• December 05, 2019, 06:49:30 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6

Author Topic: Setup as a Bridge  (Read 12570 times)

Tario70

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #60 on: March 12, 2017, 11:37:46 AM »

Well I presume that I may not have this Serviio program set up right as I've set a few resources in the app and the app says it's running.
While in Windows 10, I can see the Serviio listed under media and devices in the Networking windows. If select the serviio PC here, it launches Windows Media player and no files is found for this PC/app. This is on a LAN wired connected. Same thing happens if I connect to the 880L in bridge mode. Using the default user for the same PC, I can see and view windows default media files on the PC with Serviio. Both wired LAN and Windows 10 PC connected to bridge.

I see unknown devices listed in the Serviio app and can't edit anything or change the names. Something else I need to do to get Media Player in Windows to see files I've shared out with this Serviio app on my Windows 7 PC? Both PCs are connected on the same switch when LAN wired.

Sorry about the delay. To be honest I have it setup with the default settings then just add my video shares to it. I've never tried accessing it via another PC. It's always just been via the Xbox, Blu-ray player or over wifi with my phone. No sure why it's showing Unknown devices (I only have one of those) but then clicking "edit" allows me to adjust their profile. One thing to be sure is checked is to "Enbable access to new devices". Also make sure your PC's firewall is allowing sharing or possibly even disable it during testing.

Thanks again.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #61 on: March 13, 2017, 07:00:01 AM »

Using default settings too. Firewall is disabled on my PCs.
The fact that I can view some Windows default media thru the 880L bridge seems to work at least on some level. Just getting this Serviio to work is something different I guess. I'll connect up my xbox and boxee box and test again.

What app are you using on the xbox when it's connected to the 880L/1522 bridge?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Gattsu

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 3 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 139
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #62 on: March 13, 2017, 10:20:32 AM »

I was unable to install SW. So instead I use Plex on Windows 7 and it was detected within a minute. I'm using Windows 7 DNLA services as a client.

DNLA is a standard protocol, used by a lot of software. So no matter which DNLA software you use, it should be the same DNLA coding. So far it has been working for me on Plex and DNS-1250-04.

After you swap the 880 from 1522 make sure to power cycle the 890L, if you have not already done so.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #63 on: March 13, 2017, 10:23:18 AM »

Is Windows 7 DLNA services running by default or do you have to enable it? Just want to make sure I've got my PCs set up right.

What app did you use to view and check your DLNA resources on your DNS and Plex Server?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Tario70

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #64 on: March 13, 2017, 03:06:32 PM »

I was unable to install SW. So instead I use Plex on Windows 7 and it was detected within a minute. I'm using Windows 7 DNLA services as a client.

DNLA is a standard protocol, used by a lot of software. So no matter which DNLA software you use, it should be the same DNLA coding. So far it has been working for me on Plex and DNS-1250-04.

After you swap the 880 from 1522 make sure to power cycle the 890L, if you have not already done so.

I will try a power cycle. Again, the 880L seems to be the issue. No matter what, Plex or Serviio, the DLNA share does not show up. I can repeat this every time.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #65 on: March 13, 2017, 04:25:39 PM »

Let us know how it goes.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #66 on: March 14, 2017, 09:31:53 AM »

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Tario70

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #67 on: March 14, 2017, 08:28:41 PM »

Let us know how it goes.

As honestly expected the power cycle (both hitting Reboot in the GUI of the 895L & using the power button with an unplug) yielded the same results. I cannot see the share at all.

I guess I'll try to throw the 880L up on eBay or something & continue to use the 1522. Really disappointed about this but not too surprised to be honest. I've tried this with other products & had the same issues as well as DD-WRT (several builds tried) not seeing the share either. Seems to be a common problem in the industry.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #68 on: March 15, 2017, 06:31:02 AM »

Wondering if there maybe a problem with this Serviio app and newer wifi and upnp. The 1522 is based on older code and maybe less secure as uPnP had issue which were closed by later FW updates and more recent code. The 1522 hasn't been updated in a while. If you saw this issue with other products and 3rd party FW, problem maybe with this app.

Did you get to try the 880L as the main host router and use the 1522 to see if the problem tracked?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Tario70

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #69 on: March 15, 2017, 08:23:54 AM »

Wondering if there maybe a problem with this Serviio app and newer wifi and upnp. The 1522 is based on older code and maybe less secure as uPnP had issue which were closed by later FW updates and more recent code. The 1522 hasn't been updated in a while. If you saw this issue with other products and 3rd party FW, problem maybe with this app.

Did you get to try the 880L as the main host router and use the 1522 to see if the problem tracked?

Perhaps, but Plex had the same issue. Not sure how both would fail & it be the fault of both apps. Also, when directly connected to the 895L via wifi, the DLNA shares show up. Indicating it isn't a problem with the 895L at all. I even switched to directly connecting my Xbox One via wifi to the 895L & the share shows up. The only time it doesn't is while connected to the 880L.

The issue has only appeared in products under bridge mode. I do not know the reasons why, but in DD-WRT it apparently is an issue that many people experienced & it's just been ignored since it's a fringe use (a bridge). I originally had a Rev A of the 1522 but when that went down I got a refurb from DLink that was a Rev B & that's what I'm using today. Both had no issues with seeing DLNA shares.

I honestly don't see how setting up the 880L as a router would do anything other than confirm that bridge mode is the issue. If you'd like me to do that I can, but I'm not sure how that will help with troubleshooting.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #70 on: March 15, 2017, 08:32:28 AM »

Might help confirm that problem is seen only in bridge mode or maybe in router mode. If it works in router mode then we can narrow it down to bridge mode only and would help D-Link determine if maybe a FW issue or maybe your unit maybe faulty. If they can't reproduce it, then maybe an issue with your unit only and bridge mode maybe ok. This is something that I would have D-Link support look at your unit and test it out.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Tario70

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #71 on: March 15, 2017, 09:14:29 AM »

Might help confirm that problem is seen only in bridge mode or maybe in router mode. If it works in router mode then we can narrow it down to bridge mode only and would help D-Link determine if maybe a FW issue or maybe your unit maybe faulty. If they can't reproduce it, then maybe an issue with your unit only and bridge mode maybe ok. This is something that I would have D-Link support look at your unit and test it out.

I'll try to give it a shot this week. I'll reset the router & then set it up so that it will act similarly to the 895L so I won't have to change much.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #72 on: March 15, 2017, 09:51:23 AM »

Ok, I'l drag out my DIR-868L and put it in bridge mode. I'm using the 880L has a main router currently. Trying to help test a camera that I'm having problems with.  ::)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #73 on: March 15, 2017, 10:01:59 AM »

I might have you use teamviewer with me and have you check my Serviio configuration just to make sure it's set up right. I'm still not sure about that app.
Is Plex something else I can install and try?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Tario70

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #74 on: March 15, 2017, 10:04:32 AM »

I might have you use teamviewer with me and have you check my Serviio configuration just to make sure it's set up right. I'm still not sure about that app.
Is Plex something else I can install and try?

Yep, Plex is also free. https://www.plex.tv/

I don't use it because I don't like that I can't turn off transcoding. It's automatic on Plex with no way to disable it. Could totally do a Teamviewer share if you want at some point.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6