• December 05, 2019, 08:44:55 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Hotplug/Homeplug problems  (Read 20659 times)

xpanterx

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Hotplug/Homeplug problems
« on: February 20, 2013, 04:01:30 AM »

Hi

I bought a "PowerLine HomePlug AV Starter Kit DHP-307AV". The D-link software says I get 200mbps from the local plug and 90-100 from the remote one, but when I test my speed (speedtest.net and another site) it is only around 26... I have tried 2 different computers and cables and different sockets but it was about the same. I have also reset and resynced the plugs several times...

Help ???


P.s. I have 100mbps internet and I get that speed if I do not use the plugs.
Logged

ambercap

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
Re: Hotplug/Homeplug problems
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2013, 12:40:32 PM »

I have the same problem with my DHP-306AV pair.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Hotplug/Homeplug problems
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2013, 12:51:54 PM »

Link>Welcome!
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
Has a Factory Reset been performed?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
What make and model Router do you have and use?

Is this a recent purchase of the 307 kit?

* Maximum throughput based on theoretical transmission PHY rate. Actual data throughput will vary. Network conditions and environmental factors, including volume of traffic and network overhead, may lower actual data throughput rate. Interference from devices that emit electrical noise, such as vacuum cleaners and hair dryers, may adversely affect the performance of this product. This product may interfere with devices such as lighting systems that have a dimmer switch or a touch-sensitive on/off feature or short wave radios.
Hi

I bought a "PowerLine HomePlug AV Starter Kit DHP-307AV". The D-link software says I get 200mbps from the local plug and 90-100 from the remote one, but when I test my speed (speedtest.net and another site) it is only around 26... I have tried 2 different computers and cables and different sockets but it was about the same. I have also reset and resynced the plugs several times...

Help ???


P.s. I have 100mbps internet and I get that speed if I do not use the plugs.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2013, 01:07:53 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

xpanterx

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Hotplug/Homeplug problems
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2013, 01:23:03 AM »

Link>Welcome!
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
Has a Factory Reset been performed?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
What make and model Router do you have and use?

Is this a recent purchase of the 307 kit?

* Maximum throughput based on theoretical transmission PHY rate. Actual data throughput will vary. Network conditions and environmental factors, including volume of traffic and network overhead, may lower actual data throughput rate. Interference from devices that emit electrical noise, such as vacuum cleaners and hair dryers, may adversely affect the performance of this product. This product may interfere with devices such as lighting systems that have a dimmer switch or a touch-sensitive on/off feature or short wave radios.

Hi
Thank you for your reply. I do not have a modem, I have a router just for the wi-fi but I did not use it when I was testing the 307.

My internet cable is direcly connected to the wall (not sure what you call it in english, T1?). My ISP is http://translate.google.se/translate?sl=sv&tl=en&js=n&prev=_t&hl=sv&ie=UTF-8&eotf=1&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bredbandsbolaget.se%2F&act=url/ (Google translated link).

It is a recent purchase, I bought it about a month ago.

I was careful to not have anything else connected to the same sockets when I tested it so that there would be no interference.

I forgot to mention that when I bought it worked just fine, the problems started when I moved it to another socket a few weeks later, I did try the exact same setup that I had the first time but it did not help.

Thank you.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Hotplug/Homeplug problems
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2013, 07:05:21 AM »

I would do a factory reset and go back to the original placement and see if anything changes after the reset and setting up from scratch.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

xpanterx

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Hotplug/Homeplug problems
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2013, 08:26:34 AM »

I would do a factory reset and go back to the original placement and see if anything changes after the reset and setting up from scratch.

Thank you, but I tried that already and sadly no change...
Could it be broken? I have no idea why i does not work like it did a week or so ago...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Hotplug/Homeplug problems
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2013, 08:52:16 AM »

Only other thing I could think of is maybe there is some interferences or noise on the power line in your building that could be some how effecting. Has there been any addition of power appliances or anything recently added to your building?

Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

I would contact your regional local DLink support office and ask for level 2 or higher support. Basic support will not be needed here.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

xpanterx

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Hotplug/Homeplug problems
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2013, 09:05:37 AM »

Only other thing I could think of is maybe there is some interferences or noise on the power line in your building that could be some how effecting. Has there been any addition of power appliances or anything recently added to your building?

Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

I would contact your regional local DLink support office and ask for level 2 or higher support. Basic support will not be needed here.

I have not added anything since I moved the 306 but maybe people in other appartments have.

InSSIDer said 344 clients, is that what you where asking about? It is not an easy program to understand ;).

I might just do what you said and contact my regional local DLink support office...

Thank you for trying to help.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Hotplug/Homeplug problems
« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2013, 09:21:25 AM »


I have not added anything since I moved the 306 but maybe people in other appartments have.

InSSIDer said 344 clients, is that what you where asking about? It is not an easy program to understand ;).
:o :o :o Wow, Even though the signal for these units should be going thru the power line, thats a lot of WiFi are you. Wow. There could be some external condition interferences that could be contributing to this as well.

