• October 28, 2020, 10:29:40 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Login from IP based in Russia?  (Read 5811 times)

Natey2

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Login from IP based in Russia?
« on: December 10, 2015, 08:36:49 AM »

My camera logs indicate:
2015-12-08 22:00:32 User from 77.40.115.187 login failed & lock web service

Is someone from Russia trying to login to my camera or my dlink account?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49296
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2015, 09:15:42 AM »

How are you determining the location? Domain Tools?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2192
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2015, 09:35:52 AM »

You might want to filter out 77.* incoming web traffic in your router.

Is your camera on port 80 and publicly accessible through your router?
Logged

Natey2

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2015, 08:05:33 AM »

Port 80 is visible to the public :(
I wonder how that happened during this installation process.
I'm usually quite good about keeping common ports closed to the public.
Logged

Natey2

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2015, 08:32:18 AM »

How are you determining the location? Domain Tools?

All NetTools, SmartWhois.
There are other services out there that will geo-map an IP address to a geographical location.
« Last Edit: December 14, 2015, 08:38:48 AM by Natey2 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49296
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2015, 09:11:38 AM »

And what is your geographical location?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

cmontyburns

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 194
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2015, 02:19:03 PM »

It would be funny if he/she is in Russia.   ;)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49296
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2015, 02:25:12 PM »

 ::)

It would be funny if he/she is in Russia.   ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Natey2

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #8 on: December 15, 2015, 12:31:43 PM »

And what is your geographical location?

Southern California.
If I block Port 80, will mydlink.com still be able to access my camera for me to view online?
« Last Edit: December 15, 2015, 12:33:58 PM by Natey2 »
Logged

Natey2

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #9 on: December 16, 2015, 10:55:19 AM »

It would be funny if he/she is in Russia.   ;)

Maybe the guy in Russia who's accessing (trying to, at least) my camera will alert me via e-mail if he sees any unusual activity.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49296
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #10 on: December 16, 2015, 11:03:16 AM »

I wonder if you get a new ISP IP address on the WAN side of the router, if the IP address report will stop?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Natey2

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2015, 09:55:22 PM »

I wonder if you get a new ISP IP address on the WAN side of the router, if the IP address report will stop?
Any IP I can get will be within my ISP's range of IPs, and I suspect people are just scanning common ports over IP ranges.
Now, I have someone from France and someone from New York trying to access my camera:

2015-12-23 17:24:11 User from 85.25.43.227 login failed & lock web service
2015-12-27 01:56:29 User from 104.238.135.26 login failed & lock web service

Do you guys run your cameras on port 80 as well?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49296
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #12 on: December 29, 2015, 10:53:21 AM »

What is the Mfr and model of the main host router and ISP modem?

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Natey2

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #13 on: January 01, 2016, 07:34:04 PM »

Linksys N900
Motorola SB6141 (mine, not ISP-provided)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49296
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Login from IP based in Russia?
« Reply #14 on: January 02, 2016, 10:14:58 AM »

Could be that the camera is picking up traffic and attempted log in and just reporting it.

Might have the ISP give you a new IP address on the modem and see what happens.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: [1] 2