D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DGL-4500 => Topic started by: dyvurcz on June 04, 2013, 06:04:16 AM

Title: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: dyvurcz on June 04, 2013, 06:04:16 AM
My router from time to time just reboots itself for no apparent reason.  Not that big of a deal when just browsing the net, but this totally sucks when we're playing a game on xbox live or something.  Any idea why this happens?  It's also happens in the middle of the night sometimes.  I randomly log into the router every couple of days to check the up time, and if it says something like 11 hours, and I haven't rebooted it myself I know there was a problem.  Any help would be appreciated. 
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: FurryNutz on June 04, 2013, 06:46:18 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=41537.0)

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48327.0) and Managing Signal Congestion (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=53228.0)

Also review this for XBL and Gamefuel:
DGL-4500 Gaming and Gamefuel for XBL (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=10435.0)
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: dyvurcz on June 04, 2013, 06:59:20 AM
Link>Welcome! (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=41537.0)
  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=47512.0) version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48327.0) and Managing Signal Congestion (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=53228.0)
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something thats already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advanced_Encryption_Standard), so you might want to try TPIK (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Temporal_Key_Integrity_Protocol) only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • Any cordless house phones?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer (http://www.metageek.net/) to find out. How many?

Also review this for XBL and Gamefuel:
DGL-4500 Gaming and Gamefuel for XBL (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=10435.0)

I've pretty much tried everything you've suggested in the past since I've seen that reply to other post before.  I've configured all the gamefuel settings.  I have one xbox on wifi, and one hard wired so I don't think it's a wireless issue, just the router itself reboots.  I have the latest firmware 1.23na installed, and hardware ver. A1
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: FurryNutz on June 04, 2013, 07:20:49 AM
I would do a factory reset then configure the router from scratch once more. Setup the Wireless SSID, Reserve IP addresses for ALL devices. Setup Gamefuel for XBL using the sticky. Set Endpoint Ind. Turn off the following, WPS, WISH.

Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using Link> teamviewer (http://www.teamviewer.com) if your interested. Its safe and secure.
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: dyvurcz on June 04, 2013, 07:52:06 AM
I would do a factory reset then configure the router from scratch once more. Setup the Wireless SSID, Reserve IP addresses for ALL devices. Setup Gamefuel for XBL using the sticky. Set Endpoint Ind. Turn off the following, WPS, WISH.

Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using Link> teamviewer (http://www.teamviewer.com) if your interested. Its safe and secure.

I actually just did a full factory reset a few days ago to rectify my wifi issue.  I've used Istumbler to identify wifi networks in my area which there are quiet a few, but why would that have anything to do with the entire router rebooting?  I could see if it was a issue of the wireless connection dropping, but even the hardwired one drops.
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: FurryNutz on June 04, 2013, 08:00:56 AM
Managing Signal Congestion (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=53228.0)
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: dyvurcz on June 04, 2013, 08:16:24 AM
I'll try to drop the transmit power, but i'm not sure if my devices upstairs will be able to connect to the router at that time. 
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: FurryNutz on June 04, 2013, 08:22:08 AM
What frequency are you using?
This is the one possible reason for the router rebooting, wifi congestion and other WiFi on the same channel.
Are any channels open? Like 1, 6 or 11?
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: dyvurcz on June 04, 2013, 08:22:56 AM
also can you explain "short gi" and wlan partition because I have both unchecked.
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: dyvurcz on June 04, 2013, 08:23:58 AM
What frequency are you using?
This is the one possible reason for the router rebooting, wifi congestion and other WiFi on the same channel.
Are any channels open? Like 1, 6 or 11?

I'm using channel 7.  there are other networks on 1,6, and 11.
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: FurryNutz on June 04, 2013, 08:26:01 AM
Link> Short GI (http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-features/30969-what-do-80211ns-optional-features-mean-for-you)

WLAN partition just keeps the wireless clients from sharing or communicating with each other thru the router. I guess this was needed at some point however it has been removed in other model routers. I haven't seen it since.

Try using channel 4 or 8 if it's open.
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: dyvurcz on June 04, 2013, 08:29:32 AM
Link> Short GI (http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-features/30969-what-do-80211ns-optional-features-mean-for-you)

WLAN partition just keeps the wireless clients from sharing or communicating with each other thru the router. I guess this was needed at some point however it has been removed in other model routers. I haven't seen it since.

