-win7.htm)

Still, the router has no amber light or goes through no kind of momentary reset. Clearly I reset it not too long ago, that's how this issue with me needing firmware got started, but it seems it doesn't wish to reset now, so maybe I just need a new router?
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: FurryNutz on January 06, 2012, 12:43:16 PM
Does this router come to ready and can you get internet thru it on a wired PC or do you get anything?
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: Anesthetize on January 09, 2012, 03:01:36 AM
Yeah, that's what I've been saying. Imagine how my internet would work if I was going right from the modem to the PC. It would be a solid connection for the PC only with no wireless. When I plug the router in, it's the same thing. A solid connection for my PC only, but no wireless.

It's like my modem is ignoring the fact that I have a router connected.

Normally, when I take the power cable out of the router, then hold the reset button down, then put the power cable back in, the amber light flashes. When I let go of the reset button, even though the power cable is in I get no internet for a moment, because the router is rebooting. I don't get any of this now, even when I'm holding the reset button down, the second the power cable goes back in I instantly get the same non-wireless internet I mentioned above.

My router just isn't responding to resets of any kind!

Any suggestions? And thanks again for the reply.
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: JavaLawyer on January 09, 2012, 06:26:52 AM
We're running out of options here. . .  ???
Try unplugging the power cable for 15 minutes before attempting the reset procedure.
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: FurryNutz on January 09, 2012, 07:00:19 AM
Then if the router is coming to ready and your getting Internet thru it, Maybe it's time someone should review your router settings with you using teamviewer. (http://www.teamviewer.com)
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: Anesthetize on January 09, 2012, 08:48:36 AM
We're running out of options here. . .  ???
Try unplugging the power cable for 15 minutes before attempting the reset procedure.

I leave it unplugged constantly as I'm not using it right now, cause it's not working correctly. So there's been more than 48hours between each attempt. No idea what's wrong with it. I'm looking to pick up a new router soonish anyway as I think it'll be for the best. This router was just given to me by a cousin, I never really understood what I was doing with it, not even sure how I set it up. But starting from scratch with a new router would be a good idea I think.
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: Anesthetize on January 09, 2012, 08:52:15 AM

Then if the router is coming to ready and your getting Internet thru it, Maybe it's time someone should review your router settings with you using teamviewer. (http://www.teamviewer.com)

I don't really feel comfortable with remote access etc. as safe as it may be...

That said, they'd need to access the settings the same why I do, surely. And that would pasting the router i.p. address into the web browser, but everytime I do this it just says 'Page Taking Too Long To Respond.'

Think I'll just pick up a new router and start fresh.

Both of you never given up with your attempts to help though, and I really appreciate that. So thanks again for all the help!
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: FurryNutz on January 09, 2012, 08:55:26 AM
Understand.
See how the new router works out. Might even try a different model if they have one, like a DIR-655 or DIR-657.
Might have someone help you locally there if your not comfortable with remote access. Someone in person can help you out with the skills and knowledge about routers.

Let us know how it works out.

Good luck.
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: Anesthetize on January 10, 2012, 01:35:42 PM
Understand.
See how the new router works out. Might even try a different model if they have one, like a DIR-655 or DIR-657.
Might have someone help you locally there if your not comfortable with remote access. Someone in person can help you out with the skills and knowledge about routers.

Let us know how it works out.

Good luck.


I don't even know if I'm going with D-link next. Up until now, I've had few issues with the DIR-615 I have (which looks like an older model 615), but I'll just read around and see what's good. Unless you can recommend anything? In this room, everything that's hooked up to the router is done with wires, as everything is close, and for that, I need about 4 ethernet sockets on the back of the router. I can do with just 3 though. But my netbook is used all over the house, mostly upstairs for facebook, youtube etc. so that's what needs the wireless connection. And with this 615, I get 3/4 green bars out of 5 I think, so downloading even something small like sheet music in .PDF format take a take a touch longer than it needs to.

So I just need a router that's solid, holds connection and give a nice fast wireless speed while not costing silly amounts of money (£100 tops, could probably go just over, seems excessive though).
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: FurryNutz on January 10, 2012, 02:55:04 PM
I would check out the DIR 655.
If you run out of LAN ports in back then you can always add on a external network switch to the router and then connect up wired devices to the switch to give you more room. I have a 24 port switch on mine.

Good luck.
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: Anesthetize on January 13, 2012, 12:17:44 PM
I would check out the DIR 655.
If you run out of LAN ports in back then you can always add on a external network switch to the router and then connect up wired devices to the switch to give you more room. I have a 24 port switch on mine.

Good luck.

Cheers man, I'll look into it. And thanks again for all the help.
Title: Re: Can't find firmware to download?
Post by: FurryNutz on January 13, 2012, 12:29:58 PM
Good Luck and have a great weekend.