• September 19, 2020, 10:04:07 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Reset and reboot-lost security settings  (Read 2411 times)

rich6661

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Reset and reboot-lost security settings
« on: January 09, 2012, 04:00:51 PM »

I had to reset and reboot. I entered the router ISP and went through the 4 step process then rebooted.

My question/problem is now the router is wide open. How do I find page where I can enable the security settings and lock down the router to the outside world?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49186
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Reset and reboot-lost security settings
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2012, 09:45:20 PM »

IF your referring to WiFi then thats under Setup/Wireless.
If your checking for Wired, then Advanced/Firewall, make sure SPI is enabled.

If you have to do a factory reset, save off the routers configuration to file under Tools/System after you have make your final configurations. That way you can just reload them next time after a factory reset.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rich6661

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Reset and reboot-lost security settings
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2012, 06:00:53 PM »

Thanks FurryNutz, never had to type those words before.
That advice did the trick but if I could ask one more question, I was given a long un-remember-able password. Where do I access the page to reset and rename my password to make it more personal?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49186
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Reset and reboot-lost security settings
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2012, 10:58:25 PM »

Tools/Admin for the routers web page password. You can only change the password. You can't change the Admin user name.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!