• July 23, 2019, 08:39:19 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DNS320L will never have SMB2 (or higher), right?  (Read 3442 times)

Horinius

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
DNS320L will never have SMB2 (or higher), right?
« on: August 16, 2018, 03:11:29 AM »

I bought my DNS320L maybe two years ago.  Then I found that the product has already been discontinued by D-Link!

And then recently Microsoft will disable its support in future Win10.

So, what option does it leave to us?  I'm not willing to throw my DNS320L out of the windows!  I had paid about $400 (the device + two discs).
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47584
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DNS320L will never have SMB2 (or higher), right?
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2018, 06:52:11 AM »

Correct, However MS said they were going to help solve the SMB1 in Windows 10:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65722.0

Just enabling SMB1 in Windows 10 resolves connection issues...
« Last Edit: August 16, 2018, 07:30:43 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

miko8888

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: DNS320L will never have SMB2 (or higher), right?
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2019, 02:06:36 PM »

I add this for documentation purposes if somebody else reads this post. You can get smbv2 with the alternative open source firmware ALT-F https://sourceforge.net/projects/alt-f/ that works on the DNS320L. I followed the instructions here: https://sourceforge.net/p/alt-f/wiki/How%20to%20Use/ and smbv2 works well on  my own DNS320L.
Logged

Horinius

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DNS320L will never have SMB2 (or higher), right?
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2019, 08:09:02 AM »

Correct, However MS said they were going to help solve the SMB1 in Windows 10:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65722.0

Just enabling SMB1 in Windows 10 resolves connection issues...

Forcing people to use an old, and most importantly unsecure, protocol is called a solution?  I think we need to go back to the definition of the word solution.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47584
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DNS320L will never have SMB2 (or higher), right?
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2019, 08:38:59 AM »

IF users are concerned about using an old protocol, then users will need to look into getting in to newer generation NAS. The DNS line is EOL and D-Link is no longer coming out with newer models. Unless there is a major security issue found with DNS, like with the Cryptor problem that D-Link fixed, D-Link is no longer putting out regular FW updates.

I personally have never seen any issues with using SMBv1 ever in all the years of using it. For those that have DNS, NFS is available as an alternative solution for SMBv1 using there DNS if you have concerns about using your DNS.

Good Luck and enjoy.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1440
Re: DNS320L will never have SMB2 (or higher), right?
« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2019, 03:42:03 PM »

I would add to what FurryNutz says.  SMB v1 is only potentially unsafe if the units using it are directly connected to the internet (by directly connected I mean there is no firewall or other protection like a fully manage switch between the unit and internet).  If you leave yourself wide open you can expect the bad guys to come calling no matter how good your security is.

If you are really concerned get a tpLink VPN unit with a firewall and put your network behind that - make sure you set up adequate firewall rules and set it to log all attachment attempts.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47584
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DNS320L will never have SMB2 (or higher), right?
« Reply #6 on: July 19, 2019, 10:19:00 AM »

Nobody is forcing anyone to do anything.

Correct, However MS said they were going to help solve the SMB1 in Windows 10:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65722.0

Just enabling SMB1 in Windows 10 resolves connection issues...

Forcing people to use an old, and most importantly unsecure, protocol is called a solution?  I think we need to go back to the definition of the word solution.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting