• July 16, 2019, 09:05:17 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 9

Author Topic: Firmware 1.20B01 Released - SECURITY PATCH  (Read 19831 times)

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2111
Re: Firmware 1.20B01 Released - SECURITY PATCH
« Reply #90 on: March 01, 2018, 02:00:04 PM »

hmm that doesn't sound right but hey if it fixed your issue....  ;D 

Let us know if the QoS settings remained saved after 3 (or more) days, or if you have anymore issues.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47562
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Firmware 1.20B01 Released - SECURITY PATCH
« Reply #91 on: March 01, 2018, 02:08:46 PM »

I usually use the UI factory reset button there. The reset button should and does do a full factory reset. Wonder if there is something going on with this particular HW.  :o
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 10 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2111
Re: Firmware 1.20B01 Released - SECURITY PATCH
« Reply #92 on: March 01, 2018, 02:14:07 PM »

I usually use the UI factory reset button there. The reset button should and does do a full factory reset. Wonder if there is something going on with this particular HW.  :o

That's what I was thinking. A reset should clear all the settings and it sounds like it wasn't. Strange the QoS page is the only one affected.
Logged

clinton222

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Firmware 1.20B01 Released - SECURITY PATCH
« Reply #93 on: March 01, 2018, 02:19:18 PM »

so i am 100% positive now this is the issue. I just did hard reset again and will retain parts of the configuration. The button on the router doesn't completely clear out everything but does remove enough to get you into recovery mode so that is what was deceptive because you think its cleared out but it really isnt.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47562
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Firmware 1.20B01 Released - SECURITY PATCH
« Reply #94 on: March 01, 2018, 02:21:22 PM »

Can you run same test again and this time use the UI Reset to Factory and let us know what happens?

so i am 100% positive now this is the issue. I just did hard reset again and will retain parts of the configuration. The button on the router doesn't completely clear out everything but does remove enough to get you into recovery mode so that is what was deceptive because you think its cleared out but it really isnt.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

clinton222

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Firmware 1.20B01 Released - SECURITY PATCH
« Reply #95 on: March 01, 2018, 02:26:14 PM »

Can you run same test again and this time use the UI Reset to Factory and let us know what happens?

so i am 100% positive now this is the issue. I just did hard reset again and will retain parts of the configuration. The button on the router doesn't completely clear out everything but does remove enough to get you into recovery mode so that is what was deceptive because you think its cleared out but it really isnt.
Normally I wouldnt mind but i just finished the re config of all my QoS stuff. I supposed I could DL config file. let me get back to you on that one. Im going to let my services run for few days since they been down most of the day.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47562
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Firmware 1.20B01 Released - SECURITY PATCH
« Reply #96 on: March 01, 2018, 02:28:27 PM »

Yes do save off a new configuration file.

Let us know the results. I hoping that using the UI will result in different out come vs the HW button.


Over all, if the HW reset button is not working fully, I would consider contacting D-Link support and asking for an RMA. Everything should be working on the router including the HW reset button.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2018, 02:30:19 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

CoDeCX999

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • " Vi veri veniversum vivus vici "
Re: Firmware 1.20B01 Released - SECURITY PATCH
« Reply #97 on: March 06, 2018, 04:07:41 PM »

Hello friends  :)

I recently made a purchase of network cables for my house, but I have not made the exchange yet.

I have a doubt and I also have cat5 cables and saw several forums that cat6 and cat7 will perform better in connection.


Logged
"Once again in the fight.
In the last good battle I will never know.
Live and die on this day. Live and die on this day. "

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47562
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Firmware 1.20B01 Released - SECURITY PATCH
« Reply #98 on: March 06, 2018, 04:37:50 PM »

CAT6 is what you need for patch cables between devices. CAT6A is best for in wall installations in the building. Supports 10Gb speeds when that becomes available. CAT7 is implemented for commercial and business class use.
Link> Cat6 is recommended.[/li][/list]
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

CoDeCX999

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • " Vi veri veniversum vivus vici "
Re: Firmware 1.20B01 Released - SECURITY PATCH
« Reply #99 on: March 09, 2018, 10:30:59 AM »

CAT6 is what you need for patch cables between devices. CAT6A is best for in wall installations in the building. Supports 10Gb speeds when that becomes available. CAT7 is implemented for commercial and business class use.
Link> Cat6 is recommended.[/q]


As and for the work of the company at home I opted for the purchase of Cat7.

