• October 19, 2020, 06:04:06 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: Bootloops only when internet is plugged in  (Read 14688 times)

hyelton

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
    • HuntersPad
Re: Bootloops only when internet is plugged in
« Reply #15 on: April 03, 2013, 11:34:29 AM »

No worky:( i got it from newegg
Logged
Current PC: MSI GE60, 128GB m-Sata, 750GB HD, 8GB Ram, Nvidia 2GB 650m, Windows 7 Pro.

Current Phone: Sony Xperia ZL

Internet Speed: 25Mb Down, 2Mb Up
Current Router:) : D-Link 826L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Bootloops only when internet is plugged in
« Reply #16 on: April 03, 2013, 11:35:48 AM »

Ok, well let them know that this unit does not work period and needs to go directly back to DLink. Someone at NE didn't fully test this unit out on the internet or they would have caught this.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

hyelton

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
    • HuntersPad
Re: Bootloops only when internet is plugged in
« Reply #17 on: April 03, 2013, 12:38:17 PM »

SOOO I thought I might plug it up using the power supply from my new dlink router the 826l, Well it powered up, Tried to update it to 1.23 and BAM! It updated even got the confirmation restarted and bam it updated! but still when hooked to the internet it reboots
Logged
Current PC: MSI GE60, 128GB m-Sata, 750GB HD, 8GB Ram, Nvidia 2GB 650m, Windows 7 Pro.

Current Phone: Sony Xperia ZL

Internet Speed: 25Mb Down, 2Mb Up
Current Router:) : D-Link 826L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Bootloops only when internet is plugged in
« Reply #18 on: April 03, 2013, 12:41:07 PM »

I had thought about that but wasnt' sure...Wow man. I guess I should have mentioned it anyways.  ::) Bad Power supply. Ya the 826L and the 4500 are compatible, 12v 2A. You might call DLink and see if you can get another one from them. If not, try here:
Office Beyond

Run it for a while and check it out. Hopefully it's solid and just a bad PS.

Awesome find man.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

hyelton

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
    • HuntersPad
Re: Bootloops only when internet is plugged in
« Reply #19 on: April 03, 2013, 12:43:02 PM »

Yea but even with the power supply from my 826l still reboots when trying to use internet I can get maybe 1 page loaded before it reboots.
Logged
Current PC: MSI GE60, 128GB m-Sata, 750GB HD, 8GB Ram, Nvidia 2GB 650m, Windows 7 Pro.

Current Phone: Sony Xperia ZL

Internet Speed: 25Mb Down, 2Mb Up
Current Router:) : D-Link 826L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Bootloops only when internet is plugged in
« Reply #20 on: April 03, 2013, 12:45:03 PM »

And this is with doing a factory reset before and after sending the FW file?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

hyelton

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
    • HuntersPad
Re: Bootloops only when internet is plugged in
« Reply #21 on: April 03, 2013, 12:45:16 PM »

Yepp!
Logged
Current PC: MSI GE60, 128GB m-Sata, 750GB HD, 8GB Ram, Nvidia 2GB 650m, Windows 7 Pro.

Current Phone: Sony Xperia ZL

Internet Speed: 25Mb Down, 2Mb Up
Current Router:) : D-Link 826L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Bootloops only when internet is plugged in
« Reply #22 on: April 03, 2013, 12:46:02 PM »

Darn! Then I wouldn't waste any more time. You've done all you can. Return it or RMA.  :(
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

hyelton

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
    • HuntersPad
Re: Bootloops only when internet is plugged in
« Reply #23 on: April 03, 2013, 12:49:52 PM »

Okay Printing UPS label now.
Logged
Current PC: MSI GE60, 128GB m-Sata, 750GB HD, 8GB Ram, Nvidia 2GB 650m, Windows 7 Pro.

Current Phone: Sony Xperia ZL

Internet Speed: 25Mb Down, 2Mb Up
Current Router:) : D-Link 826L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Bootloops only when internet is plugged in
« Reply #24 on: April 03, 2013, 12:51:35 PM »

Sorry that one didn't work. Shame too.  :(
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

hyelton

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
    • HuntersPad
Re: Bootloops only when internet is plugged in
« Reply #25 on: April 03, 2013, 01:33:51 PM »

I'm happy so far with the 826l just miss status llights lol
Logged
Current PC: MSI GE60, 128GB m-Sata, 750GB HD, 8GB Ram, Nvidia 2GB 650m, Windows 7 Pro.

Current Phone: Sony Xperia ZL

Internet Speed: 25Mb Down, 2Mb Up
Current Router:) : D-Link 826L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Bootloops only when internet is plugged in
« Reply #26 on: April 03, 2013, 01:39:46 PM »

Its got two status lights.  ;D
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Bootloops only when internet is plugged in
« Reply #27 on: April 03, 2013, 01:55:22 PM »

You might stick a note in the return box and mention to NE that they should check there last RE 4500s out on the Internet to make sure they are fully working before going out the door. Only checking with one PC would really constitute a full RE on something. Seems half azz'd done to me.  ::)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

hyelton

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
    • HuntersPad
Re: Bootloops only when internet is plugged in
« Reply #28 on: April 03, 2013, 02:45:37 PM »

Yea, 2nd RMA in a week  ??? The ASUS RT-n66u I bought as referb looked like Open box for 1 and also it kept dropping WAN
Logged
Current PC: MSI GE60, 128GB m-Sata, 750GB HD, 8GB Ram, Nvidia 2GB 650m, Windows 7 Pro.

Current Phone: Sony Xperia ZL

Internet Speed: 25Mb Down, 2Mb Up
Current Router:) : D-Link 826L

hyelton

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
    • HuntersPad
Re: Bootloops only when internet is plugged in
« Reply #29 on: April 03, 2013, 02:51:43 PM »

Now using the Power Supply that came with the 4500 I was able to now downgrade to 1.15 gonna see what happens

EDIT: Nope 1.15 doe not fix it. Its junk:( If I needed a good access point it would prob work good for that haha
« Last Edit: April 03, 2013, 02:57:51 PM by hyelton »
Logged
Current PC: MSI GE60, 128GB m-Sata, 750GB HD, 8GB Ram, Nvidia 2GB 650m, Windows 7 Pro.

Current Phone: Sony Xperia ZL

Internet Speed: 25Mb Down, 2Mb Up
Current Router:) : D-Link 826L
Pages: 1 [2] 3