• September 17, 2019, 03:41:41 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Login from IP based in Russia?  (Read 5136 times)

Natey2

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Login from IP based in Russia?
« on: December 10, 2015, 08:36:49 AM »

My camera logs indicate:
2015-12-08 22:00:32 User from 77.40.115.187 login failed & lock web service

Is someone from Russia trying to login to my camera or my dlink account?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2015, 09:15:42 AM »

How are you determining the location? Domain Tools?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2015, 09:35:52 AM »

You might want to filter out 77.* incoming web traffic in your router.

Is your camera on port 80 and publicly accessible through your router?
Logged

Natey2

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2015, 08:05:33 AM »

Port 80 is visible to the public :(
I wonder how that happened during this installation process.
I'm usually quite good about keeping common ports closed to the public.
Logged

Natey2

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2015, 08:32:18 AM »

How are you determining the location? Domain Tools?

All NetTools, SmartWhois.
There are other services out there that will geo-map an IP address to a geographical location.
« Last Edit: December 14, 2015, 08:38:48 AM by Natey2 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2015, 09:11:38 AM »

And what is your geographical location?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

cmontyburns

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 194
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2015, 02:19:03 PM »

It would be funny if he/she is in Russia.   ;)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2015, 02:25:12 PM »

 ::)

It would be funny if he/she is in Russia.   ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Natey2

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #8 on: December 15, 2015, 12:31:43 PM »

And what is your geographical location?

Southern California.
If I block Port 80, will mydlink.com still be able to access my camera for me to view online?
« Last Edit: December 15, 2015, 12:33:58 PM by Natey2 »
Logged

Natey2

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #9 on: December 16, 2015, 10:55:19 AM »

It would be funny if he/she is in Russia.   ;)

Maybe the guy in Russia who's accessing (trying to, at least) my camera will alert me via e-mail if he sees any unusual activity.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #10 on: December 16, 2015, 11:03:16 AM »

I wonder if you get a new ISP IP address on the WAN side of the router, if the IP address report will stop?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Natey2

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2015, 09:55:22 PM »

I wonder if you get a new ISP IP address on the WAN side of the router, if the IP address report will stop?
Any IP I can get will be within my ISP's range of IPs, and I suspect people are just scanning common ports over IP ranges.
Now, I have someone from France and someone from New York trying to access my camera:

2015-12-23 17:24:11 User from 85.25.43.227 login failed & lock web service
2015-12-27 01:56:29 User from 104.238.135.26 login failed & lock web service

Do you guys run your cameras on port 80 as well?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #12 on: December 29, 2015, 10:53:21 AM »

What is the Mfr and model of the main host router and ISP modem?

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Natey2

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #13 on: January 01, 2016, 07:34:04 PM »

Linksys N900
Motorola SB6141 (mine, not ISP-provided)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #14 on: January 02, 2016, 10:14:58 AM »

Could be that the camera is picking up traffic and attempted log in and just reporting it.

Might have the ISP give you a new IP address on the modem and see what happens.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1] 2