• March 30, 2020, 10:49:45 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: DIR-615 E1 and IPV6  (Read 6464 times)

Gary61

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
DIR-615 E1 and IPV6
« on: November 14, 2015, 12:06:44 PM »

DIR-615
Hardware Version: E1
Firmware Version: 5.01NA

My ISP (Cox) just turned on IPV6 in our area and I'm having problems setting up my DIR-615 to work with it. I have confirmed that
I can pull a IPV6 address by bypassing the router and directly connect my SB6141 to my computer and it will give me access
to IPV6 sites.

Now when I connect it to the router it seems to hand out IPV6 address to all the computers but it won't connect to IPV6 sites.

I'm trying to figure out if this is a problem with the router or my ISP.

Here are my IPV6 setting for my router.

IPv6

IPv6 CONNECTION TYPE: DHCPv6
IPv6 DNS SETTINGS : Obtain IPv6 DNS server address automatically
LAN IPv6 ADDRESS SETTINGS : Enable DHCP-PD X
ADDRESS AUTOCONFIGURATION SETTINGS:
Enable Autoconfiguration : X
Autoconfiguration Type : Stateless
Router Advertisement Lifetim: 30 minutes
   



IPv6 Network Information

IPv6 Connection Information

IPv6 Connection Type : DHCPv6
Network Status : Connected
WAN IPv6 Address : 2600:8801:ff0a:200:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx/64
IPv6 Default Gateway : none
LAN IPv6 Address : 2600:8801:d200:b5:xxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx/64
LAN IPv6 Link-Local Address : fe80::226:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx/64
Primary DNS Address : 2001:578:3f::30
Secondary DNS Address : 2001:578:3f:1::30
DHCP-PD :Enabled
IPv6 network assigned
by DHCP-PD : 2600:8801:xxx:xx::/64

Are there any setting in the router that I'm missing?

Thanks
« Last Edit: November 15, 2015, 07:30:13 AM by Gary61 »
Logged
DIR-655
Hardware Version: C1
Firmware Version: 3.00

Hard Harry

  • Guest
Re: DIR-615 E1 and IPV6
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2015, 06:00:02 AM »

With everything hooked up, try going here and posting the results. Only include the first two sections, if any, of the IPv6 address for privacy reasons.
Logged

Gary61

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: DIR-615 E1 and IPV6
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2015, 07:22:04 AM »

IPv4    Supported    
Address    98.176.xxx.xxx    
Hostname    ip98-176-xxx-xxx.sd.sd.cox.net    
ISP    Cox Communications Inc. [United States]    
IPv6 connectivity
IPv6    Not supported    
Address       
Type       
SLAAC       
ICMP       
Hostname       
ISP       
Score
4 / 20
Browser
Default    IPv4    
Fallback    No    
DNS
DNS4 + IP6    Unreachable    
DNS6 + IP4    Reachable    
DNS6 + IP6    Unreachable


Would a screenshot be better?
Logged
DIR-655
Hardware Version: C1
Firmware Version: 3.00

PacketTracer

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
Re: DIR-615 E1 and IPV6
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2015, 08:17:21 AM »

Hi,

it's striking that your WAN interface doesn't have an IPv6 Default Gateway:

Quote
WAN IPv6 Address : 2600:8801:ff0a:200:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx/64
IPv6 Default Gateway : none

Hence, before checking IPv6 connectivity from a LAN client behind your router, first check if your router itself has WAN IPv6 connectivity.

In the Web GUI of your router choose TOOLS | SYSTEM CHECK and try an IPv6 PING TEST e.g. for Google's public IPv6 DNS server addresses (2001:4860:4860::8888 or 2001:4860:4860::8844) which respond to pings.

In case of a negative result ask your ISP which WAN connection setup is needed (because DHCPv6 can't provide a default gateway) - maybe either choosing 'Stateless Autoconfiguration' or 'Static IPv6' is the choice needed for IPv6 CONNECTION TYPE.
Logged

Gary61

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: DIR-615 E1 and IPV6
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2015, 08:35:19 AM »

Hi,

it's striking that your WAN interface doesn't have an IPv6 Default Gateway:

Quote
WAN IPv6 Address : 2600:8801:ff0a:200:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx/64
IPv6 Default Gateway : none

Hence, before checking IPv6 connectivity from a LAN client behind your router, first check if your router itself has WAN IPv6 connectivity.

In the Web GUI of your router choose TOOLS | SYSTEM CHECK and try an IPv6 PING TEST e.g. for Google's public IPv6 DNS server addresses (2001:4860:4860::8888 or 2001:4860:4860::8844) which respond to pings.

