• November 28, 2020, 10:08:46 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: DIR-890L/R QOS - does it really work?  (Read 13247 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890L/R QOS - does it really work?
« Reply #15 on: September 17, 2015, 06:37:55 AM »

Wow, must be nice.  ::)
I'll ask and see if D-Link has any information on ISP speeds 1 and 2Gb. I think you'd be our first user with this kind of speed.  :o
You can input the following value in to the down link speed box and test: 2048000
Not sure if this router will support it.
Is the uplink speed the same?

That kind of ISP speed, you might be best to change in to the AP mode and run it as a wireless only AP.
Does your ISP service NAT already? If so, use it as your main host router and then set AP mode on the 890L.
Is there a Mfr and Model if the Fiber deice that the 890L is connected to? 

Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

spec07

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: DIR-890L/R QOS - does it really work?
« Reply #16 on: September 17, 2015, 06:12:33 PM »

Wow, must be nice.  ::)
I'll ask and see if D-Link has any information on ISP speeds 1 and 2Gb. I think you'd be our first user with this kind of speed.  :o
You can input the following value in to the down link speed box and test: 2048000
Not sure if this router will support it.
Is the uplink speed the same?

That kind of ISP speed, you might be best to change in to the AP mode and run it as a wireless only AP.
Does your ISP service NAT already? If so, use it as your main host router and then set AP mode on the 890L.
Is there a Mfr and Model if the Fiber deice that the 890L is connected to?

Thank you for your help! What you mean I should edit the following? Any idea what should be the value to be entered into uplink?
Uplink Speed (Mbps) = 2 -> change to?
Downlink Speed (Mbps) = 8 -> change to (2048000)?

I have actually tried changing both the uplink and downlink to 1000 and tried a speedtest via hardwire connection. The download and upload speed is the same as the default uplink and downlink speed 2 & 8 repectively.

I am using the modem which was provided by my ISP as the main modem which is set to bridge mode and connected to the DIR-890L which serves as my wireless router. The modem which was provided by my ISP is Zhone zNID 2400 series. http://www.zhone.com/products/ZNID-GE-24xx/

Not too sure what you meant by NAT and AP mode as well? What you meant is to set the DIR-890L to AP mode? Does it still applies with my current connection and configuration? Please forgive me as I am quite IT illiterate.

Cheers!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890L/R QOS - does it really work?
« Reply #17 on: September 18, 2015, 07:12:27 AM »

What is your ISP Uplink speed that you pay for? We know it's 2Gb down, whats the UP?
You'll have to do a factory reset, walk thru the set up wizard, when that completes, go immediately into the QoS settings and change the values. We know there is a problem with QoS settings not working after a period of time and not saving any changes. The only way I've been able to get around this is to factory reset, set up wizard, then go in and make changes to the QoS settings.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890L/R QOS - does it really work?
« Reply #18 on: September 18, 2015, 10:59:53 AM »

WAN and LAN Connection Rates and ISP Speeds

Hi guys,

I am on a 2Gbps fibre broadband internet plan right now. It with the latest firmware 1.08.B03.

My current DIR-890L default setting is as follows:
Uplink Speed (Mbps) = 2
Downlink Speed (Mbps) = 8

I was told I do not need to use QOS for such high speed internet anymore. Doing so might hinder the actual max throughput. Ideally I should turn off QOS entirely because it adds to the CPU load on the router which could potentially degrade my overall throughput. If the default is QOS enabled I would want to figure out how to turn it off.

Not sure if this statement is correct. If so, is there any options to turn this off?

Thank you.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890L/R QOS - does it really work?
« Reply #19 on: November 11, 2015, 07:24:47 PM »

New beta code. Should fix this. Working great for me:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=63787.0
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.
Pages: 1 [2]