• December 15, 2019, 06:49:43 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Camera DDNS for use in router  (Read 6168 times)

bimo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #15 on: September 11, 2015, 03:02:46 PM »

Yes, the router is V1.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47991
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #16 on: September 11, 2015, 03:06:34 PM »

I'll load up mine and put it online and see how my camera connects. I think it will connect fine as all I have to do is to reboot the camera and use the same SSID and PW and wireless configuration. I'll let you know.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

robert-e

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #17 on: September 11, 2015, 03:20:45 PM »

I tried to post this but it did not make it:  so again, another option is to flash dd-wrt onto your router.  Look at this link:  http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Netgear_WNDR3700
That said, be sure that you are comfortable with the flash process.  Read the instructions CAREFULLY, and print them out first, if need be. 

I recently purchaced a linksys ea4600 router to replace an old dlink 524, and it too limits me to one ddns service, therefore I intend to put ddwrt on it, since ddwrt allows multiple ddns servies, and you can also do a custom one.  I don't know why companies do that sort of thing.  Perhaps there is some economic advantage? 

BTW, I have a couple of other older routers with ddwrt, and have been working well for over 8 years.

Regards,
Bob
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47991
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #18 on: September 11, 2015, 03:24:46 PM »

I'll check my 3700 thats got OEM FW loaded and see if my camera still connect. Maybe this will help avoid loading WRT FW as last resort. Always an option though.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bimo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #19 on: September 11, 2015, 04:26:40 PM »

Some says WRT cuts power down, some say it doesn't. Probably won't try it. My 3700 has the best range of any router I've used. Thanks for the help and have A great weekend.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47991
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #20 on: September 11, 2015, 04:52:07 PM »

Ok got the router set up:


Camera connected to my AC wireless AP thats wire connected to the Netgear router. I can view the LAN side video using the iPhone and the app. Netgear wireless radios are turned off. Ill have to test the WAN site when I'm away from home. Tomorrow.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47991
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #21 on: September 12, 2015, 02:40:51 PM »

DCS-933L can be seen from remote locations while it's connected thru my wireless AC AP thats connected to the NG 3700 router.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bimo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #22 on: September 14, 2015, 02:45:48 AM »

Sounds good. I'm also able to view my 4 932Ls remotely but, since I don't have an account with DYN and when my ISP gives me a different IP address I won't be able to view them.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47991
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #23 on: September 14, 2015, 06:38:19 AM »

If you connect up your cameras to the mydlink.com service, changing if your ISP address will not matter. If it changes you can still remotely view your cameras.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bimo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #24 on: September 14, 2015, 07:59:16 AM »

Thanks for the info. If you're talking about the mydlink app to use on iPhone it will work. I use another camera viewer, not mydlink, which will show all the cameras on one page or can show each individual, unlike mydlink which can only show one camera at a time.

Without being able to use No-Ip, which I have an account, on the 3700, I wouldn't be able to view the cameras if the ISP IP changed because all other viewers must use an DDNS service on the router to maintain contact.

I thought there might be a way to set the free D-Link DDNS in each camera without having to set DDNS in the router and the cameras would maintain their location even if the router changed IP address.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47991
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #25 on: September 14, 2015, 08:12:20 AM »

D-Links DDNS services are not free anymore. They close that last year I believe. You might contact them on the phone and talk to them and explain your needs and see what they can offer. As far as mydlink, it works with standard FW on the 3700 and using a different Mfr wireless AP.

Let us know if you find out anything. You might ask your ISP for a static IP for the WAN, then you'd be ok.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2015, 08:14:17 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

robert-e

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
Re: Camera DDNS for use in router
« Reply #26 on: September 14, 2015, 12:16:29 PM »

I seems to me that you have some choices:

-flash ddwrt (or tomato or openwrt) to you netgear router which give you a choice of ddns service

-find another router that offers you a better choice (Linksys wrt54g version 4, gl, and gs come to mind), and flash that to ddwrt...they are cheap at about $10 now.

-keep using your netgear and switch and pay for the ddns service it supports.

-find an equivalent router to the netgear, that supports choice; then sell your unusable netgear.  This will need some research.

-sell your non-dlink camera and continue to use mydlink.com

Furrynuts is corrent...dlink no longer has a free ddns service..I looked into that
last week.  For myself, I sometimes wich I had gone with the local fone companies monitoring service...lot less hassles, as it turns out.

Hope you get it all worked out.

Regards,
Bob
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]