Try using channel 4 or 8 if it's open.

ok 4 and 8 are both open.  Are some channels better than others?  Sorry if this is a noob question lol, but why would 4 or 8 be better than 7? just curious.
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: FurryNutz on June 04, 2013, 09:34:29 AM
I thats side band or over lapping channel, and maybe used already in conjunction with the main channels. If you look at a wifi scanning app, sometimes you'll see SSID + channel 6+#? The # is telling you that it's using channel 6 along with a side band channel. If 7 seems to be working for you then give it a go and see how it does.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wireless_channel (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wireless_channel)
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: dyvurcz on June 04, 2013, 09:42:48 AM
not sure honestly it just says channel 8...
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: FurryNutz on June 04, 2013, 09:48:09 AM
see how it works on 7 or 8, with power at high.
Do you have any devices that support 5Ghz by chance?
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: dyvurcz on June 04, 2013, 09:53:10 AM
I switched back to 7.  On 8 I kept getting reboots.  no 5 ghz devices.  Is there anything i can check in the log after it reboots again to pin point the problem?
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: FurryNutz on June 04, 2013, 10:02:11 AM
Look at the time frame on when the last complete boot up time was and the time frame when it reboots. You might enable System, Critical, Informational and Warning log options and see if you can find anything that says something when this happens.

The probably is probably WiFi congestion on 2.4Ghz that effects the router rather a HW problem. I presume that if you shut OFF the WiFi radio and just used wired, the router probably wont reboot.

I recommend that you get your devices upgraded to 5Ghz. Devices like PCs, laptops and game consoles can be upgrade to use 5Ghz WiFi with by internally or externally upgrading the HW.
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: dyvurcz on June 04, 2013, 10:53:14 AM
sounds good.  Still waiting on the new dgl so maybe I can put my mac products (quite a few of them) on the 5 and run everything else on 2.4. Hopefully that will free up some of the congestion if that indeed is the problem.  Although since the last time it happened about an hour ago I disabled game fuel and went back to channel 7, and it hasn't disconnected since.
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: FurryNutz on June 04, 2013, 10:59:07 AM
Ya, Were all waiting for the 5500 to appear. SO nows the time to get what you can upgraded to 5Ghz.

Hmm...what does your GF rules look like?
What is your ISP Speed UP and down?
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: dyvurcz on June 04, 2013, 11:03:33 AM
I set up the rules from the link you provided.  I have the ip range between 2 xbox 360's.  My isp is fios 150/65.  With game fuel enabled the measured uplink was about 66500.  Not sure why it's working now without it but it is lol.  Does that really make a big difference for gaming traffic?
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: FurryNutz on June 04, 2013, 11:07:46 AM
Only makes a different on the LAN side. so you have alot of other devices going along with the gameing, then it helps to ensure that priorities are getting used for the gaming devices yet still offers the non priority devices like phones and PC get a fair share of bandwidth.

Do you have a rule set up for ALL OTHER DEVICES too?

Since your on a huge UP and DOWN link. GF may not be needed. I wish I had that here. LOL. There has been some debate on weather GF or QoS is needed on big Links such as yours. Also there is a 2Mb cap in GF on the Uplink if you leave it in automatic, I think. I'm on a 50/2 here so I'm right on the boarder of what caps are doing in routers. Most of the time, it works well. You may want to test with GF off for a while...
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: dyvurcz on June 04, 2013, 11:11:07 AM
most people wish they had the speed we have lol.  I did have a rule set up for other devices as well but honestly I didn't have any issues until setting it up so maybe I'll just leave it off for now and see how it goes.
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: FurryNutz on June 04, 2013, 11:13:38 AM
Ya. I'm jealous.  :P

Test it out for a while. Do some gaming with 1 or more xboxes and have someone do some surfing on a PC or device. Maybe stream a video. See how the gaming does.

I have 2 rules for mine,
Rule for the 2 xboxes at 50
Rule for All Other Devices at 128. Seems to work for me and my sappy 50/2.  ;)
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: FurryNutz on June 04, 2013, 11:18:29 AM
Some suggestions on upgrading to 5Ghz:
Bridge Mode vs Relay vs Acess Point (AP) / Routers vs Dedicated Access Points (AP) (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=50738.0)
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: dyvurcz on June 04, 2013, 01:47:05 PM
Thanks for all the help as usual!  I've been on xbox live for the last 4 hours or so with no issues so far.  I'll keep you posted.
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: FurryNutz on June 04, 2013, 02:05:21 PM
I wish I could stay home and play xbox all day.  :P

Keep us posted.  ;)
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: dyvurcz on June 06, 2013, 07:25:31 AM
I wish I could stay home and play xbox all day.  :P

Keep us posted.  ;)

Just happened to be on my days off during my previous post lol, wish I could stay home every day as well trust me.  At work now... On another note I just ordered a external wifi N adapter for my xbox slim which is on the top floor.  I would love to go wired up there but it's way too much of a hassle to run a wire from the dgl 4500 on the main floor.  I'm contemplating getting a dap 1320 to extend the range up there.  Have you had any experience with the dap 1320?  Would that be able to extend on 5ghz?
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: FurryNutz on June 06, 2013, 07:36:07 AM
I don't any any experience with the 1320, however I don't think its 5Ghz supporting as it's only 2.4Ghz.

