• November 15, 2019, 01:11:22 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Setup bridge mode  (Read 25059 times)

Soundlover

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Setup bridge mode
« on: March 13, 2015, 08:00:11 AM »

Anyone can guide me how to setup this router with another same router in bridge mode? And what are the benefits?
Thanks.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup bridge mode
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2015, 08:31:00 AM »

You have to change from router mode to Bridge mode. Then you'll need to connect the bridge mode using 192.168.0.50 using a wired PC connected to the 868L in bridge mode. PC will need to be set up for a static IP address temporarily, 192.168.0.49 so you can access the 868L while connected to it in bridge mode. Log in and use the wireless to scan for SSIDs to connect it to. Select an SSID, then input the SSID password. Save settings. The 868L should connect and then any LAN wired devices connected to the 868L in bridge mode will get connectivity from the 868L in bridge mode.

Bridge Mode vs Relay vs Access Point (AP) / Routers vs Dedicated Access Points (AP)

Offers wireless connection via LAN wire for LAN wired devices.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Soundlover

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Setup bridge mode
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2015, 11:18:21 AM »

Done. Works perfectly. Thank you.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup bridge mode (RESOLVED)
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2015, 11:21:39 AM »

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Soundlover

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Setup bridge mode
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2015, 04:47:42 AM »

I connected many things to the bridged router and they all get internet instantly. What I cannot get is wifi from the bridged router. Is that not possible?
Thanks.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup bridge mode
« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2015, 07:31:17 AM »

Bridge mode only supports connections from itself to the main source AP it's connected to. It doesn't broadcast any AP mode signals for clients to connect to when in bridge mode.
« Last Edit: April 02, 2015, 10:46:47 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Soundlover

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Setup bridge mode
« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2015, 03:14:43 AM »

Ok, thought so.
Thanks.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup bridge mode
« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2015, 07:05:56 AM »

 ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Soundlover

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Setup bridge mode
« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2015, 08:31:51 AM »

Does hard disc connected to usb work in bridge mode?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup bridge mode
« Reply #9 on: April 13, 2015, 07:02:13 AM »

I think so, I haven't tried it...I can since mine is working in bridge mode. I'll try this tonight and report back what I find. It may only connect to the local LAN for resources.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

janroc

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Setup bridge mode
« Reply #10 on: June 14, 2015, 10:31:04 AM »

Can anybody guide me the menu how to find the bridge mode for a DIR-868L HW:B1 FW:2.03 ?
I am not able to find it.

//Jan
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup bridge mode
« Reply #11 on: June 16, 2015, 07:13:00 AM »

Rev B of the DIR-868L has a new UI, If Bridge mode is supported on Rev B, it should be under Internet/Settings type drop down menu I believe. If you don't see Bridge mode and you see AP mode, then bridge mode is not support on Rev B DIR-868L.

Can anybody guide me the menu how to find the bridge mode for a DIR-868L HW:B1 FW:2.03 ?
I am not able to find it.

//Jan
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

janroc

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Setup bridge mode
« Reply #12 on: June 16, 2015, 07:45:05 AM »

Rev B of the DIR-868L has a new UI, If Bridge mode is supported on Rev B, it should be under Internet/Settings type drop down menu I believe. If you don't see Bridge mode and you see AP mode, then bridge mode is not support on Rev B DIR-868L.

Can anybody guide me the menu how to find the bridge mode for a DIR-868L HW:B1 FW:2.03 ?
I am not able to find it.

//Jan

Thank you no bridge support in B1.

//Jan
[
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup bridge mode
« Reply #13 on: June 16, 2015, 07:56:53 AM »

If you need something that has bridge mode, please review a listing of available models that support it here:
 Bridge Mode vs Relay vs Access Point (AP) / Routers vs Dedicated Access Points (AP)

Good Luck.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

NP

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Setup bridge mode
« Reply #14 on: February 15, 2018, 01:40:00 AM »

Hi,
I am sorry to dig out this old thread, I want to connect one of the wireless router to the other router that is cable type with wireless capability placed at hall. How to config the wireless router dlink 868L with wireless bridge capability to connect the wireless network from the cable wireless modem and transmit the signal via lan cable plug into a desktop? can give a detail in sight?


You have to change from router mode to Bridge mode. Then you'll need to connect the bridge mode using 192.168.0.50 using a wired PC connected to the 868L in bridge mode. PC will need to be set up for a static IP address temporarily, 192.168.0.49 so you can access the 868L while connected to it in bridge mode. Log in and use the wireless to scan for SSIDs to connect it to. Select an SSID, then input the SSID password. Save settings. The 868L should connect and then any LAN wired devices connected to the 868L in bridge mode will get connectivity from the 868L in bridge mode.

Bridge Mode vs Relay vs Access Point (AP) / Routers vs Dedicated Access Points (AP)

Offers wireless connection via LAN wire for LAN wired devices.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2