• February 23, 2018, 06:06:11 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: [1.20] DHCP assigns an IP not even in the same class... WTF???  (Read 1477 times)

heartsofwar

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: [1.20] DHCP assigns an IP not even in the same class... WTF???
« Reply #30 on: January 09, 2018, 04:10:33 PM »

Unfortunate to say that I'm glad I'm not the only person with this issue. My router is also more than a year old (1.5) on the 1.20 firmware...

I can't force this issue to happen, it just does and I've only seen it 4 times now in the span of 8-9 months? I first experienced it on firmware v1.13.
Logged

Tario70

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
Re: [1.20] DHCP assigns an IP not even in the same class... WTF???
« Reply #31 on: January 10, 2018, 07:00:49 AM »

After re-reading your post it seems we experienced something slightly different.

For reasons completely unknown to me my entire network changed. So I was assigned an IP in my DCHP range it was just a completely different network (172.16.x.x) which I only found out because I sync some devices with my PC over wifi & they suddenly couldn't connect (they use IP addresses to find one another).

I still have no idea what caused it & never experienced it before. After changing my network back to a 192.x.x.x network, the router rebooted & all appears to be running as it should now.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 44590
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

heartsofwar

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: [1.20] DHCP assigns an IP not even in the same class... WTF???
« Reply #33 on: February 13, 2018, 08:46:30 AM »

Not sure I see much relevance other than dnsmasq update, but it seems like just an update, any particular reason why? Is this expected to resolve some of the issues on this thread?

On a side note, I am on v1.21B04 and still experiencing the problem. I just had another issue last night. Router was issuing 169.x.x.x IPs to all new devices. Any devices that had a previous IP 192.x.x.x were fine, but all new device were screwed. Only difference this time is that the router itself wouldn't respond on its 192.x.x.x address. Had to reset it which resolved everything.

Absolutely will not buy D-link again... this is horrible... the router already reset itself weekly because it can't be trusted to be stable for more than a week, but I still have to deal with this??? come on!
« Last Edit: February 13, 2018, 08:48:52 AM by heartsofwar »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 44590
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: [1.20] DHCP assigns an IP not even in the same class... WTF???
« Reply #34 on: February 13, 2018, 08:53:30 AM »

You should try it. It won't bother the router if it's still seems to be having issues.

Honestly, you seem to be the only one having issues and believe this is something in your networking configuration or something connected to your network is probably causing this issue. Since you can't seem to tell us what your configurations are and whats all connected due to this supposed NDA, we can't help you beyond this. This isn't a D-Link issue. To go farther D-Link would need more details. And you'll need to contact them directly since we can't help you with your issue.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2018, 09:00:35 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 5 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 694
Re: [1.20] DHCP assigns an IP not even in the same class... WTF???
« Reply #35 on: February 13, 2018, 08:58:59 AM »

How long have you had the router?

Routers do not issue 169 IPs. Windows will assign itself those addresses if DHCP is not found.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 44590
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: [1.20] DHCP assigns an IP not even in the same class... WTF???
« Reply #36 on: February 13, 2018, 09:30:29 AM »

Link> APIPA
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

heartsofwar

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: [1.20] DHCP assigns an IP not even in the same class... WTF???
« Reply #37 on: February 13, 2018, 07:01:29 PM »

Are we really going to go over this again????

Your router is issuing 169 address. This last time I couldn't access the router on the 192.x.x.x, likely because it was favoring IPv6 (another issue I've seen in the past), but when I could access the router in the past, I clearly saw my devices within your router firmware being listed as connected and with 169 IP addresses.

I am fully aware of APIPA, but if it was APIPA, please tell me how your router firmware showed my devices as connected with 169 addresses?
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 5 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 694
Re: [1.20] DHCP assigns an IP not even in the same class... WTF???
« Reply #38 on: February 14, 2018, 06:32:52 AM »

Can you post a screenshot of the router issuing 169 numbers? When this happens have you released/renewed on your computer and if you have did you still receive a 169 IP? Was there a wait for the IP to renew or did it happen quickly? If it took 30-40 seconds then the computer is not finding a dhcp server and self issuing a 169 IP. I am not sure why the router would display it. It must use the MAC address of the device therefore displaying the 169 address in the router GUI. I haven't seen that before.  Then if you go to the network settings on the router is the LAN and dhcp range normal or did it change to 169 IP?

