• October 23, 2019, 04:51:28 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Direct connection without router  (Read 2366 times)

JasonT

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Direct connection without router
« on: June 09, 2010, 11:01:46 AM »

Hi,
I've been trying to connect my DNS-323 to my macbookPro via ethernet directly (bypassing my router) to see if I can improve my transfer speeds.  But it's not working.  I've tried many configurations but I can't seem to find any Volumes.  I should be able to do this, no?
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: Direct connection without router
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2010, 11:10:23 AM »

Turn on the DHCP server on the DNS-323 and it should automagically connect to the Mac when you plug the two together.
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

JasonT

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Direct connection without router
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2010, 11:44:16 AM »

Ahh Ha! thanks.  I was trying send dhcp in the other direction.
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: Direct connection without router
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2010, 11:48:36 AM »

The Mac can be a DHCP server?
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

jenvoiemaparole

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Direct connection without router
« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2010, 07:38:50 AM »

Bonjour? Viens Je Svp http://www.materiel.net/ctl/Serveurs_de_fichiers/49351-DNS_323_2_Samsung_Spinpoint_F2_Ecogreen_3_To_.html d'Acheter des nations unies D-Link DNS 323
et JE n'arrive Connecté le routeur lun. AVEC, et same Avec Mon PC Windows XP aidez-moi SVP
Logged