• July 17, 2019, 11:19:52 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Multiple Xbox 360 consoles and NAT issues  (Read 6338 times)

Lone Wolf

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Multiple Xbox 360 consoles and NAT issues
« on: January 11, 2015, 01:49:43 PM »

Hi, I just wanted to say first that I'm new here and I used this helpful forum (especially FurryNutz) in making my decision to purchase a DIR-655 a few months back in preparation for adding second Xbox 360 console to my home network.

Please see my answers in bold for a few questions I'm sure will be asked:

•What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.  B1
•Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status. 2.00
•What region are you located? UK (Europe)
•Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?  Both
•Has a Factory Reset been performed? Yes
•Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch? N/A
 >FW Update Process
•Was the router working before any firmware updates? N/A

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
•What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL? DSL
•What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have? Sky Hub SR101
•Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing? Dynamic
•What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have? 1/17
•Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
•Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
•For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
•Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
•What wireless modes are you using?
•2.4Ghz Routers only: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
•Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
•Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions.
•What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
•What wireless devices do you have connected?
•Ensure any devices with WiFi adapter drivers are updated.
•Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?
•Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many? Use v3, its free.
•If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF or ON Short GI, WLAN Partition, Extra Wireless Protection and HT 20/40 Co-existence if you have it. Also testing with HT20/40Mhz Co-existence enabled will impact results as well. I prefer to use this option OFF. Recommended settings are default. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Before I added the second console, I didn't have any problems with NAT status EXCEPT on one or two occasions, Halo 4 would report strict or moderate NAT but a router reboot would fix this immediately.

Since adding the second console, Halo 4 has shown an unpredictable variety of NAT states ranging from strict to open on both consoles with no apparent reasoning or pattern.  I must add - this hasn't noticeably affected the gameplay (perhaps matchmaking has sometimes taken a little longer) and the Xbox network test itself has NEVER highlighted any NAT issues on either console, just XBL service alerts.

My 'modem' is my ISP supplied wireless router, where I have setup the WAN default DMZ in order that the DIR-655 handles the routing etc. The 'modem' has DHCP server and Wi-Fi disabled.  I have setup the DIR-655 QoS rules etc as per FurryNutz sticky.

Any ideas what I should do?  Thank you  ;D
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47567
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Multiple Xbox 360 consoles and NAT issues
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2015, 01:58:28 PM »

You behind on FW updates however lets see if we can get better setup before trying to update.

What model are these Xboxes? 1st gen, Slim or 3rd Gen?
How are they connected? wired or wireless? Wires is preferred.

How is QoS rules set up. Please post a picture of the settings:
Adding Screenshots In A Post
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Lone Wolf

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Multiple Xbox 360 consoles and NAT issues
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2015, 02:09:35 PM »

Hi FurryNutz, thanks for the quick reply.

Both console are 3rd gen (E) model.  1st console is two feet from router and connected by ethernet cable, 2nd console is upstairs and wireless.  Running a cable to this is a bad idea but I considered ethernet powerline adapter - any thoughts on this?

Here's a few screenies of relevant pics, ask if you want more :)







PS - just realised, uPnP is enabled on both the DIR-655 and 'modem' - should it be disabled on the 'modem'?  Could this cause conflict?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47567
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Multiple Xbox 360 consoles and NAT issues
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2015, 02:50:40 PM »

Possible conflict on Modem...Disable and test.

However your QoS is misconfigured, set the local and Remote Port Ranges on both to 0 to 65535.

Please post a picture of the Status/Wireless screen from the router when the 2nd wireless xbox is connected. I'd like to see the connection rate.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Lone Wolf

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Multiple Xbox 360 consoles and NAT issues
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2015, 11:50:18 PM »

UPNP has been disabled on the 'modem', I will let you know how this works once I've had a chance to properly test it.

Please can you explain why the QoS is incorrectly configured?  AFAIK I followed your sticky http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=42011.0 and in particular this bit:

Quote
Advanced/GameFuel Or QoS Engine - Advanced XBL Gamefuel/QoS Settings
Finding more specific ports and addresses for Local and Remote Protocol and Remote IP Range and using different implementation of the rules has resulted in the following examples of using QoS/Game Fuel rules for XBL on the DGL series Game Fuel and a DIR Series QoS. The only critical port found to be needed for game play on XBL that Game Fuel/Qos needs to manage is port 3074. All other ports like 53, 80 and 88 are needed however are not high priority or critical for gaming and can easily be connected to by the device with out router intervention or management. Those ports don't need any forwarding. Some advanced users may prefer to use the following settings instead of the global settings listed above in the Standard Global Settings section:
Specific Local and Remote Port Range: 3074 (Both TCP and UDP)
Specific Remote IP Range has been found to be:
65.52.0.0 - 65.55.255.255 which belong to MS and XBL services.
DIR Series Routers: Use 65.52.0.1 - 65.55.255.2554 for Remote IP Address Range.