Also check any LAN cables that you have connected to these if any.
When testing, temporarily disable any 3rd party security programs like Firewalls and AV just while testing speeds.

I might just do what you said and contact my regional local DLink support office...

Thank you for trying to help.


Let us know what they say. Keep us posted.

Good Luck
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

xpanterx

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Hotplug/Homeplug problems
« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2013, 07:01:43 AM »

I have not added anything since I moved the 306 but maybe people in other appartments have.

InSSIDer said 344 clients, is that what you where asking about? It is not an easy program to understand ;).
:o :o :o Wow, Even though the signal for these units should be going thru the power line, thats a lot of WiFi are you. Wow. There could be some external condition interferences that could be contributing to this as well.

Also check any LAN cables that you have connected to these if any.
When testing, temporarily disable any 3rd party security programs like Firewalls and AV just while testing speeds.

I might just do what you said and contact my regional local DLink support office...

Thank you for trying to help.


Let us know what they say. Keep us posted.

Good Luck

Hello again

I e-mailed D-link support (calling them cost 39 sek (about 6 dollars)).

They replied today, here is the end part of the e-mail:
"Se till att adaptrarna sitter direkt på eluttaget utan någon förgreningsdosa eller liknande. Utöver det är det inte mycket man kan göra.

/D-Link."

Translated: Make sure that adapters are connected directly to the socket without any power strip or similar. Except that it is not much that can be done.

So they are basically telling me to give up, and I AM getting a bit tired of this problem, but I do not like to waste money so I will keep looking for solutions...

Thank you.

P.s. I tried disabling my antivirus/firewall and I already tried with different cables, no luck...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Hotplug/Homeplug problems
« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2013, 07:18:35 AM »

I would expect that kind of response from the email side of things. Sorry that they could not offer any better solutions.

I would either attempt to get these units into RMA with DLink if you can phone contact them, if not, return them to place of purchase if possible, or find a different solution or Mfr. I wish I could help you more. Not sure what else I can help with.

The only thing I would mention is that since you have a lot of WiFi around, you should investigate running wired LAN cables to places that you need. This will eliminate any need of power plug products and would  the best solution.

Then also check out maybe switching from any 2.4Ghz Wifi radios to 5Ghz radios and upgrading and connecting client devices like PCs and laptops to the 5Ghz radio if you need wireless solutions. You mentioned having numerous other WiFi neighbors near by. I presume that most of these are on the 2.4Ghz frequency as well. 5Ghz should be much less used and might have better operation in your area. If thats something that you need.

Good Luck.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

xpanterx

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Hotplug/Homeplug problems
« Reply #11 on: March 07, 2013, 09:06:46 AM »

I would expect that kind of response from the email side of things. Sorry that they could not offer any better solutions.

I would either attempt to get these units into RMA with DLink if you can phone contact them, if not, return them to place of purchase if possible, or find a different solution or Mfr. I wish I could help you more. Not sure what else I can help with.

The only thing I would mention is that since you have a lot of WiFi around, you should investigate running wired LAN cables to places that you need. This will eliminate any need of power plug products and would  the best solution.

Then also check out maybe switching from any 2.4Ghz Wifi radios to 5Ghz radios and upgrading and connecting client devices like PCs and laptops to the 5Ghz radio if you need wireless solutions. You mentioned having numerous other WiFi neighbors near by. I presume that most of these are on the 2.4Ghz frequency as well. 5Ghz should be much less used and might have better operation in your area. If thats something that you need.

Good Luck.

I might just return them and go for cables, it will be a pain because of how my apparment looks but it is probably the only viable solution...

Thank you for all your tips and help!

Take care
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Hotplug/Homeplug problems
« Reply #12 on: March 07, 2013, 09:27:42 AM »

One other thing as a tip if you can't hid the LAN wires, I use these little screw type brass hooks that you can twist into the wall, I use them down at the floor level next to the door frames and at each corner of the door frame. So if you happen to have to run a cable from one room to another, these hooks come in handy and help keep the cable some what out of sight and keeps the cables from running across the floors and causing trip hazards. Works well for these cases.

Good luck.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

xpanterx

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Hotplug/Homeplug problems
« Reply #13 on: March 13, 2013, 02:35:29 AM »

One other thing as a tip if you can't hid the LAN wires, I use these little screw type brass hooks that you can twist into the wall, I use them down at the floor level next to the door frames and at each corner of the door frame. So if you happen to have to run a cable from one room to another, these hooks come in handy and help keep the cable some what out of sight and keeps the cables from running across the floors and causing trip hazards. Works well for these cases.

Good luck.

Thank you again, sounds interesting. I have these annoying arches that forces me to go from floor to ceiling many times to get the cable where I want it, I included a picture, just for fun, getting a bit off topic now ;).
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Hotplug/Homeplug problems
« Reply #14 on: March 13, 2013, 06:47:16 AM »

I see...
Ya that could be a minor problem however I do think it could be done. I'll take a couple of pictures of my door arches and the hooks that I'm using so you can see how it's done. Nice web page BTW.  ;D
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1] 2