For 5Ghz I would review the following:
D-Link DAP  1513 (http://www.dlink.com/us/en/home-solutions/connect/access-points-range-extenders-and-bridges/dap-1513-wireless-n-dual-band-media-bridge), 1522 (http://www.dlink.com/us/en/home-solutions/connect/access-points-range-extenders-and-bridges/dap-1522-xtreme-n-duo-wireless-n-access-point), 1525 (http://www.dlink.com/us/en/home-solutions/connect/access-points-range-extenders-and-bridges/dap-1525-access-point-mediabridge), 1533 (http://www.dlink.com/us/en/home-solutions/connect/access-points-range-extenders-and-bridges/dap-1533-wireless-n450-mediabridge-access-point)

I suggest doing some future proofing with 5Ghz if you can. Since you might have a DGL-5500 in your future, you might want to consider one of those or maybe a DIR-865L as a bridged AP for AC modes. I have one, works well in router or wireless bridge mode. Had my roomates xboes wired up to it.  ;D
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: dyvurcz on June 06, 2013, 07:42:17 AM
ok cool.  I actually have a Dap1522 laying around some where.  Maybe I'll see how the 5ghz signal from that works out.  What should it be set to in order to get 5ghz to my xbox?  AP mode or Bridge?
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: FurryNutz on June 06, 2013, 07:49:49 AM
Well AP mode would require a wired connection to the DAP I think so try bridge mode. You'll need to set the 4500 to 5Ghz as well. Until you get fully into 5Ghz, you might go find you a DIR-6 series routers for your 2.4Ghz devices that can't be upgraded to 5Ghz. I use a DIR-601 little thing of a router for 2.4Ghz devices in the living room in wired AP mode. Works great that way for guests too.

ok cool.  I actually have a Dap1522 laying around some where.  Maybe I'll see how the 5ghz signal from that works out.  What should it be set to in order to get 5ghz to my xbox?  AP mode or Bridge?
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: dyvurcz on June 06, 2013, 07:59:13 AM
Hmmmm...Sounds interesting.  So your main router is 5ghz, but you have the 601 coming out of one of the Lan ports on it?
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: FurryNutz on June 06, 2013, 08:32:05 AM
Well, I have 2 switches before the 601 however yes. Main router to 601 via switches. Mainly for iPhones and guests.
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: dyvurcz on June 06, 2013, 08:40:06 AM
Well, I have 2 switches before the 601 however yes. Main router to 601 via switches. Mainly for iPhones and guests.

You my friend have some serious connections going on!  :) I've decided to try the dap1522 I have in bridge mode first to see how that works out.  If no go I'll just bite the bullet, and run a wire upstairs.  Hopefully this will hold me over until the new dual band 5500 comes out and solves all my problems forever!!!  ;D Mmmwwaaahhhahahahahahha!!!!!
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: FurryNutz on June 06, 2013, 08:45:43 AM
IT's not that bad..is it?

ISP Modem>DIR-Router>24pt Gb Switch>50ft CAT6 to Living room>8pt Gb switch<>DIR-601, Boxee Box and DISH Hoppa. I suppose I could eliminate the switch in the living room however the 601 only has 100Mb ports.  ::)

Should work well. Use single mode N, WPA2/AES only on 5Ghz, Auto 20/40Mhz. Keep us posted on the DAP.
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: dyvurcz on June 07, 2013, 12:44:55 PM
Hey Furry got a quick question for you.  In going over the gamefuel setting in the link for xbox live set up you provided, in the examples there "multixbox", and "multixbox pt 1".  Why is that?  Do both need to be set up that way when you have more than one xbox being that the ip range covers them both? I have mines set to the "multixbox pt 1" rule.
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: FurryNutz on June 07, 2013, 12:52:10 PM
There was some discussion about using specific Remote IP addresses vs Global Addresses. I prefer to use specific while others prefer to use global hence the 2 examples with different Remote IP addresses displayed.
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: dyvurcz on June 11, 2013, 08:37:21 AM
So I decided to run the 4500 in 5ghz and turned on the 2.4 radio on my fios router for those devices.  So far the xbox is getting better speeds, and signal.  I did notice something though.  Once I switched to 5 ghz, under gamefuel tab the measured uplink now says not measured instead of the 66500 that it was before.  Any idea why that is?  I've tried to reboot the router numerous times, and it still reads the same.   
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: FurryNutz on June 11, 2013, 08:43:19 AM
Not sure...can you set a manual UP link speed?
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: dyvurcz on June 11, 2013, 08:44:56 AM
manual only allows 2 up right?  I have 65 from my isp lol.  I've never had this issue before its strange
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: FurryNutz on June 11, 2013, 08:47:08 AM
Ya well some of us don't have that kind of UL speed sir.  ::)
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: dyvurcz on June 11, 2013, 08:53:18 AM
yea I know lol I'm definitely one of the lucky one thats for sure.  I just restarted it again and it actually worked. this time
Title: Re: Random Reboots...Any one else experience this?
Post by: FurryNutz on June 11, 2013, 09:04:17 AM
Keep us posted.  ;)