• September 19, 2020, 10:08:02 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Configuring DAP-1360 as an accesspoint for GPON 2516 modem/router  (Read 2862 times)

ektorbarajas

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • DJ ektorBarajas

Hi.

I've seen this post:
Trouble Configuring DAP-1360 as an additional AP to main router (DGL-4500)
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=60402.0
And also this post:
Bridge Mode vs Relay vs Access Point (AP)/Routers vs Dedicated Access Points AP
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=50738.0
and the external link embedded in the post:
Networking 101: When To Use (And Not Use) A Network Repeater
https://www.dslreports.com/shownews/Networking-101-When-To-Use-And-Not-Use-A-Network-Repeater-136806

Currenly I have my DAP-1360 as a repeater/rage extender for my GPON 2516. The GPON 21516 is placed at the 1st floor of my house and the DAP-1360 at the 2nd floor exactly above the GPON 21516 (since that was the spot with better WiFi signal)

But since I'm constantly experiencing random problems like not a seamlessly roaming, very small speed, smart TV from 1st floor connecting to DAP-1360 even with the MAC filtering. I decided to change my network setup and will have ethernet cable installed to connect the DAP-1360 to an ethernet port of the GPON 2156.

My ISP will do that tomorrow (setup the cable) but I will do the rest (configuration).
My ISP can do the configuration also but since that is another extra charge and I've some WiFi & network knowledge (basic) I decided to DIY

So for what I've read in above mentioned posts is that I can setup my DAP-1360 as an access point with the same SSSID and password and what is suggested is to have the DAP-1360 and GPON 2516 in different channels.

But I'd appreciate further advise about how to correctly and properly have my new setup up and going

Here some additional information:
GPON WiFi internal IP is 192.168.15.1 (mask 255.255.255.0
it can assign IPs from 192.168.15.10 up to .251
DHCP Lease: 3600 minutes

Wifi:
mode: N
Channel: Auto
SSID Broadcaste: yes
security: WPA2 AES
Max clients: 50 (is the max accepted by the device)

So to properly setup my DAP-1360 as an AP and have roaming then I have to
Change at GPON the channel from auto to a fixed channel (1, 6 or 11), for example 1

Then setup the DAP-1360 in AP Mode and:
With a fixed IP, for example: 192.168.15.2 (or any ip that is NOT automatically assigned by the DHCP, so avoid using from 10 to 251)
the same SSID as GPON
the same password and security ad GPON
and to set the channel manually (1, 6 or 11) to be different than the channel used by GPON, for example 11

Anything else that I'm missing? or any suggestion?

Thanks
« Last Edit: June 16, 2016, 12:58:53 PM by ektorbarajas »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49186
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Configuring DAP-1360 as an accesspoint for GPON 2516 modem/router
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2016, 09:50:03 AM »

What is the distance between the GPON wifi and the DAP? If 2.4Ghz, should be greater than 20Ft on placement between the GPON and DAP.
I would set up the DAP as a wired AP if you can using same SSID and PW, just different channels. Similar to this:
Turning a router into an AP.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

ektorbarajas

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • DJ ektorBarajas
Re: Configuring DAP-1360 as an accesspoint for GPON 2516 modem/router
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2016, 10:00:29 PM »

Hi FurryNutz.

Thanks for the information, but it seems that few of that information applies to the DAP-1360 when it is configured as AP (since this DAP is not a router)

The distance between the GPON and the DAP is less than 20Ft, it's like 9 or 10 feet since the GPON is at 1st floor and the DAP exactly above the GPON but at the 2nd floor

Ia managed to setup the DAP as an access point and it appears that this new setup is working fine  :) I've done some testings with my laptop and my smartphone from different rooms at the 2nd floor and now the WiFi is more stable and faster ;D

I've been running an HD 1080p video from youtube on my 2nd floor Smart TV, the video is 20 minutes long and played 100% flawless, with he previous setup of the DAP as a repeater HD videos were unplayable at all  :D

Will still need to do some testing on my 1st floor, but I guess that everything will be fine.

Thanks & Regards
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49186
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Configuring DAP-1360 as an accesspoint for GPON 2516 modem/router
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2016, 12:15:15 PM »

Kind of close for two APs to be running together.

As long as it's running well. Should be fine.

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!