• September 20, 2020, 07:54:11 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Very bad routing performance (solved)  (Read 15975 times)

Svuppe

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Very bad routing performance (solved)
« on: February 18, 2013, 12:23:17 PM »

Hi.
I have just acquired a DIR-865L to replace my old DIR-855.
Unfortunately, I have now switched back. While the new router improved my wireless coverage and speed, the routing to/from the internet was horrible.

I have a 50/50 Mbps line, and my old 855 gives me this result in a speedtest:


Switching to the 865L (having as identical setups as possible):


Not quite the result I expected. These tests are made from my stationary PC, which is connected by a cable, not wireless.

My ISP is Sagitta.dk (formerly Broadcom), delivered with a lan cable.
QoS and traffic shaping are disabled.
No network filters. No access control. No website filters. No inbound filters.
I have tried to loosen up on nat endpoint filtering. No effect.
I have disabled SPI and anti-spoof checking. No effect.
IPv6 is disabled.
Firmware is the newest (1.03).

What else can I try? I really would like to use my new router, but not when I only get a fraction of my internet connection.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2013, 11:10:44 AM by Svuppe »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49187
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Very bad routing performance
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2013, 12:32:02 PM »

Link>Welcome!
What region are you located?
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router? Are you speed testing wired or wireless? It's not recommended to speed test over wireless as results vary and are not accurate sometimes.

Has a Factory Reset been performed before and after updating FW. Was originally came loaded on this router out of the box? Was it tested before updating FW?

Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask.

Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules.
WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP server feature. Tools/Time.

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.

I certainly get 50/2 speeds with my 865L however I have Cable and use a Cable modem with the 856L thats loaded w v1.01 FW out of the box.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2013, 11:15:58 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Svuppe

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Very bad routing performance
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2013, 01:26:40 PM »

Link>Welcome!
What region are you located?
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router? Are you speed testing wired or wireless? It's not recommended to speed test over wireless as results vary and are not accurate sometimes.

Has a Factory Reset been performed before and after updating FW. Was originally came loaded on this router out of the box? Was it tested before updating FW?

Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask.

I am in Denmark (northern Europe).
I am (as I wrote) wired to the router. Also when testing.
The firmware was updated from 1.01 to 1.03. I did test it on 1.01 also, getting equally bad results. Hence the upgrade to see if that solved it. Unfortunately not. And yes, I did a factory reset and set up the config again by hand. Not loading a saved config.

MTU is 1500, and is confirmed to be correct by my ISP. The old router (that works) also has the MTU at 1500.

I have tried all the other tips, but without any improvement. I may be able to borrow a DIR-857 tomorrow. I will report back if/when I have tested that one.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49187
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Very bad routing performance
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2013, 01:31:48 PM »

OK, if the 857 improves the test, I would either return the 865L to the place of purchase and get a new one or phone contact DLink support and ask for an RMA.

Did you get the v1.03 FW from DLinks Demark site?

Keep us posted.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Svuppe

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Very bad routing performance
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2013, 01:05:43 AM »

Unfortunately, I wasn't able to borrow a 857 yesterday. Perhaps I can one of the coming days.
But I did some other tests on my 865L.

First I set it up on an isolated mini-net. One Linux server was acting as the WAN, delivering DHCP information to the router, so it thought it was connected to the outside world. And another PC as a client on LAN. Both wired with Gbit cables and netcards.
Then I performed several iperf tests, both TCP and UDP, to evaluate the routing capacity of the 865L. This revealed that the router is capable of routing plenty of traffic. TCP maxed out the gigabit network with sustained transfers of over 920 Mbit/s. UDP was only able to get 170-180 Mbit/s, but that is still plenty.

Then I connected my 865L WAN side to my old 855 routers LAN side, so I now had two routers in series. I know, this is not what one should do, but it worked. Using a PC on the 865L LAN, going through both routers, I performed a speedtest, and now I got around 43 Mbit/s in both directions.
Eliminating the 855, and just using the 865L, and the very low speeds were back.

This tells me that the 865L works fine, but there is something with the connection from my ISP to the 865L that makes it drop its performance drastically. Something that my 855 hides from the 865L when it is placed in between.

I'll see if I can get any closer to an explanation in the coming days.
Logged

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
Re: Very bad routing performance
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2013, 06:57:45 AM »

Unfortunately, I wasn't able to borrow a 857 yesterday. Perhaps I can one of the coming days.
But I did some other tests on my 865L.

