• October 25, 2020, 02:28:38 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Slow transfer speed with 320L  (Read 2200 times)

ucalgary

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Slow transfer speed with 320L
« on: October 16, 2019, 07:43:11 AM »

Dear all

I tried to search all post about slow transfer speed with 320L, and cannot find the solution

I have 320L connected with 5e cable and TP-link C7. All connection is hard wired

However, the transfer speed is always about 5MB/s, never more than 5.5MB/s

I have replaced and swapped the cat5e cables. My computer has at least 50Mbs (7MBs) outgoing / incoming speed via internet

i have disabled uPnP off in my router , 1000 network has been set for my 320L, firmware 1.11

what else did i make mistakes ? screen captured for your reference

thank you



https://i.ibb.co/XZvtZsp/slow.jpg



« Last Edit: October 16, 2019, 09:15:44 AM by ucalgary »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49278
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Slow transfer speed with 320L
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2019, 02:24:48 PM »

5Mb = 41.943Mpbs
Thats not too bad for this model.
Can you connect the DNS to a Gb external LAN switch with your PC and speed test again? Like a DGS-105 switch from D-Link.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

panagath

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Slow transfer speed with 320L
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2019, 11:24:38 AM »

Hello. I have this NAS too. Probably the worst electronic device I have every bought. Extremely slow. I have everything connected at 1000 + all with ethernet cables etc. I can't copy files almost at all. I'm even trying to copy my files to another USB drive so I can throw this NAS away.

Best speed I can get is 1.5MB/s using FTP. Throught SMB it takes hours even to count the files before start copying. CPU is always stuck at 100%.

Is there any quick way to get the data out? I tried to connect one of the drives directly to my macbook using a USB adapter and the macbook (and my ubuntu DELL) could not read the drive. Only the NAS can.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49278
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Slow transfer speed with 320L
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2019, 01:25:08 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your DNS? Look at the sticker behind or under the device.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DNSs web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

What Mfr and model is the main host router?

What Mfr and model HDD drive is installed in the dns?
How are you transferring to and from the DNS? PC?

Has a factory reset been performed and setup from scratch?

IS the DNS connecting at 1000Mpbs or something lower by chance?

Hello. I have this NAS too. Probably the worst electronic device I have every bought. Extremely slow. I have everything connected at 1000 + all with ethernet cables etc. I can't copy files almost at all. I'm even trying to copy my files to another USB drive so I can throw this NAS away.

Best speed I can get is 1.5MB/s using FTP. Throught SMB it takes hours even to count the files before start copying. CPU is always stuck at 100%.

Is there any quick way to get the data out? I tried to connect one of the drives directly to my macbook using a USB adapter and the macbook (and my ubuntu DELL) could not read the drive. Only the NAS can.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

mich

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Slow transfer speed with 320L
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2020, 02:01:35 AM »

I have the same problem. Max donload speed 1,5 MB/s CPU~100% Memory~20%
Hardware version:A3
HDD WD20EZRX
Firmware 1.11
Region: Poland
Connetion to DNS by GBit interface
The same situation in direct connetion by PC<->DNS.
Using patchcord cat.6e


Any ideas?
« Last Edit: February 20, 2020, 03:17:22 AM by mich »
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1478
Re: Slow transfer speed with 320L
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2020, 08:32:07 AM »

I think we should be aware that this is a Network-Attached Storage device with emphasis on Storage.  It has a low power ARM processor with a small amount of memory.  Speed, I think, wasn't the object of the design - secure storage was.

There has been a recent trend to use NAS boxes for other things than Storage and as a result of that newer units are much more power hungry and are in fact fully fledged computers with built in software RAID included in the firmware and as a consequence can do the other things but are not necessarily as good at long term storage.

Before my retirement we recommended the use of these NAS boxes to our clients as backup units for the office and industrial process machines - they are still doing that job with no complaints from the users. 

I see several people here complaining that they can't download fast enough from the NAS.  I have to wonder what they are doing that requires fast download from storage, maybe they should be using a USB hard disk unit for that rather than a NAS box and just use the NAS for backups.