I am really not sure why you are still using this router. Obviously your router is defective. You need to CALL tech support.  We do not have the magic answer for you since you will not disclose your network topology or details which makes it impossible for anyone to troubleshoot.  We do not need to know specifics on your network, but simple things like if you have other routers or managed switches on your network, other DHCP servers, vlans, is a modem connected to your wan port or are you using it as a gateway, etc. Remember this router is a consumer HOME router. Since you have a NDA I am assuming your network is not a typical home network.

We would love to help you but we need to know more details. I strongly suggest you call tech support. Not sure what else anyone on forums can do for you. Your router is not acting normal. All DIR-895s do not do this so you need to call tech support for a possible RMA.

Have you tried any other routers?
Logged

heartsofwar

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: [1.20] DHCP assigns an IP not even in the same class... WTF???
« Reply #39 on: February 14, 2018, 09:33:49 AM »

The next time this issue occurs and when I can access the router, I will post a screenshot. The screenshot will be blurred due to my NDAs, but I will make a note to do this. The problem seems to occur once every 3-4 months... if that, not easy to reproduce.

Second, I am still using the router because for the most part it works! I work from home and spent $400 on this PoS and would love to change to DD-WRT firmware, but again we've had this disucssion, D-link is perfectly happy to have advertised FULL DD-WRT support, but you don't do squat to help their community. FurryNutz is only partially active on their forums now because I called you out on it.

Third, I have called your tech support. They tell me there is nothing they can DO! LoL... I try to initiate an RMA and they basically tell me the unit is over a year old and out of warranty or they want the router back before I receive one; neither option is acceptable! I would gladly dump this router in a heartbeat if someone wants to shell out another $400; otherwise, I expect to have it 'work'

I do have another router, non-5Ghz, and it works fine... no issues. Why don't I use it? As mentioned before to FurryNutz on this thread I think, I need 5Ghz for work requirements and adding hops is not acceptable, even just one.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2018, 09:40:38 AM by heartsofwar »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 44590
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: [1.20] DHCP assigns an IP not even in the same class... WTF???
« Reply #40 on: February 14, 2018, 09:43:02 AM »

And the issue with WRT what there issue. Upon taking with one user there, there were bugs in there WRT FW. User were able to get WRT loaded on there 895L by going back to older versions of FW, the migrating to WRT. I had to do the same thing with my 890L, same platform as the 895L, just less speed handling on the wifi. I also helped others with WRT getting it loaded on there routers as well. Again, this wasn't a D-Link issue. It was WRTs. They have since corrected THERE FW. D-Link is not responsible to help WRT. They only allow the generation of the GPL code to be use by 3rd party FW developers. Again, it's the 3rd party developers responsibility to develop, test and fix there FW, NOT D-Links.
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=73050.0

Please review this and give this a try to get WRT loaded at your own accord:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=72749.0

Again, 169 IP address do not come from the router, they are generated by client device if and when they can't get an IP address from the router. There maybe something wrong with the router or something on your network that is causing the router to fail at some point. Being that you say this happens randomly and you are the only one having this issue. I believe something on your network is the cause over the router being bad.

You need to get an RMA and see if the RMA router does the same thing, this will let you know either way.
If you get an RMA or ask for one, ASK for a cross shipped RMA. D-Link usually does this. They ship you out a RMA unit, once it arrives you have to send the other unit back or they will charge you. They will ask for funding information when they set up the cross shipping RMA. So if you don't return any unit, you'll get charged. I've done this. Nice to have this option/
« Last Edit: February 14, 2018, 09:50:15 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 2 [3]