• October 19, 2019, 06:05:09 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-890 AC3200  (Read 6060 times)

ChadF

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
DIR-890 AC3200
« on: January 09, 2015, 08:30:38 AM »

Anyone out there have the new DIR-890 router yet?  Mine is up and running, but seems to be having an issue with Iphones and Ipad connectivity.  Several times a day, I get no data movement (device still connected) and requires me to put the device into airplane mode, then back off to regain data connectivity and movement.

Doesn't seem to happen to laptops and other wireless devices.

Just wanted to see if anyone else is seeing that issue.

Thank you in advance,
Chad
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890 AC3200
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2015, 09:17:09 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Ensure that different SSID names are used between each WiFi 2.4/5Ghz radios. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighbouring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N or AC on 5Ghz?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions. Try channel 48 or 149 on 5Ghz.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What iOS version are on the Iphones?
  • Ensure any devices with WiFi adapter drivers are updated.
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many? Use v3, its free.
  • If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF or ON Short GI, WLAN Partition, Extra Wireless Protection and HT 20/40 Co-existence if you have it. Also testing with HT20/40Mhz Co-existence enabled will impact results as well. I prefer to use this option OFF. Recommended settings are default. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

[li]For routers with Smart Connect Technology , try disabling this feature and test. Under Wireless.[/li][/list]

Router Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
3-6' feet minimum safe distance between devices.
Placement on main level floor and central in the building and WELL ventilated is preferred. Not in basements or closets as building materials, or near by electronics devices could interfere or hinder good signal propagation.
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-basics/31083-smallnetbuilders-wireless-faq-the-essentials
« Last Edit: March 11, 2015, 07:23:16 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Gunz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: DIR-890 AC3200
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2015, 10:46:46 AM »

Anyone out there have the new DIR-890 router yet?  Mine is up and running, but seems to be having an issue with Iphones and Ipad connectivity.  Several times a day, I get no data movement (device still connected) and requires me to put the device into airplane mode, then back off to regain data connectivity and movement.

Doesn't seem to happen to laptops and other wireless devices.

Just wanted to see if anyone else is seeing that issue.

Thank you in advance,
Chad

Im having the same exact issue. Ive tried on both 2.4 and 5GHz on several channels all seem to have the same problem. Also it seems on my other devices it is throttling my speeds during load. Along with QOS being completely broken as well. I want this router to be what it was hyped up to but at the moment it seems it needs some work.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890 AC3200
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2015, 10:48:20 AM »

Please respond here Gunz:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=61552.0

Anyone out there have the new DIR-890 router yet?  Mine is up and running, but seems to be having an issue with Iphones and Ipad connectivity.  Several times a day, I get no data movement (device still connected) and requires me to put the device into airplane mode, then back off to regain data connectivity and movement.

Doesn't seem to happen to laptops and other wireless devices.

Just wanted to see if anyone else is seeing that issue.

Thank you in advance,
Chad

Im having the same exact issue. Ive tried on both 2.4 and 5GHz on several channels all seem to have the same problem. Also it seems on my other devices it is throttling my speeds during load. Along with QOS being completely broken as well. I want this router to be what it was hyped up to but at the moment it seems it needs some work.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Gunz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: DIR-890 AC3200
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2015, 11:06:02 AM »

done
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890 AC3200
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2015, 11:08:58 AM »

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BobTodd

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DIR-890 AC3200
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2015, 09:01:38 AM »

just seen a pic of this router it looks evil! :o
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890 AC3200
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2015, 01:17:15 PM »

Did you get one yet?  :o

just seen a pic of this router it looks evil! :o
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890 AC3200
« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2015, 09:54:17 AM »

Any status on this? Hows it going?  ???

Anyone out there have the new DIR-890 router yet?  Mine is up and running, but seems to be having an issue with Iphones and Ipad connectivity.  Several times a day, I get no data movement (device still connected) and requires me to put the device into airplane mode, then back off to regain data connectivity and movement.

Doesn't seem to happen to laptops and other wireless devices.

Just wanted to see if anyone else is seeing that issue.

Thank you in advance,
Chad
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Bartsch Labs

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DIR-890 AC3200
« Reply #9 on: March 10, 2015, 06:47:26 PM »

Could we change the title of this topic to "iPhone and IPad connectivity"?
« Last Edit: March 11, 2015, 08:25:30 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
Re: DIR-890 AC3200
« Reply #10 on: March 10, 2015, 08:17:45 PM »

You'll find using a manual channel on ALL wireless network channels, and you devices should connect reliably.....it worked for me.

Also if you have inSSIDer, do a wireless sweep of the neighborhood as well, so you know what channel to set  ;D
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-890 AC3200
« Reply #11 on: March 11, 2015, 08:25:43 AM »

Are you experiencing problems with your router?

Could we change the title of this topic to "iPhone and IPad connectivity"?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting