• July 15, 2019, 09:11:56 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Camera DDNS for use in router  (Read 5981 times)

bimo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Camera DDNS for use in router
« on: September 10, 2015, 05:27:10 PM »

I have a non D-link router and 4 DCS 932L cameras. The router only has DynDns to use which I don't have an account.
My question is can I set D-Link DDNS in one camera, or all, and it will keep the router IP updated?
All cameras are up and running, but if my router IP changes I'm out of luck.
Thanks for any advice...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47562
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2015, 07:13:06 AM »

Check the user manual for DDNS. Some offer this feature ans some don't.

Any DDNS change depending on where they are set, will effect that device. Setting DDNS on a camera, if supported, will not update the router. It's up to the router to update when needed.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bimo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2015, 11:03:38 AM »

Thanks for the reply.
If D-Link free DDNS is set in my DCS-932L using an internal IP like 192.168.0.2, how does the DDNS update the camera without using the external IP of the router?
There's probably thousands+ cameras with the same internal IP on the Internet.
Maybe this DDNS setting on the cameras are just for local viewing and not over Internet.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47562
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2015, 11:11:04 AM »

It gets the DDNS thru the router and not from the router. The router does the NAT. Look in the user manual to see if this is available and if there is any configurations.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bimo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2015, 11:54:29 AM »

I understand what you are saying. However, my router has only DYN as an option for a DDNS server. My 4 D-Link DCS-932L cameras all have an option for the free D-Link DDNS. If the cameras are set to their respective IPs and use the D-Link DDNS on each and the router's external IP changes, how do the cameras get updated for viewing outside the LAN? I'm beginning to think the DDNS settings on the cameras are pretty much useless which makes my router the same.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47562
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2015, 12:47:04 PM »

Are you using mydlink.com apps and services or a direct connection?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bimo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2015, 12:57:50 PM »

I don't think I can use MyDlink app on iPhone since I'm not useing a D-Link router. I use another camera viewer app which works great as long as the router's IP doesn't change.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47562
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2015, 01:09:53 PM »

DLink cameras are not D-Link router dependent. I've used my DCS-933L with other branded routers on my iPhone 6P and the mydlink app.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bimo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #8 on: September 11, 2015, 01:18:52 PM »

Okay, understand. Did you use an DDNS service on your non D-Link routers or cameras?
Just trying to set-up my other cam viewer which requires a DDNS service.
Thanks for your help.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47562
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #9 on: September 11, 2015, 01:22:40 PM »

I don't use DDNS services so no. Nothing but DNS from the ISP or occasionally OpenDNS addresses set on the router is all for test reproduction.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

robert-e

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #10 on: September 11, 2015, 01:25:37 PM »

I recently had to use a dynamic dns service, since mydlink.com does not support the linux OS.  Here is what I did:

-sign up with a ddns service, taking particular note of any addessing/password requirements; particularly the address that you will use in your router.

-log into your camera as admin.  Under the network tab, set a static ip address that is outside of those that can be assigned by your router.  For ex. suppose your router has ip address of 192.168.150.1, and can (using dhcp) assign address starting at 192.168.150.100 to 192.168.150.150.  You would set the static ip address to something below that range, say for 192.168.150.40 or some such.  I then "saved" settings in the camera.  I also setup a "username" and password, so as not required to login as admin all the time.

-log onto your router, and (how depends on your router), set up the dynamic dns, by entering the dynamic dns servers ip address info that you abtained when you signed up.  Then setup port forwarding to the static ip address of your camera (that you set as per above).  Choose port 80...I have noted that in past posts reports that ports other than 80 do not work with the dcs932l. As an aside, I also set up a ntp time server on both the router and camera.  Reboot both the camera and the router...powering off will do.

In your browser, browse to the dynamic dns service address, and when it connects to your camera, make a bookmark and perhaps save the password.  I login as the username as noted

I use my camera for monitoring the temp. on my furnace, and have not enabled java on the camera, so I do not use video streaming.  You may want to try that.

Google "stevejenkins" and "afraid" for specific information regarding the "afraid" free ddns service.

Regards,
Bob
Logged

bimo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #11 on: September 11, 2015, 01:37:15 PM »

Great info, thanks. My problem is that my router ONLY allows DYN to be used as the DDNS service. They want $40 per year and I kinda don't want to pay that much when there are lots cheaper services. Just trying to figure a way to use my D-Link cameras free DDNS service.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47562
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #12 on: September 11, 2015, 01:43:45 PM »

What Mfr and model router do you have?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bimo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #13 on: September 11, 2015, 02:09:34 PM »

Netgear NDR3700
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47562
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #14 on: September 11, 2015, 02:38:52 PM »

WNDR3700?
Is it running OEM FW? I have this router so I can help to reproduce this with my DCS-933L. Mine has last available FW I think
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1] 2