• October 15, 2019, 07:50:41 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Trying to upgrade a drive  (Read 12238 times)

Cliff

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Trying to upgrade a drive
« on: June 09, 2010, 02:54:55 PM »

I have a dns-323 with 2 1TB drives. They are NOT raided. I want to upgrade one of the drives to a 2TB.

I shut down the box, popped out the left side and replaced it with the 2TB. Started it up and formatted the new 2TB drive.

Then I shut down the box, and replaced the original 1 TB. Now the drives are not accessible and the box thinks it has to format the 1TB drive.

I truly would prefer to not lose the data on this drive. Any suggestions?
Logged

Cliff

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: Trying to upgrade a drive
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2010, 03:22:03 PM »

When I go into the configuration screen, I am being prompted to click Skip or Next. The text says clicking Next will format the drive. If I click Skip, can I be assured the Drive will NOT be formatted?
Logged

jamieburchell

  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 947
Re: Trying to upgrade a drive
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2010, 03:46:45 PM »

How do you mean you "replaced the original 1TB drive"? With what?

As always you should have/make a backup of your data before fiddling because no one can guarantee you aren't going to loose it.
Logged
If your little 323 is not working right,
You've racked your brains and been up all night
Take a deep breath and wipe away the sweat,
Login as web admin and try a factory reset!

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: Trying to upgrade a drive
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2010, 03:56:10 PM »

Stick JUST the new drive in and format it, then try putting the old drive into the original slot it occupied.
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

Cliff

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: Trying to upgrade a drive
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2010, 04:01:53 PM »

Here is what I did.
I shut down the dns-323.
I removed the left 1TB drive and inserted a 2TB drive.
I powered on the DNS-323
I formatted the 2TB drive
I shut down the DNS-323
I removed the 2TB drive and replaced the original 1TB drive
I powered on the DNS-323

Quite honestly, I don't see how doing something like this should mean a complete backup of the drive. I haven't done anything destructive. Merely removing and replacing a drive with proper shutdowns shouldn't be a danger to data integrity. I can't even count the number of times I've swapped out SATA drives in my PC's over the years.

Regardless, the DNS-323 is now asking me to click NEXT or SKIP for this 1TB drive. If I click next, can I be assured the drive will NOT be formatted? BTW, the other drive can be seen and accessed just fine.


Logged

jamieburchell

  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 947
Re: Trying to upgrade a drive
« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2010, 04:13:28 PM »

You should still have a backup of this data regardless.

I wouldn't have thought clicking skip would format the drive, but if it does you'll appreciate why I mentioned having a backup of your data.

It will probably keep showing you that screen anyway.

Incidently, why would you want to do what you did? You formatted a 2TB drive then removed it?
« Last Edit: June 09, 2010, 04:15:24 PM by jamieburchell »
Logged
If your little 323 is not working right,
You've racked your brains and been up all night
Take a deep breath and wipe away the sweat,
Login as web admin and try a factory reset!

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: Trying to upgrade a drive
« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2010, 04:19:53 PM »

Did you happen to put the 2TB drive also in the left?

I'd reset the NAS to factory defaults, then put the 1TB drive back in it's original slot and see how it reacts.
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

Cliff

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: Trying to upgrade a drive
« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2010, 04:23:08 PM »

(Yes, the 2TB was in the left side)

Anyway, I did click SKIP with no happiness.
I did a system reset. Now I have both drives back (YEAH!)

But now my DNS box is showing up on the network as DLINK-94E254. Is there anyway to rename it back to DNS-323.

Thanks in advance.
Logged

Cliff

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: Trying to upgrade a drive
« Reply #8 on: June 09, 2010, 04:30:17 PM »

I mistyped. When I said system reset I meant reset to factory defaults. Now I have this wonky name that's hard to type.
Logged

jamieburchell

  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 947
Re: Trying to upgrade a drive
« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2010, 04:32:00 PM »

You can change it in the network settings screen somewhere
Logged
If your little 323 is not working right,
You've racked your brains and been up all night
Take a deep breath and wipe away the sweat,
Login as web admin and try a factory reset!

jamieburchell

  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 947
Re: Trying to upgrade a drive
« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2010, 04:34:24 PM »

It's under "Device" on the main screen after you login
Logged
If your little 323 is not working right,
You've racked your brains and been up all night
Take a deep breath and wipe away the sweat,
Login as web admin and try a factory reset!

Cliff

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: Trying to upgrade a drive
« Reply #11 on: June 09, 2010, 04:34:55 PM »

Found it. Thanks!

I'm backing up the drive now.
15 hours to backup the drive
probably another 15 hours to restore the data to the new 2TB drive.

I'm glad this isn't something I do often!
Logged

jamieburchell

  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 947
Re: Trying to upgrade a drive
« Reply #12 on: June 09, 2010, 04:37:23 PM »

I thought you removed the 2TB drive? Maybe I just need some sleep...
Logged
If your little 323 is not working right,
You've racked your brains and been up all night
Take a deep breath and wipe away the sweat,
Login as web admin and try a factory reset!

Cliff

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: Trying to upgrade a drive
« Reply #13 on: June 09, 2010, 05:45:18 PM »

The whole purpose of this exercise was to upgrade one of the 1TB drives to a 2TB. Considering how much time it takes to copy data off/on the DNS-323 I thought I would install the new drive in the enclosure and then do a local backup which would hopefully copy the data quicker.

But, I swapped out the wrong drive, so I had to put the original 1TB back. That's when all the fun started.

So I'm backing up the 1TB drive. I will then replace it with the 2TB and do a restore. I do wish there was a faster way to do this, but at least I haven't lost any data.

(does that help Jamie?)
Logged

jamieburchell

  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 947
Re: Trying to upgrade a drive
« Reply #14 on: June 10, 2010, 03:19:00 AM »

But, I swapped out the wrong drive, so I had to put the original 1TB back. That's when all the fun started.

I think I see now. I was wondering why anyone would want to take a drive out, put in a 2TB drive, format it and then put everything back how it was. Glad you got it sorted anyway.
Logged
If your little 323 is not working right,
You've racked your brains and been up all night
Take a deep breath and wipe away the sweat,
Login as web admin and try a factory reset!
Pages: [1] 2 3