• July 04, 2020, 06:08:20 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 12

Author Topic: Issues with NAT and 2 XBOX's (RESOLVED)  (Read 71778 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48926
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Issues with NAT and 2 XBOX's
« Reply #15 on: March 05, 2013, 10:07:58 AM »

You can test the router with uPnP OFF and see what the results are. Wondering if there could be an issue on the ISP side of things. I now for me and all the routers i've tested, uPnP is ON. And is currently ON using my DIR-826L router and all other routers before that.

I haven't had any chance to test the DGL-4500 with mutliple xboxes. Maybe I'll put the old girl online this evening and it this out. My roommates is using a bridged WiFi adapter connecting to the 4500 at 5Ghz, an my xbox is wired. I'll give this a go and see.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

DrunkJug

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
Re: Issues with NAT and 2 XBOX's
« Reply #16 on: March 05, 2013, 10:55:54 AM »

cool. It would be interesting to see what you get.

I have had nothing but trouble with Comcast. No one at that company knows what they are doing and each person you talk to tells you something different. At least that has been my experience.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48926
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Issues with NAT and 2 XBOX's
« Reply #17 on: March 05, 2013, 11:05:23 AM »

One thing you can do, swap out xbox places to see if you notice if the problem follows. Swap cabling as well.

Another think you can check for on the ISP side of things, make sure that the cable lines are in good condition going into the ISP modem. Check for any t.v. line splitters. Remove them if you can. If one is needed, use a good quality line splitter. Dedicated cable line is preferred for Internet if possible. Have the ISP check the signal from there box to the modem. I would ask a level 2 or higher to make sure they are giving you accurate reports for signal. Level 1 will probably always tell you, "oh ya, signal looks good." Ya right. Demand a on site inspection if needed. If the signal isn't right for the ISP modem then this can cause a lot of problems that isn't router related.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2013, 11:19:07 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

XS

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
Re: Issues with NAT and 2 XBOX's
« Reply #18 on: March 05, 2013, 11:44:25 AM »

I wonder if something is going on with XBL?  I have been noticing my Xbox's with a moderate NAT every now again when playing BOPS2, I don't recall if both Xbox are on or if just one.  I will keep an eye open.  This started a couple of weeks ago about the same time I added a rule for local port 3074.  I disabled that rule the other day and just kept a rule for the global ports again and I will see what happens.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48926
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Issues with NAT and 2 XBOX's
« Reply #19 on: March 05, 2013, 11:46:47 AM »

Please set us know what you see when using Global ports. I set his for global ports. Remote IPs are specific. Other then that, it's the same ones I've been using since i now have a 2nd xbox to test with.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

DrunkJug

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
Re: Issues with NAT and 2 XBOX's
« Reply #20 on: March 05, 2013, 11:58:50 AM »

Holy crap this is a great resource. I can honestly say I have never seen such passion and willingness to help others on the web. It is truly appreciated.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48926
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Issues with NAT and 2 XBOX's
« Reply #21 on: March 05, 2013, 12:15:49 PM »

I wish other users felt the same way as you do.  ::) Thanks for sharing and also thank you for your support.  ;D
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

XS

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
Re: Issues with NAT and 2 XBOX's
« Reply #22 on: March 05, 2013, 12:18:34 PM »

I turned on both Xbox's just now and both have an open NAT.
 Drunkjug,

What happens if you disable GF?

If you are still having moderate NAT issues try setting your GF fuel rules to this and keep UPnP on. You can use whatever priority you want but try using global ports for local and remote.
Logged

DrunkJug

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
Re: Issues with NAT and 2 XBOX's
« Reply #23 on: March 05, 2013, 12:20:16 PM »

man I am at work right now and it is going to be a late night for me. I won't be able to check until much later today at the earliest.

I will however check it as soon as I can.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48926
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Issues with NAT and 2 XBOX's
« Reply #24 on: March 05, 2013, 12:23:05 PM »

We saw similar issues with the DIR-857:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=52161.0
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

XS

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
Re: Issues with NAT and 2 XBOX's
« Reply #25 on: March 05, 2013, 12:31:05 PM »

Hmm no good my screen shot did not work on my above post.  Follow this link for a screen shot of GF rules but change the local port range from 3074 to 0 to - 65535 for the Xbox rule.

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=46570.0
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48926
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Issues with NAT and 2 XBOX's
« Reply #26 on: March 05, 2013, 12:40:23 PM »

Those are what I did set up for him...  :-\
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

XS

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
Re: Issues with NAT and 2 XBOX's
« Reply #27 on: March 05, 2013, 12:51:51 PM »

Dang furry you are good!  I must have read your post wrong, I thought you had him set up for port specific on the remote range.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48926
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Issues with NAT and 2 XBOX's
« Reply #28 on: March 05, 2013, 01:12:04 PM »

I set specific on the REMOTE IP ADDRESS range, however 0-65535 was used on local and remote PORTs
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48926
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Issues with NAT and 2 XBOX's
« Reply #29 on: March 05, 2013, 08:27:31 PM »

Ok, connected the A2 w v1.23 loaded.
Using Global Ports and specific Remote IP addresses, both wired and wireless xboxes are OPEN NAT. Gaming is good. Full Green bars. Playing BO2 for a couple of hours.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 12