Tks friend.  ;) ;D
Logged
"Once again in the fight.
In the last good battle I will never know.
Live and die on this day. Live and die on this day. "

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47562
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Firmware 1.20B01 Released - SECURITY PATCH
« Reply #100 on: March 09, 2018, 02:23:17 PM »

Good Luck.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

MSuomi

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Firmware 1.20B01 Released - SECURITY PATCH
« Reply #101 on: March 11, 2018, 12:02:18 AM »

So i just figured out a way to get the QoS operational again, but only with 1.11. The process is simple.

1) Factory reset (using the router button). Keep in mind this is NOT a true factory reset from what I just discovered - very important to know.
2) Boot from Emergency Recovery Mode and load 1.11 firmware.
3) Clear cached in FF -ESL browser.
4) Go into router (default 192.168.0.1)
5) Go into router system admin/management page (GUI) and click "Restore To Factory Default Settings". This is the most important step.
6) Start router config from scratch - QoS is back.

I'm about to get an fiber (last stretch with VDSL) next Thursday. So I need to change the rates on QOS and I decided to test changing them.
And I have exactly the same problem, nothing on QOS-page saves. I cannot turn QOS off or anything. I'll try factory resetting it, when I get the line connected and will inform about my findings...
Strange thing is, if I click for it to test the bandwidth itself the numbers seem to stick (though they are not correct...), but in reality they do not stick. Reboot and there are the same numbers I put there, when I enabled QOS. There surely is something fishy here ;)
Tested making the changes from phone (FF and Chrome), computer (FF & IE).
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47562
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Firmware 1.20B01 Released - SECURITY PATCH
« Reply #102 on: March 11, 2018, 11:13:31 AM »

Can you try this? Set the routers default IP address from 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.0.2?

So i just figured out a way to get the QoS operational again, but only with 1.11. The process is simple.

1) Factory reset (using the router button). Keep in mind this is NOT a true factory reset from what I just discovered - very important to know.
2) Boot from Emergency Recovery Mode and load 1.11 firmware.
3) Clear cached in FF -ESL browser.
4) Go into router (default 192.168.0.1)
5) Go into router system admin/management page (GUI) and click "Restore To Factory Default Settings". This is the most important step.
6) Start router config from scratch - QoS is back.

I'm about to get an fiber (last stretch with VDSL) next Thursday. So I need to change the rates on QOS and I decided to test changing them.
And I have exactly the same problem, nothing on QOS-page saves. I cannot turn QOS off or anything. I'll try factory resetting it, when I get the line connected and will inform about my findings...
Strange thing is, if I click for it to test the bandwidth itself the numbers seem to stick (though they are not correct...), but in reality they do not stick. Reboot and there are the same numbers I put there, when I enabled QOS. There surely is something fishy here ;)
Tested making the changes from phone (FF and Chrome), computer (FF & IE).
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

MSuomi

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Firmware 1.20B01 Released - SECURITY PATCH
« Reply #103 on: March 11, 2018, 01:19:44 PM »

Can you try this? Set the routers default IP address from 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.0.2?

Yes, I already tried that. IP changes and saves normally, but QOS-page doesn't still take any changes. I tried also with Edge and Chrome (both of which I generally don't use for anything) and nope. Emptied both browsers caches (though haven't used them to set router-settings earlier) and forced page update with Ctrl+F5, but no. Nothing saves on QOS-page (and there even flashes the window "Saving changes").
« Last Edit: March 11, 2018, 01:29:05 PM by MSuomi »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47562
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Firmware 1.20B01 Released - SECURITY PATCH
« Reply #104 on: March 12, 2018, 10:47:54 AM »

Ok, I'll have D-Link review this. Seems there is still an issue with this that needs to be resolved.

Thanks for your detailed info.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 9