• October 18, 2019, 02:05:10 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 2 3 [4]

Author Topic: DCS-920 Crashes/Requires Reboot  (Read 27714 times)

wedjohn57

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DCS-920 Crashes/Requires Reboot
« Reply #45 on: October 15, 2009, 08:55:42 PM »

great~thanks mickey
Logged

alantam

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DCS-920 Crashes/Requires Reboot
« Reply #46 on: October 16, 2009, 09:27:34 AM »

update... since i've upgraded firmware to 1.03 and assigned ip address outside of dhcp range the lights on the camera's stay on!   but still become un responsive ... even when all 3 camera's become unresponsive the lights stay green!

i've even tried swapping out the camera's.. but no luck...

must be something with comcast business gateway modem/router ...
Logged

Mickey

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: DCS-920 Crashes/Requires Reboot
« Reply #47 on: October 16, 2009, 09:35:24 AM »

I would first look at the switch.

I think you said something about a netgear gigabit switch. Can you try using a different one? I never had all the cameras dropping at the same time. So, maybe it is your switch what has a problem.

What router are you using?
Logged

alantam

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DCS-920 Crashes/Requires Reboot
« Reply #48 on: October 16, 2009, 09:47:17 AM »

just the comcast business gateway router which connects to netgear 8 port gigabit switch... which connects to another netgear 8 port gigabit switch  which i have the 3 camera's plugged into...

Logged

Mickey

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: DCS-920 Crashes/Requires Reboot
« Reply #49 on: October 16, 2009, 09:56:16 AM »

OK. I only have a comcast modem and use my own (dlink DIR-655) router and also a dlink switch.

From the sound of your problem it seems you either have a problem with the switch or the router or both. Since you have assigned static IPs you don't need the router to access the cameras locally. Can you just create a network with the switch, the cameras and a computer (needs static IP too)? Then access the cameras through your web browser and see if they hold up.
Logged

alantam

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DCS-920 Crashes/Requires Reboot
« Reply #50 on: October 17, 2009, 02:20:05 PM »

ok i think i solved this issue...   Here are the steps I took.

Upgraged to firmware 1.03
    - This resolved the issue of camera lights being off when camera became unresponsive

assigned IP outside dhcp range

Replaced NetGear Giga bit switch w. dlink DES-1108 8-Port 10/100 Desktop Switch
    - This was the major cause of the problems.  Once i replaced the switch camera's would become unresponsive
       intermitently (few hrs...)

Final changes... which resulted in camera's being up for over 20hrs now!!!

changed video light frequency to to 50hz

in Network setup disabled UPnP Settings

Disabled wireless because im hardwired in

Not saying you need to do all these things... this is just what i did to resolve this issue... and i dont have the time to go back and find a root cause :)
« Last Edit: October 18, 2009, 05:27:53 AM by alantam »
Logged

mosart

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: DCS-920 Crashes/Requires Reboot
« Reply #51 on: February 19, 2010, 10:50:09 AM »

Solved:

I have two cameras DCS-920 and both had trouble, crashing after a few days (or hours). Camera1 showed solid red LED. Camera2 showed solid green LED. Both unresponsive.

I have a case with dLink and here are the solutions that worked for me:

For the solid RED camera, I changed the IP address configuration to be static (fixed IP) and below the DHCP range of my router. The DHCP range goes from 100 to 199, and so I set the cameras at .51 to avoid conflict. For some reason .231 or even .241 was causing the problem. Not sure why, I have no conflicts...
This camera is on the latest firmware 1.0.3.

Camera 2 had a different solution. I had to downgrade to 1.0.1 firmware, and for the sake of it, I used .52 IP address. It's been running for a week now, no problem. HTH
Logged

robbo39

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: DCS-920 Crashes/Requires Reboot
« Reply #52 on: March 03, 2012, 05:19:50 PM »

I know this is an old thread, however these issues happen to me as well.

I'm in Australia and the latest firmware for here is 1.02b5, can I use the US firmware?
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]