• October 21, 2018, 11:28:41 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Devices seen but sometimes not bridged  (Read 1289 times)

hchung

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Devices seen but sometimes not bridged
« on: April 12, 2018, 11:48:04 AM »

Hi,
I recently bought a DAP-1860 have upgraded it to 1.03 and did a factory reset. I'm trying to set it up as an access point, not as a wifi extender. So the internet connection comes in from ethernet.

The problem I'm seeing is that DHCP leases on Wifi is unreliable. A MacBook Pro connected fine to both 5ghz and 2.4ghz networks and gets a DHCP lease. But an iPhone or a Chromebook doesn't. An hour later, I tried again, and the opposite happens. The iPhone works, but the MacBook doesn't. And the Chromebook is a maybe.

Working or not working is not correlated between brand of device or OS. But it does feel like the first device that connects to the DAP-1860 after the DAP-1860 is rebooted tends to work. And the second device sometimes works. And the third device rarely works. The DAP-1860 admin UI does show that each device connects to it, but the IPv4 address for the non-working ones is 169.254.x.x.

Happen to have any ideas of what to try? I've tried both Smartconnect on and off, and while off, my 2.4ghz and 5ghz have different SSIDs.

I don't have IPV6. And I've tried both an ancient Apple Airport Basestation as well as a OSX laptop running Internet Sharing as DHCP servers. I'm in the process of setting up a FreeBSD box as a DHCP server to see if that changes anything too.

Thanks!


Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46016
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Devices seen but sometimes not bridged
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2018, 04:17:58 PM »

What is the Mfr and model# of the main host router the DAP is connected too?
Is the DAP connected via LAN to LAN with the main host router? if so, DHCP should be disabled ON the DAP and let it pass thru DHCP from the main host router instead.

Is the the main wireless source for your home or are there other APs inside or near by?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

hchung

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Devices seen but sometimes not bridged
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2018, 10:28:33 PM »

Right now I've got an Apple Airport Base Station A1034 wired up. It's a really old 802.11g, but I had a Linksys WRT54g previously which died recently.
I've got the DAP connected via Ethernet through a GigE switch.

How do I disable DHCP on the DAP?

I'm in a townhouse complex so there's a lot of 802.11g/n base stations that I see. However, the Airport mentioned above is my main wireless source and my main router. The intent is to use the DAP as the primary wireless access point.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46016
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Devices seen but sometimes not bridged
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2018, 09:22:09 AM »

I would review the user manual to see where to disable DHCP services on the DAP. I don't have this particular mode. There should be a setting in the DAPs UI that you can disable. There maybe a AP mode setting as well. You might try running thru the set up wizard as we...Let us know what you find. If you can get it in full AP modem with DHCP disabled, you can then turn OFF the wireless radio on the Apple router.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

hchung

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Devices seen but sometimes not bridged
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2018, 02:50:20 PM »

I don't seem to be able to find an option to disable the DHCP server on the DAP-1860. There's no mention in the user guide or elsewhere online.
But I was able to disable DHCP client on the DAP-1860. It now has a static IP.

The setup wizard was run earlier and I told it to use the router as the internet connection via ethernet.

After the first 2 devices connected, the rest of them fail DHCP again. :(

In the process of trying to see if there's a DHCP server config for the DAP, I encountered another forum post (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=59973.30)
It sounds like a similar issue, but they had a fw update that fixed it?
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 8 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1416
Re: Devices seen but sometimes not bridged
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2018, 03:10:54 PM »

This device does not have a DHCP server. The DHCP from the router it is connected to will pass through to the wireless clients connecting to the extender.
Logged

hchung

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Devices seen but sometimes not bridged
« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2018, 11:20:08 PM »

Hi, so after a few weeks of playing around when the DAP-1860 doesn't quite work right, here's my notes:

1) If there's nothing attached via WiFi, the first device that connects tends to get DHCP bridged through the ethernet interface with no problem. And it is oh so fast!

2) If another device attaches to the DAP-1860, often the DAP-1860 will fail to bridge that device to the ethernet backhaul. The devices will see the DAP-1860 itself, as well as any other device on the WiFi segment if you manually assign an IP address to the device. The DAP-1860 will also see the device too and display the 169.229.X.X address too. But the device cannot talk to anything on the ethernet segment.

3) If a device stays connected via WiFi, after a while, maybe 5-10 minutes, the DAP-1860 will usually notice the device and start bridging it to ethernet backhaul. If that happens life is good. If it was connected via static IP, then switching to DHCP works too.

4) Many devices (especially smartphones) don't like staying on a WiFi network which isn't giving a lease. So connecting Android and iOS devices when the DAP-1860 isn't bridging it is difficult because the device won't wait for bridging to magically start, it'll just go off and select another network.

Is there anything I can do, or any engineer I can reach out to, in order to get help to make a DAP-1860 recognize new devices on the WiFI segment faster?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46016
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Devices seen but sometimes not bridged
« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2018, 02:07:04 PM »

Any status on this?
Have you contacted D-Link support about this?

Hi, so after a few weeks of playing around when the DAP-1860 doesn't quite work right, here's my notes:

1) If there's nothing attached via WiFi, the first device that connects tends to get DHCP bridged through the ethernet interface with no problem. And it is oh so fast!

2) If another device attaches to the DAP-1860, often the DAP-1860 will fail to bridge that device to the ethernet backhaul. The devices will see the DAP-1860 itself, as well as any other device on the WiFi segment if you manually assign an IP address to the device. The DAP-1860 will also see the device too and display the 169.229.X.X address too. But the device cannot talk to anything on the ethernet segment.

3) If a device stays connected via WiFi, after a while, maybe 5-10 minutes, the DAP-1860 will usually notice the device and start bridging it to ethernet backhaul. If that happens life is good. If it was connected via static IP, then switching to DHCP works too.

4) Many devices (especially smartphones) don't like staying on a WiFi network which isn't giving a lease. So connecting Android and iOS devices when the DAP-1860 isn't bridging it is difficult because the device won't wait for bridging to magically start, it'll just go off and select another network.

Is there anything I can do, or any engineer I can reach out to, in order to get help to make a DAP-1860 recognize new devices on the WiFI segment faster?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

hchung

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Devices seen but sometimes not bridged
« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2018, 10:30:35 PM »

Sorry, not yet, I was out of town for a while and just got back. I'll send an email to support now and see what happens.
Logged

hchung

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Devices seen but sometimes not bridged
« Reply #9 on: July 28, 2018, 01:51:38 PM »

Support said to install firmware V1.04B01, released at the end of June.
I'll give it a shot and see what happens.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46016
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Devices seen but sometimes not bridged
« Reply #10 on: July 29, 2018, 08:39:11 AM »

Hope the new FW will help fix this...Let us know how it goes.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!