• October 23, 2020, 01:11:40 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?  (Read 17434 times)

dyvurcz

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
« on: June 04, 2013, 06:04:16 AM »

My router from time to time just reboots itself for no apparent reason.  Not that big of a deal when just browsing the net, but this totally sucks when we're playing a game on xbox live or something.  Any idea why this happens?  It's also happens in the middle of the night sometimes.  I randomly log into the router every couple of days to check the up time, and if it says something like 11 hours, and I haven't rebooted it myself I know there was a problem.  Any help would be appreciated. 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2013, 06:46:18 AM »

Link>Welcome!
  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something thats already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • Any cordless house phones?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

Also review this for XBL and Gamefuel:
DGL-4500 Gaming and Gamefuel for XBL
« Last Edit: June 04, 2013, 06:52:12 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

dyvurcz

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2013, 06:59:20 AM »

Link>Welcome!
  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something thats already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • Any cordless house phones?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

Also review this for XBL and Gamefuel:
DGL-4500 Gaming and Gamefuel for XBL

I've pretty much tried everything you've suggested in the past since I've seen that reply to other post before.  I've configured all the gamefuel settings.  I have one xbox on wifi, and one hard wired so I don't think it's a wireless issue, just the router itself reboots.  I have the latest firmware 1.23na installed, and hardware ver. A1
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2013, 07:20:49 AM »

I would do a factory reset then configure the router from scratch once more. Setup the Wireless SSID, Reserve IP addresses for ALL devices. Setup Gamefuel for XBL using the sticky. Set Endpoint Ind. Turn off the following, WPS, WISH.

Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using Link> teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

dyvurcz

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2013, 07:52:06 AM »

I would do a factory reset then configure the router from scratch once more. Setup the Wireless SSID, Reserve IP addresses for ALL devices. Setup Gamefuel for XBL using the sticky. Set Endpoint Ind. Turn off the following, WPS, WISH.

Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using Link> teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure.

I actually just did a full factory reset a few days ago to rectify my wifi issue.  I've used Istumbler to identify wifi networks in my area which there are quiet a few, but why would that have anything to do with the entire router rebooting?  I could see if it was a issue of the wireless connection dropping, but even the hardwired one drops.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

dyvurcz

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2013, 08:16:24 AM »

I'll try to drop the transmit power, but i'm not sure if my devices upstairs will be able to connect to the router at that time. 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
« Reply #7 on: June 04, 2013, 08:22:08 AM »

What frequency are you using?
This is the one possible reason for the router rebooting, wifi congestion and other WiFi on the same channel.
Are any channels open? Like 1, 6 or 11?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

dyvurcz

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
« Reply #8 on: June 04, 2013, 08:22:56 AM »

also can you explain "short gi" and wlan partition because I have both unchecked.
Logged

dyvurcz

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
« Reply #9 on: June 04, 2013, 08:23:58 AM »

What frequency are you using?
This is the one possible reason for the router rebooting, wifi congestion and other WiFi on the same channel.
Are any channels open? Like 1, 6 or 11?

I'm using channel 7.  there are other networks on 1,6, and 11.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
« Reply #10 on: June 04, 2013, 08:26:01 AM »

Link> Short GI

WLAN partition just keeps the wireless clients from sharing or communicating with each other thru the router. I guess this was needed at some point however it has been removed in other model routers. I haven't seen it since.

Try using channel 4 or 8 if it's open.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

dyvurcz

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
« Reply #11 on: June 04, 2013, 08:29:32 AM »

Link> Short GI

WLAN partition just keeps the wireless clients from sharing or communicating with each other thru the router. I guess this was needed at some point however it has been removed in other model routers. I haven't seen it since.

Try using channel 4 or 8 if it's open.

ok 4 and 8 are both open.  Are some channels better than others?  Sorry if this is a noob question lol, but why would 4 or 8 be better than 7? just curious.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
« Reply #12 on: June 04, 2013, 09:34:29 AM »

I thats side band or over lapping channel, and maybe used already in conjunction with the main channels. If you look at a wifi scanning app, sometimes you'll see SSID + channel 6+#? The # is telling you that it's using channel 6 along with a side band channel. If 7 seems to be working for you then give it a go and see how it does.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wireless_channel
« Last Edit: June 04, 2013, 09:40:13 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

dyvurcz

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
« Reply #13 on: June 04, 2013, 09:42:48 AM »

not sure honestly it just says channel 8...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
« Reply #14 on: June 04, 2013, 09:48:09 AM »

see how it works on 7 or 8, with power at high.
Do you have any devices that support 5Ghz by chance?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: [1] 2 3