• December 05, 2019, 07:00:55 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: DIR-850L freeze Once-Twice a day  (Read 6882 times)

loy1068

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
DIR-850L freeze Once-Twice a day
« on: May 24, 2015, 06:54:14 PM »

Hi, i have a DIR-850L with Hardware Version A1 and firmware 1.09SG. I try update to 1.12 still the same. I am in Asia country. Every night, the router will freeze, no ping and etc... but i have connected 3 units of DCS-932L (camera) with recording at PC (working while the router freeze). Internet connection to both LAN / WIFI will be dead. Power cycle the things and it work back for another day. Thanks...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-850L freeze Once-Twice a day
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2015, 08:01:20 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?
  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  Link> >FW Update Process
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have? Link> Speed Testing Sites
  • By-pass the main host router and check internet connection by connecting a wired LAN PC directly to the ISP modem to verify connection access and ISP speeds.
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router. Besure to log into the Admin account on the router.
  • Turn off TrueGigaBit Routing under Setup/Internet/Manual for those routers that have this feature for testing.
  • Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options, Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel. For the DGL-5500, review this for Streamboost information and settings: Furry's DGL-5500 Review
  • Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
  • Enable or Disable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) and test under Setup/Internet/Manual. Disable may help with speed performance on higher speed ISP services.
  • Turn on or off DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench and input new DNS addresses under Setup/Internet/Manual.
  • Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting and maintain consistency for applications that need to connect as well as mapped drives.
  • Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
  • If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only under Setup/IPv6.
  • Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall. Enable or Disable SPI to test.
  • Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules. Enable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming for routers that have a Media Server option. Disable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming if IPv6 or Media Server is not being used.
  • Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
  • WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
  • Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP Server feature. The DST setting is only needed in the NA region. Tools/Time.

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Ensure that different SSID names are used between each WiFi 2.4/5Ghz radios. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighbouring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz Routers only: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
  • 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N or AC on 5Ghz?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions. Try channel 48 or 149 on 5Ghz.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Ensure any devices with WiFi adapter drivers are updated.
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many? Use v3, its free.


Router Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
3-6' feet minimum safe distance between devices.
Placement on main level floor and central in the building and WELL ventilated is preferred. Not in basements or closets as building materials, or near by electronics devices could interfere or hinder good signal propagation.
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-basics/31083-smallnetbuilders-wireless-faq-the-essentials
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-850L freeze Once-Twice a day
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2015, 06:56:24 AM »

Any status on this?  ???

Hi, i have a DIR-850L with Hardware Version A1 and firmware 1.09SG. I try update to 1.12 still the same. I am in Asia country. Every night, the router will freeze, no ping and etc... but i have connected 3 units of DCS-932L (camera) with recording at PC (working while the router freeze). Internet connection to both LAN / WIFI will be dead. Power cycle the things and it work back for another day. Thanks...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

loy1068

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: DIR-850L freeze Once-Twice a day
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2015, 01:33:20 AM »

I tried everything stated. This time it hold slightly longer from 1 day freeze 1-2 times till 3 days freeze 1 time. I even restore to factory default and re-configure... still the same. I don't have any Cordless phone (no phone in fact except for the telco line). Only thing in the WIFI area would be the DCS-932L 3 units around my house which is more than 10 meters apart from each other.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-850L freeze Once-Twice a day
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2015, 06:53:16 AM »

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

loy1068

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: DIR-850L freeze Once-Twice a day
« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2015, 11:34:09 PM »

Hardware Version is A1
firmware : 1.12WW
Region: Malaysia

DSL internet
I have a tplink TD-W8961ND and have been configure as bridge mode (with DHCP off) so that the DIR-850L will dial it

thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-850L freeze Once-Twice a day
« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2015, 06:59:25 AM »

  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Ensure that different SSID names are used between each WiFi 2.4/5Ghz radios. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighbouring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N or AC on 5Ghz?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions. Try channel 48 or 149 on 5Ghz.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Ensure any devices with WiFi adapter drivers are updated.
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many? Use v3, its free.


Router Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
3-6' feet minimum safe distance between devices.
Placement on main level floor and central in the building and WELL ventilated is preferred. Not in basements or closets as building materials, or near by electronics devices could interfere or hinder good signal propagation.
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-basics/31083-smallnetbuilders-wireless-faq-the-essentials
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

loy1068

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: DIR-850L freeze Once-Twice a day
« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2015, 09:02:58 PM »

yeah.. all steps have been tried.. the temporary solution i came out is, buy a power timer ... auto-switch on/off the router and some given time. So far it works like charm...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-850L freeze Once-Twice a day
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2015, 08:28:01 PM »

Timers should not be used on a router. If the router is freezing or hanging, it means there is some sort of interference in your area or the router maybe faulty. If you can help us by answering some of the questions presented, maybe we can help you narrow down what the problem maybe.

I have never had the need to use a timer on any router I have tested.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

loy1068

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: DIR-850L freeze Once-Twice a day
« Reply #9 on: June 15, 2015, 09:26:09 PM »

  • 2.4/5Ghz used different SSID names and neighbour SSID name 
  • Wireless mode N?
  • currently set on 20Mhz
  • i used channel 1, 5Ghz not using due to did not have any device that can operate on 5Ghz
  • WPA-Personal
  • I have 3 WIFI DCS-932L cameras connected, 1 Desktop thru LAN , 1 DNS-320L NAS , and 1 Iphone 4s
  • not using any cordless phone or wired phone in the house
  • So far other routers in the area have weak signal , shouldn't be any problem


i place the router away from all electronics basically. around 4 feets apart. But 1 thing is everytime it hangs, i can't access the web interface for the router. Ping to that router is also lost. so basically i can only do power cycles. the power supply that supplied the Router is on is a Belkin surge protector. Will that causes anything?

1 thing to take note is that , i run a powerline LAN connection from Router to a TPLink modem due to modem placement is located at the back of the house (due to my telephone line is faulty inside the house and re-wiring is not possible). Router connect to the modem in bridge mode.

i do encounter is modem hang, but router is still accessible in LAN and i just need to re-boot the modem.

Thanks for the help.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-850L freeze Once-Twice a day
« Reply #10 on: June 16, 2015, 07:44:22 AM »

If you have a PL between the ISP modem and this router, this could be an problem. It's not recommended to have any 2ndary devcies between the ISP modem and main host router. It should always be a one line direct LAN cable connection.

If your not using the 5ghz radio, you can turn it off.

Try WPA2/AES only with auto 20/40Mhz channel width set. Test channel 11. Test the router directly connected to a wall out let to rule out the surge protector being a culprit.

Might set the WAN Port speed on the router to 100Mb and test.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

loy1068

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: DIR-850L freeze Once-Twice a day
« Reply #11 on: June 16, 2015, 09:02:28 PM »

ok.. i have set all necessary, let's see whether it will be ok . Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-850L freeze Once-Twice a day
« Reply #12 on: June 17, 2015, 07:35:20 AM »

Keep us posted on how it goes...Maybe someone and review your router settings with you using Teamviewer. Hope the change will fix this.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-850L freeze Once-Twice a day
« Reply #13 on: June 23, 2015, 11:06:02 AM »

Any status on this?  ???

ok.. i have set all necessary, let's see whether it will be ok . Thanks
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

loy1068

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: DIR-850L freeze Once-Twice a day
« Reply #14 on: June 23, 2015, 08:04:46 PM »

Well.. it has been few days.. no issues on the freeze... i change the WAN port speed from auto to 100M. Thanks
Logged
Pages: [1] 2