• November 23, 2014, 05:03:53 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DNS-323 and Windows 7 - Drive Mapping w/Easy Search  (Read 14404 times)

Misty Mountain

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
DNS-323 and Windows 7 - Drive Mapping w/Easy Search
« on: October 22, 2009, 11:08:22 AM »

Hi I just bought a DNS 323 and cannot map a drive using the Easy Search utility.  I am using Windows 7.  I talked to three different tech support people before one finally said they are having lots of problems with Windows 7 compat.  The only issue I am running into is this one.  Otherwise the DNS-323 is working fine with Windows 7 (for me).

Anyway I am wondering if this is really a Win 7 issue or something else I am missing (I tunred off my firewall and antivirus)

Thanks in advance for any help.
Logged

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2692
Re: DNS-323 and Windows 7 - Drive Mapping w/Easy Search
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2009, 01:25:44 PM »

Mine works great on win7. Have you tried the windows map drive utility as well? What AV software do you have installed?
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

Misty Mountain

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DNS-323 and Windows 7 - Drive Mapping w/Easy Search
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2009, 03:19:51 PM »

Is the mapping utility you are referring to just right clicking on the "Network" node in Windows Explorer and mapping a drive?  When I map a drive using that technique it shows up as - ADVirtualDisk\ (\) (E:) in Windows Explorer.  Is that ok?  I can see all my data so I assume it is...

Thanks for your response.

Toni
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: DNS-323 and Windows 7 - Drive Mapping w/Easy Search
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2009, 04:24:31 PM »

I'm using the DNS-323 and a DNS-321 with several Windows 7 machines, there is no compatibility issue of any kind that I've seen.  Mapped drives work just fine using the native Windows 7 network capability.

I have never used any of the D-Link utilities for my NAS boxes, and I've never experienced any issues with access from Windows 2000 and up.
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

Misty Mountain

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DNS-323 and Windows 7 - Drive Mapping w/Easy Search
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2009, 09:21:25 PM »

Ok, I figured it out.  As usual it was user error on my part (at least mostly).  When I first configured the device I changed the name of the DNS-323 under device settings away from the default of "dlink-<MAC Address>" to my own name and when I went to map a drive in the Easy Search utility it failed.  However, when I reset the device back to default system settings the device name was changed back to "dlink-<MAC Address>" format and now I can map the drives from the Easy Search utility.

Thanks for your help folks!

Toni
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: DNS-323 and Windows 7 - Drive Mapping w/Easy Search
« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2009, 05:17:46 AM »

As I said, you can name it anything you like and use Windows drive mapping. ;)
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

Khahil

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DNS-323 and Windows 7 - Drive Mapping w/Easy Search
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2009, 09:06:40 AM »

Greetings!

I have a problem with the ESU when I try to create a share: the program says "Failed to map drive".

I have also tried:

    1. "net use" command (Error 53)
    2. \\(dns name or dns ip addr)\Volume_1: Windows 7 can't reach the address

I can only use FTP successfuly.

Is there something I'm missing?

Thanks in advance :)
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: DNS-323 and Windows 7 - Drive Mapping w/Easy Search
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2009, 09:41:17 AM »

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc940100.aspx
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

Khahil

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DNS-323 and Windows 7 - Drive Mapping w/Easy Search
« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2009, 11:48:23 AM »

Sorry gunrunnerjohn but I've already reached that link while googling, thanks however :)

Maybe I need another "fresh" install...

Bye :)

Edit:

I've enabled/disabled few network services and the NAS-323 appeared under network devices :)
« Last Edit: October 24, 2009, 12:19:30 PM by Khahil »
Logged

painless187

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: DNS-323 and Windows 7 - Drive Mapping w/Easy Search
« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2010, 08:24:40 PM »

I have another DNS-323... it's my 3rd one and I have this weird problem with it. In Windows explorer I am seeing both of my new drives (in my new DNS-323) as ADVirtualDisk\ (\) and it's really bugging me.

I formatted both drives using the Easy Search Utility 4.7.

My system is Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Drives are both set as individual use drives (no RAID) and they are Hitachi 2tb 7200 rpm drives.
DNS-323 is version 1.8

Can someone help please? My two other DNS-323 boxes work great and are real drive letters.
Logged

Buhric

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
Re: DNS-323 and Windows 7 - Drive Mapping w/Easy Search
« Reply #10 on: May 28, 2010, 04:58:56 AM »

Quote
I am seeing both of my new drives (in my new DNS-323) as ADVirtualDisk\ (\) and it's really bugging me.

This is something to do with Adobe CS4...
if you have a 64bit Windows, and install CS4 with 64bits components,
the Adobe Drive component is also installed...

go here to resolve the issue
http://www.neowin.net/forum/topic/688632-remove-adobe-cs4-drive-context-menu-entry/
and Follow POST#13 instructions to uninstall that component
Logged