In the case of panagath not being able to read a drive on his computer that depends on what type of RAID array the drive was formatted as (RAID 1 is the only one that can be read directly on a Linux computer or with a Linux IFS on other computers).

I think I have said enough but please use the correct tool for the job you expect it to do.

Logged

dantecit0

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Slow transfer speed with 320L
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2020, 01:17:44 PM »

Also, everyone is talking about network speeds, but no one is caring about disk speeds... If you have a lousy mechanical hard drive installed on your NAS (and not a SSD) then you can have a 10gb network, but your copy performance will still be like it is now.
Logged

sbrbot

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
Re: Slow transfer speed with 320L
« Reply #7 on: March 21, 2020, 02:03:23 AM »

Guys, this very small and cheap home box intended for home storage and some house multimedia. All other additional features are just bonus. It has only 256MB of memory and humble ARM v5 processor. Don't expect miracles of it. It works fine what it is intended for.
Logged

bLaZeR666_uk

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Slow transfer speed with 320L
« Reply #8 on: April 02, 2020, 12:57:22 PM »

Bit behind here but possible solution:

I have one of these devices and I get transfer speeds on large files of between 40-50 MB/s

I was messing around with this NAS (relocating it to another room) All seemed fine, transferred some files... only getting 9-10 MB/s

Checked in the web server on settings and noticed that there was only 100mbit option in the "LINK SPEED" setting.

Wierd... found out it was the LAN CABLE... used some crappy one that came with a cheap network device, switched it back to a decent CAT5e cable (homemade) and hey presto 1000mbit was back in the "LINK SPEED"

Transferred a 23 Gig Movie file at 47MB/s

Thats my 2 cents worth (Im from the UK BTW)  ;)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49278
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Slow transfer speed with 320L
« Reply #9 on: April 02, 2020, 01:47:55 PM »

CAT6 would be preferred.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

tibi500cid

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Slow transfer speed with 320L
« Reply #10 on: July 01, 2020, 08:50:33 AM »

When the NAS and the PC and the SWITCH are all set to Gigabit Ethernet speed then 70-80Megabytes/second speeds are normal.
The cable should be CAT6 or CAT5E.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49278
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Slow transfer speed with 320L
« Reply #11 on: July 01, 2020, 09:11:40 AM »

Any progress on this?

Dear all

I tried to search all post about slow transfer speed with 320L, and cannot find the solution

I have 320L connected with 5e cable and TP-link C7. All connection is hard wired

However, the transfer speed is always about 5MB/s, never more than 5.5MB/s

I have replaced and swapped the cat5e cables. My computer has at least 50Mbs (7MBs) outgoing / incoming speed via internet

i have disabled uPnP off in my router , 1000 network has been set for my 320L, firmware 1.11

what else did i make mistakes ? screen captured for your reference

thank you



https://i.ibb.co/XZvtZsp/slow.jpg
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

tibi500cid

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Slow transfer speed with 320L
« Reply #12 on: July 01, 2020, 10:06:24 AM »

I see You are copying from Volume_2 to html5.
What is the html5 folder?
Where is it located?
If everything is wired and no wireless connections are involved, then copy first to You PC's SSD and check the speed there.
It should be around 90-100MByte/sec.
If it's not then there is trouble.
Logged

kdarvim

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Slow transfer speed with 320L
« Reply #13 on: July 18, 2020, 09:43:55 AM »

No meu caso, usando o explorer do windows ele apresenta um boa velocidade, mas utilizando programas de FTP como filezilla por exemplo a conex„o nunca passa de  1Mp/s.

Ja revi todas as permissoes, creio que conexoa nao pode ser, se nao nem via explorer iria apresentar a velocidade.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49278
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Slow transfer speed with 320L
« Reply #14 on: July 18, 2020, 11:27:02 AM »

In inglese per favore

No meu caso, usando o explorer do windows ele apresenta um boa velocidade, mas utilizando programas de FTP como filezilla por exemplo a conex„o nunca passa de  1Mp/s.

Ja revi todas as permissoes, creio que conexoa nao pode ser, se nao nem via explorer iria apresentar a velocidade.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!