In case of a negative result ask your ISP which WAN connection setup is needed (because DHCPv6 can't provide a default gateway) - maybe either choosing 'Stateless Autoconfiguration' or 'Static IPv6' is the choice needed for IPv6 CONNECTION TYPE.

It's weird because when I first reboot the router I'll get the IPv6 Default Gateway, but it soon disappears from the router status page.

When I ping those it fails.
Logged
DIR-655
Hardware Version: C1
Firmware Version: 3.00

PacketTracer

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
Re: DIR-615 E1 and IPV6
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2015, 08:37:20 AM »

Will it help if you permanently change IPv6 CONNECTION TYPE to 'Stateless Autoconfiguration'? Check it.
Logged

Gary61

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: DIR-615 E1 and IPV6
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2015, 08:52:29 AM »

I'll try that in a few hours when I can get full access to the main computer.

Here's a screenshot of the router status page with a IPv6 Default Gateway.

This is from last week.

Logged
DIR-655
Hardware Version: C1
Firmware Version: 3.00

PacketTracer

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
Re: DIR-615 E1 and IPV6
« Reply #7 on: November 15, 2015, 09:03:19 AM »

And while the IPv6 Default Gateway is present, does a ping to Google's DNS servers from within your router's web gui work?
Logged

Gary61

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: DIR-615 E1 and IPV6
« Reply #8 on: November 15, 2015, 09:31:32 AM »

I don't believe it did, I'll have to check next time I change the settings and see if it will.

Here's the setting for the Stateless Autoconfiguration

IPv6 Connection Type :Stateless Autoconfiguration
Network Status :Disconnected
WAN IPv6 Address :None
IPv6 Default Gateway :none
LAN IPv6 Address :2600:8801:d200:b5:226:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx/64
LAN IPv6 Link-Local Address :fe80::226:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx/64
Primary DNS Address :None
Secondary DNS Address :None
DHCP-PD :Enabled
IPv6 network assigned
by DHCP-PD :2600:8801:xxx:xx::/64

When in this configuration I was able to ping google's DNS servers with success.

And it failed the ipv6-test website.
Logged
DIR-655
Hardware Version: C1
Firmware Version: 3.00

PacketTracer

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
Re: DIR-615 E1 and IPV6
« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2015, 10:01:49 AM »

Well, another matter of concern might be the presence of an IPv6 firewall within your router. According to the manual (last available version from 2013) it shouldn't have one (which is bad for your LAN clients, because with IPv6 they can be directly accessed from the Internet, so they should have host based firewalls). But maybe with the latest firmware, there is a builtin IPv6 firewall. In this case you have to activate it and configure a single rule that allows all IPv6 traffic LAN --> WAN (that's the strange thing with D-Link firewalls not providing a foolproof working default setting).
Logged

Gary61

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: DIR-615 E1 and IPV6
« Reply #10 on: November 15, 2015, 12:45:01 PM »

And while the IPv6 Default Gateway is present, does a ping to Google's DNS servers from within your router's web gui work?
I just changed it back to DHCPv6 and pinged google dns servers inside my routers gui and it was successful while the gateway was present.

IPv6 Default Gateway :fe80::214:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx

But when I test my connection at the ipv6-test web site it still shows:
IPv6 connectivity
IPv6    Not supported

Logged
DIR-655
Hardware Version: C1
Firmware Version: 3.00

PacketTracer

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
Re: DIR-615 E1 and IPV6
« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2015, 01:02:54 PM »

What about my question concerning an ipv6 firewall inside your DIR-615?
Logged

Gary61

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: DIR-615 E1 and IPV6
« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2015, 01:28:57 PM »

What about my question concerning an ipv6 firewall inside your DIR-615?
I didn't see anything in Advanced>Firewall Settings that pertain to ipv6.
Logged
DIR-655
Hardware Version: C1
Firmware Version: 3.00

Hard Harry

  • Guest
Re: DIR-615 E1 and IPV6
« Reply #13 on: November 15, 2015, 02:27:10 PM »

What state are you in? Native IPv6 is just being rolled out and only available in 4 Cox areas. I know because I also have Cox and waiting desperately for it to come to my state.

Is it possible the DHCPv6 server is not giving you a complete IPv6 block. A good thread to check out is the one on DSLR.

Also, I think it could be a issue with the firewall routing the complex /64 to the LAN.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48520
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-615 E1 and IPV6
« Reply #14 on: November 15, 2015, 02:32:23 PM »

Also a side note, this model router is of older generation code. The code may to be fully developed as newer generation routers are. I know there was a few changes in FW for other model routers regarding IPv6 over the years and I don't think the 615 received any of these updates.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: [1] 2