NOTE: Some specific games have been seen to need other specific ports opened or forwarded. Please consult the Manufacturer or Developer of the game for detailed information regarding specialized ports other then what MS and XBL uses. Add those ports as needed.

Adding in PCs to the rules as well can be beneficial if you need to access the Internet while someone is also on XBL gaming thus providing good Internet access to the PC while gaming using global ports and remote IP addresses.


I'm sure you are correct FurryNutz, I just want to know why my understanding is wrong  ;D Anyway, I've changed the QoS rule to what you said now with the local and remote port ranges configured to 0-65535.

Lastly, here is a screenie of the 2nd console connected by wireless - it's the data inside the red rectangle :)

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47567
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Multiple Xbox 360 consoles and NAT issues
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2015, 07:40:33 AM »

Specific Local and Remote Port Range: 3074 (Both TCP and UDP) seen in the sticky was for a single game console only. I first compiled that sticky when I only had 1 console. Over the years people have talked about having more than one. I eventually had a 2nd 360 to test with thus I came up with the MutliXbox Global rule seen in the stick meant for more than one Xbox on a router.

Thanks for the screen capture of the 3rd gen xbox. I wonder if this model console still has WiFi problems with newer generation routers.  ???
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Lone Wolf

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Multiple Xbox 360 consoles and NAT issues
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2015, 03:16:38 PM »

Well, I tested earlier with all the changes you suggested and I got an open NAT on both consoles with Halo 4.  It's a bit too early to say it worked for sure as the problem is intermittent, but so far so good :)

Just out of interest - would that messed up QoS setting actually affect the NAT?

I will keep you updated how it goes FurryNutz, thanks for the help :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47567
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Multiple Xbox 360 consoles and NAT issues
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2015, 03:18:09 PM »

Probable.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Lone Wolf

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Multiple Xbox 360 consoles and NAT issues
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2015, 03:20:58 PM »

Probable.

Ok np, my basic understanding of networking just told me that provided the upnp of the DIR-655 was working as it should then the NAT state should be good on both consoles regardless of the config of the QoS.  Anyway, for now it's working and I'll try my best to break it :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47567
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Multiple Xbox 360 consoles and NAT issues
« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2015, 11:05:09 AM »

Any status on this?  ???
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Lone Wolf

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Multiple Xbox 360 consoles and NAT issues
« Reply #10 on: January 20, 2015, 11:26:31 AM »

Hi FurryNutz, to be honest haven't had a lot of time to test it but in the time I have had, I haven't been able to replicate the previous issue :)

However  >:( I now have some more problems including random disconnects from XBL and being unable to reconnect until I reboot the DIR-655, with error messages on the Xbox about DNS.  I'm hoping this might just be an ISP thing but still investigating.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47567
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Multiple Xbox 360 consoles and NAT issues
« Reply #11 on: January 20, 2015, 11:33:03 AM »

How do you have DNS set up on the router? DNS relay enabled or disabled?  ???
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Lone Wolf

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Multiple Xbox 360 consoles and NAT issues
« Reply #12 on: January 20, 2015, 11:36:46 AM »

DNS relay is enabled and the two DNS server IPs are automatically picked up from the modem  :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47567
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Multiple Xbox 360 consoles and NAT issues
« Reply #13 on: January 20, 2015, 11:45:35 AM »

You might give this a try:
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Lone Wolf

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Multiple Xbox 360 consoles and NAT issues
« Reply #14 on: January 20, 2015, 12:26:52 PM »

Thanks FurryNutz, will try that.

Just out of interest:  this issue has only occurred on the wirelessly connected console, though I haven't really been playing on the wired console recently.

Also if you check out the DNS section of the advanced network config on the consoles themselves, the wired console detects the two ISP DNS server IP addresses and you can see them.  On the the wireless console, it has the IP of the modem (192.168.0.1) not the router (192.168.1.1) in the primary DNS, and the secondary DNS is blank.  Does this mean anything??
Logged
Pages: [1] 2