First I set it up on an isolated mini-net. One Linux server was acting as the WAN, delivering DHCP information to the router, so it thought it was connected to the outside world. And another PC as a client on LAN. Both wired with Gbit cables and netcards.
Then I performed several iperf tests, both TCP and UDP, to evaluate the routing capacity of the 865L. This revealed that the router is capable of routing plenty of traffic. TCP maxed out the gigabit network with sustained transfers of over 920 Mbit/s. UDP was only able to get 170-180 Mbit/s, but that is still plenty.

Then I connected my 865L WAN side to my old 855 routers LAN side, so I now had two routers in series. I know, this is not what one should do, but it worked. Using a PC on the 865L LAN, going through both routers, I performed a speedtest, and now I got around 43 Mbit/s in both directions.
Eliminating the 855, and just using the 865L, and the very low speeds were back.

This tells me that the 865L works fine, but there is something with the connection from my ISP to the 865L that makes it drop its performance drastically. Something that my 855 hides from the 865L when it is placed in between.

I'll see if I can get any closer to an explanation in the coming days.


 I had the same issue. Turn ON QoS and Traffic Shaping is now called Transmission rate. You need to MANUALLY select the up and down speed that your ISP has given you. Once I did that, the wired LAN speed was were it should be.

GOTO Advanced tab->QoS engine->enable QoS and select transmission rate.  ;D
Logged

Svuppe

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Very bad routing performance
« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2013, 09:29:20 AM »

Wow. I would never have thought of trying that (enabling QoS).
I can't try it right now, but I will as soon as possible.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49187
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Very bad routing performance
« Reply #7 on: February 20, 2013, 10:17:39 AM »

Isn't Transmission and QoS enabled out of the box? 
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
Re: Very bad routing performance
« Reply #8 on: February 20, 2013, 10:19:58 AM »

Wow. I would never have thought of trying that (enabling QoS).
I can't try it right now, but I will as soon as possible.


I guarantee once you set the up and down transmission rate correctly BOTH your wired LAN and wireless will have the proper bandwidth and life will be good. Took me several weeks to figure it out. The default transmission rate speeds are LOW and that is why the router is not outputting the correct bandwidth.

This router out of the box is GREAT. Like yourself I have experienced much better wireless coverage and throughput in my house.
Logged

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
Re: Very bad routing performance
« Reply #9 on: February 20, 2013, 10:25:02 AM »

Isn't Transmission and QoS enabled out of the box? 

I can't remember if the default settings were enabled or not. Still one needs to "enable" QoS  and YOU NEED TO MANUALLY SET THE TRANSMISSION RATE TO YOUR CORRECT BANDWIDTH THAT THE ISP HAS GIVEN YOU. My transmission rate was set low and severely affected the band width by half!!!! both on the wired and wireless. Life is good now  :D
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49187
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Very bad routing performance
« Reply #10 on: February 20, 2013, 12:53:43 PM »

Can be noted that when setting the rates, you can set them for 1 value higher instead of exact value. Gives a bit of an over head and usually the router and modem maintain your paid limits.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

TimeShifter

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Very bad routing performance
« Reply #11 on: February 20, 2013, 06:53:53 PM »

QoS is not enabled out-of-the-box.  Actually mine is still disabled, but my rates look normal:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2523245421.png

Doesn't necessarily mean that it is working properly though.
Logged

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
Re: Very bad routing performance
« Reply #12 on: February 20, 2013, 07:15:19 PM »

This should be a sticky for newcomers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Logged

Svuppe

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Very bad routing performance
« Reply #13 on: February 21, 2013, 01:12:08 AM »

Unfortunately, that did not help me. Enabling QoS had some effect. Instead of 1.5 Mbit/s download, I now got 10 Mbit/s. But there is still a long way up to my 50 Mbit/s line. I then tried to increase the transmission rate (on the QoS page) to the double of my line, but the speed stayed at 10 Mbit/s.

I also tried a borrowed DIR-857 this morning, but it has the same issues.

Tonight I will see if I can monitor the traffic on both the WAN and LAN side of the router. If I can, I should be able to see any noticeable delays caused by the router.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49187
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Very bad routing performance
« Reply #14 on: February 21, 2013, 06:58:20 AM »

If the 857 is exhibiting the same condition, I would presume that the problem lies elsewhere, up stream or down stream from the routers.

What ISP Modem make and model do you have?

I would factory reset the router(s), set up WiFi SSID info, Ensure Traffic Shaping or Transmission Control is enabled using default settings. Select the UP and Down speeds for Transmission Control. Enable QoS however you shouldn't need to set any rules up. Save settings and reboot the router(s).

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.

Run some speed tests from various sites:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48352.0
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: [1] 2 3