• November 13, 2019, 12:43:20 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6

Author Topic: Setup as a Bridge  (Read 12465 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #45 on: March 09, 2017, 06:37:11 AM »

Ok, good details and info. I'll have D-Link review this. I'll try this out this weekend as well to confirm with my 890L.

Just curious, do you have a different main host router, maybe your old one?
Does the 895L have bridge mode? I can't remember.  ???
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Tario70

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #46 on: March 09, 2017, 06:54:07 AM »

Ok, good details and info. I'll have D-Link review this. I'll try this out this weekend as well to confirm with my 890L.

Just curious, do you have a different main host router, maybe your old one?
Does the 895L have bridge mode? I can't remember.  ???

Thanks & thanks for looking at this. I'm really at a loss for the cause.

One more addition, the blu-ray player is an LG BD-670. On the Xbox One I used the Media Player app & the VLC app. While connected to the 1522, the Media Player app found my DLNA share in under a minute, while VLC took about 2-3 minutes. While connected to the 880L neither app found the DLNA share after a full 10 minutes.

My old router is a DIR-825 (I keep coming back to DLink as they're the only ones that will allow me to do Wake-on-Wan). I guess I could fire that up & see, but that's on similar firmware to the DAP-1522. Plus I never had an issue streaming via this same setup with it. I guess this would be another way to point to the 880L as the culprit but I think the troubleshooting done has already done that.

Let me know what you'd like me to try.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #47 on: March 09, 2017, 07:05:33 AM »

If you have some time, put the 825 online and connect the 880L to it and test.

Does the 895L have wireless bridge mode?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Tario70

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #48 on: March 09, 2017, 07:30:25 AM »

If you have some time, put the 825 online and connect the 880L to it and test.

Does the 895L have wireless bridge mode?

I'll see about doing that tonight. Have to find the 825 first! Unfortunately I'm off to work again so it won't be until later that I could try this.

Doesn't look like the 895L has a bridge mode. Just a straight router. Went through the docs & the UI, no options I could find.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #49 on: March 09, 2017, 07:50:06 AM »

Ok, Let us know the results when you have time on the 825.

I'll get this set up this weekend to confirm...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Gattsu

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 3 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 139
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #50 on: March 09, 2017, 08:33:05 AM »

Hello,

Well, I did another test with 895L acting as my main router and 880L bridging off it. I stated previously the DHCP or DNLA were slower than usual. It was running slower because the Channel was on "Auto" mode. After changing that to a static channel 6, it connected right away. Kodi (DNLA client) was able to detect the service across the wireless bridge on both 2.4 and 5.0 GHz.

If you have not already done so, set a good channel, 1, 6 or 11 are recommended.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #51 on: March 09, 2017, 08:34:24 AM »

Can you install this SW that he's using as a test and see if you can reproduce this issue using that SW?

Hello,

Well, I did another test with 895L acting as my main router and 880L bridging off it. I stated previously the DHCP or DNLA were slower than usual. It was running slower because the Channel was on "Auto" mode. After changing that to a static channel 6, it connected right away. Kodi (DNLA client) was able to detect the service across the wireless bridge on both 2.4 and 5.0 GHz.

If you have not already done so, set a good channel, 1, 6 or 11 are recommended.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Gattsu

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 3 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 139
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #52 on: March 09, 2017, 08:39:03 AM »

Yea I can set that up as DNLA server for testing.

I have been using DNS-1250-04 as my DNLA server.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #53 on: March 09, 2017, 08:44:44 AM »

I'll be trying the SW with my DNS-345 this weekend.  ::)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Tario70

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #54 on: March 09, 2017, 09:21:46 AM »

Hello,

Well, I did another test with 895L acting as my main router and 880L bridging off it. I stated previously the DHCP or DNLA were slower than usual. It was running slower because the Channel was on "Auto" mode. After changing that to a static channel 6, it connected right away. Kodi (DNLA client) was able to detect the service across the wireless bridge on both 2.4 and 5.0 GHz.

If you have not already done so, set a good channel, 1, 6 or 11 are recommended.

So on the 895L select a channel instead of Auto? Will try this.

Still doesn't explain why after 10 minutes it doesn't show up.

I have 2 homework assignments. Try changing the channel on the 895L to 1, 6, or 11 & Try connecting the 880L to the 825.

Thanks again.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2017, 11:07:18 AM by Tario70 »
Logged

Tario70

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #55 on: March 09, 2017, 09:22:33 AM »

Yea I can set that up as DNLA server for testing.

I have been using DNS-1250-04 as my DNLA server.

Just as an FYI, I've just been using software on my PC as the DLNA server.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #56 on: March 09, 2017, 04:32:20 PM »

Ok I installed the SW on a Windows 7 PC. Will do some playing around tonite and this weekend. I won't be able to switch to my 880L in bridge mode until weekend. IT's running mas main host router currently.  ;D
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Tario70

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #57 on: March 09, 2017, 07:06:00 PM »

Okay, Troubleshooting update

Tried several different choices on changing the channel on the 5Ghz option.

Channels I tried:
  • 149
  • 157
  • 165

Waiting up to 10 minutes after making the changes, booting up the Xbox One & the Blu-ray that are connected to the 880L & no DLNA share. The SMB share did appear within a minute.

Dug out the DIR-825 I have. While the Xbox & the Blu-Ray were connected via the 880L, 10 minutes on the stop watch, no DLNA share. For kicks I switched out the 880L with the 1522 & within a minute the DLNA share appeared.

As a completely off the wall try, in a VM on my PC I installed Plex & fired it up under normal setup (895L -> 1522) & the Plex DLNA share showed up. Removed the 1522 & hooked up the 880L, no Plex DLNA share.

I just don't think that as a bridge the 880L will show a DLNA share. For whatever reason it fails every single time.
« Last Edit: March 10, 2017, 08:59:53 AM by Tario70 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #58 on: March 10, 2017, 06:15:07 AM »

Ok, great details. I'll get this to D-Link for review. I'll be looking at my 880L this weekend. Hope this can be fixed.  :-\
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #59 on: March 11, 2017, 03:40:00 PM »

Well I presume that I may not have this Serviio program set up right as I've set a few resources in the app and the app says it's running.
While in Windows 10, I can see the Serviio listed under media and devices in the Networking windows. If select the serviio PC here, it launches Windows Media player and no files is found for this PC/app. This is on a LAN wired connected. Same thing happens if I connect to the 880L in bridge mode. Using the default user for the same PC, I can see and view windows default media files on the PC with Serviio. Both wired LAN and Windows 10 PC connected to bridge.

I see unknown devices listed in the Serviio app and can't edit anything or change the names. Something else I need to do to get Media Player in Windows to see files I've shared out with this Serviio app on my Windows 7 PC? Both PCs are connected on the same switch when LAN wired.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6