• September 19, 2019, 09:42:56 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Disable WPA and WPS on DIR-815?  (Read 8360 times)

php111

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Disable WPA and WPS on DIR-815?
« on: March 25, 2013, 03:40:43 PM »

Hey everyone,

How do I disable both WPA, and WPS on the DIR-815 router, so I would be able to use WPA2 only which is the strongest encryption? I would appreciate if someone could tell me how. Thank you everyone!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47760
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Disable WPA and WPS on DIR-815?
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2013, 03:59:48 PM »

Should be able to select the down menu options under Setup/Wireless/Manual/cypher
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

php111

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: Disable WPA and WPS on DIR-815?
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2013, 04:20:26 PM »

Thank you, and I'll try that later but not now.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47760
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Disable WPA and WPS on DIR-815?
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2013, 04:28:58 PM »

Let us know how it goes.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

php111

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: Disable WPA and WPS on DIR-815?
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2013, 05:32:04 PM »

Let us know how it goes.

I'll promise I will let everyone know how it goes. It won't be until 10. I'm not in my bedroom. I'm downstairs and going to watch a 1 hour TV on Fox called the Following from 9-10p every Monday, so I'll let you know after 10. I'm in EST.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47760
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Disable WPA and WPS on DIR-815?
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2013, 06:23:21 PM »

You don't need to be that detailed.  ::)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

php111

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: Disable WPA and WPS on DIR-815?
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2013, 06:33:24 PM »

You don't need to be that detailed.  ::)

Should you modify my post meaning edit it? Or you won't do that to remove the details?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47760
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Disable WPA and WPS on DIR-815?
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2013, 06:46:02 PM »

LOL, just saying. No big deal. Lets us know the results when you can.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

php111

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: Disable WPA and WPS on DIR-815?
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2013, 07:27:45 PM »

LOL, just saying. No big deal. Lets us know the results when you can.

I made it there, but I am really confused on what drop down settings to set for WPA2 meaning disable WPA, and disable WPS, so disable both? I don't know and I don't see anything to keep WPA2 enabled only.

I see this:

Disable Wireless Security (not recommended)

Enable WEP Wireless Security (basic)

Enable WPA/WPA2 Wireless Security (enhanced)

That last one enables both, but not just WPA2 without WPA, and without WPS?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47760
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Disable WPA and WPS on DIR-815?
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2013, 08:05:32 PM »

WPS will be under Adavanced/Wireless Protected Service.

This router may only support both WPA and WPA2.
Can you select AES only?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

php111

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: Disable WPA and WPS on DIR-815?
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2013, 08:09:50 PM »

WPS will be under Adavanced/Wireless Protected Service.

This router may only support both WPA and WPA2.
Can you select AES only?

Yes, I could select AES only.
Logged

Hard Harry

  • Guest
Re: Disable WPA and WPS on DIR-815?
« Reply #11 on: March 25, 2013, 11:04:26 PM »

This seems like doing something someone told you to do? Something you read? You don't want to disable WPA,  if anything you want to force AES because TKIP is not as secure as AES. WPA2 uses AES by default but it does not force it. Setting Encryption to AES only forces AES. Furry already said this and seems like your problem is fixed, just giving some background.
Logged

php111

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: Disable WPA and WPS on DIR-815?
« Reply #12 on: March 26, 2013, 05:26:57 AM »

This seems like doing something someone told you to do? Something you read? You don't want to disable WPA,  if anything you want to force AES because TKIP is not as secure as AES. WPA2 uses AES by default but it does not force it. Setting Encryption to AES only forces AES. Furry already said this and seems like your problem is fixed, just giving some background.

Yes, that's correct. Someone told me on this site:http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r28133368-Would-this-encryption-be-stong-enough-

How do I force AES because TKIP isn't strong enough?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47760
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Disable WPA and WPS on DIR-815?
« Reply #13 on: March 26, 2013, 06:44:51 AM »

Please refer to page 97 of the User Manual. This should get you going.

BTW, is "WPA2 Only" a valid selection under Security Mode?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

php111

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: Disable WPA and WPS on DIR-815?
« Reply #14 on: March 26, 2013, 09:53:39 AM »

Please refer to page 97 of the User Manual. This should get you going.

BTW, is "WPA2 Only" a valid selection under Security Mode?

You won't explain to me how to force AES without reading the manual?

The selection I seen are in one of my earlier posts.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2