• November 22, 2019, 08:25:38 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Setup bridge mode  (Read 25178 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup bridge mode
« Reply #15 on: February 15, 2018, 08:09:31 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

If you have a Rev A model 868L, then you can use wireless bridge mode:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65327.0
Sorry about the missing pictures in this post. The hosting site has corrupted my source files so i'll have to get new pictures posted. Good information though.



Hi,
I am sorry to dig out this old thread, I want to connect one of the wireless router to the other router that is cable type with wireless capability placed at hall. How to config the wireless router dlink 868L with wireless bridge capability to connect the wireless network from the cable wireless modem and transmit the signal via lan cable plug into a desktop? can give a detail in sight?


You have to change from router mode to Bridge mode. Then you'll need to connect the bridge mode using 192.168.0.50 using a wired PC connected to the 868L in bridge mode. PC will need to be set up for a static IP address temporarily, 192.168.0.49 so you can access the 868L while connected to it in bridge mode. Log in and use the wireless to scan for SSIDs to connect it to. Select an SSID, then input the SSID password. Save settings. The 868L should connect and then any LAN wired devices connected to the 868L in bridge mode will get connectivity from the 868L in bridge mode.

Bridge Mode vs Relay vs Access Point (AP) / Routers vs Dedicated Access Points (AP)

Offers wireless connection via LAN wire for LAN wired devices.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

NP

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Setup bridge mode
« Reply #16 on: February 15, 2018, 09:25:43 PM »

i am bridging a adsl wireless router hardwired to internet source frm socket to a dir 868L wirelessly, then 868L connected using lan cabke to ethernet cars of desktop. I used your method but when lan wired to a laptop, i cant get it received signal wirelessly and transmit it to the laptop using lan cable. Do i need to set static ip at the laptop or desktop when connected via lan cable?

Hi,
I am sorry to dig out this old thread, I want to connect one of the wireless router to the other router that is cable type with wireless capability placed at hall. How to config the wireless router dlink 868L with wireless bridge capability to connect the wireless network from the cable wireless modem and transmit the signal via lan cable plug into a desktop? can give a detail in sight?


You have to change from router mode to Bridge mode. Then you'll need to connect the bridge mode using 192.168.0.50 using a wired PC connected to the 868L in bridge mode. PC will need to be set up for a static IP address temporarily, 192.168.0.49 so you can access the 868L while connected to it in bridge mode. Log in and use the wireless to scan for SSIDs to connect it to. Select an SSID, then input the SSID password. Save settings. The 868L should connect and then any LAN wired devices connected to the 868L in bridge mode will get connectivity from the 868L in bridge mode.

Bridge Mode vs Relay vs Access Point (AP) / Routers vs Dedicated Access Points (AP)

Offers wireless connection via LAN wire for LAN wired devices.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup bridge mode
« Reply #17 on: February 16, 2018, 11:40:51 AM »

Need to set a Static IP address ON the laptop for when you configure the 868L for bridge mode since it doesn't hand off a DHCP IP address. Then you'll be able to access the 868Ls web page UI at 192.168.0.50.

Since your router has a 192.168.1.# pool, hope after it scans and connects to the host router, that it should connect then acquire a 192.168.1.something address, then you'll need to change the laptop back to Dynamic IP address and then it should get an IP address from the host router thru the 868L. It should be a 192.168.1.something address.

If this fails you might change the host routers IP address pool from 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.0.1, then try the 868L wireless mode scan again. The 868L defaults to a 192.168.0 something for D-Link routers and APs.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

NP

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Setup bridge mode
« Reply #18 on: February 18, 2018, 02:13:58 AM »

First, I set the dlink router DHCP sever to disable, change the IP to 192.168.0.2.
Then after reboot, set static IP at PC to get into config page. I choose bridge mode under internet setting and leave the dynamic DHCP selected.
This time after reboot , it prompt that IP changed to 192.168.0.50. I got no issues getting in config page as PC static IP still not removed.
I got into config page, under wireless setting, scan and select the network I wanted to connected, selected the WPK2 and keyed in the password to connect wireless network. I saved setting and out from page.
This time round , removed the static IP at PC , re-enabled to auto detect IP & DNS. I waited for a while and the lower left screen little network indicator still showing amber.

My main router is linksys, changed the IP as u said to 192.168.0.1.  Do I need to change the IP pool which is now 192.168.0.100 to 149 ?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setup bridge mode
« Reply #19 on: February 18, 2018, 09:30:12 AM »

Yes, if the router doesn't do that for you.

You don't have to disable DHCP server or the address on the 868L, just in and select Bridge mode then apply the change and follow the instructions.

What is the model of the Linksys router?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 [2]