• December 05, 2019, 11:46:40 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Connect DIR-628 to network (HELP) Please  (Read 9529 times)

lucidthoughts

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Connect DIR-628 to network (HELP) Please
« on: January 08, 2013, 07:57:42 PM »

OK this is what I'm trying to do

Right now my modem connects to a (Linksys BEFSR41 Router with 4-Port 10/100 Switch).
Connected to the BEFSR41, I have 3 computers that share files. (everything working)
I have the 4th (last plug) of the BEFSR41 plugged into the DIR-628 Ethernet input.
On port 1 of the (DIR-628) I have plugged a 4th computer. (works fine wired or wireless)

Now I need some help Please,

I'm trying to make it so I can access the files on the 3 other computers that are hooked to the (Linksys BEFSR41) from the 4th computer, the only one that is connected to the (DIR-628) (Wired)

Right now when I use the 4th computer and go to (View Workgroup Computers) I cant see the 3 computers that are on the (BEFSR41)
And when I use anyone of the 3 computers that are hooked to the (BEFSR41) I cant see the one that is hooked to the wired connection of the DIR-628.

How do I fix this?


Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connect DIR-628 to network (HELP) Please
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2013, 08:19:33 AM »

Try connecting the 3 other PCs to the back of the 628?

I would recommend doing the following instead:
ISP Modem>DIR-628><All wired PCs to the back of the DIR-628

or

Turn the DIR-628 into a AP and connect it doing the following:
ISP Modem>Linksys router><DIR-628 using wired AP mode><All wired and wireless devices to the DIR-628.

You can follow this: Turning a router into an AP.

Let us know how it turns out.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

lucidthoughts

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Connect DIR-628 to network (HELP) Please
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2013, 10:25:18 AM »

Thanks for you info, but unfortunately I am not able to wire it the way you describe. This network was setup by someone else years ago.
I made a drawing in paint. I was hoping that I would be able to attach here, but I cant find a attachment button. (is there anyway I can attach a drawing?) or would it be possible to email you the drawing? The network consists a few more components then I described in the previous posts, I left them out to make it easier to explain.

The wired computers are located in different buildings, all are at least 300 feet  or more away from each other. I bought the Dir-628 hoping that I would be able to get wireless signal to computer #4 (building 4) witch is my house. I originally had the Dir-628 connected to the linksys sd2005, but had very poor signal to the house. (witch has made of brick) So this is where I decided to move the Dir-628 inside the house, so I could connect my wireless devices. ( laptop, ipad, phone, ECT...) The wireless devices do not need to access any of the computers that are wired.
So since I have moved the DIR-628 to the house I do get great signal inside, and all wireless devices work great...
But for me to connect to the wired computers now, I have been unplugging the cat5 cable that feeds the DIR-628 and plugging it in directly to computer #4 then I can access all other wired devices. (which is becoming quit the pain in the butt, and not letting my wireless work at that time.

Any help making this work would be greatly appreciated
Thank you
Geoff
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connect DIR-628 to network (HELP) Please
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2013, 10:49:20 AM »

Create a free account at photobucket or imageshack. Then upload the file there. Use the IMG URL link from there and copy and paste it here in the forums.


300ft is quite a distance. You might check out either using a DAP model device like a DAP-1360, 1522, 1525 or something that is either repeatable or bridgeable. That kind of distance, you maybe need to go with something thats built for range in repeating or extending whats coming from the 628.

I usually don't recommend 3rd party Mfrs however since DLink doesn't have anything HIGH powered, you might research this Mfr:
http://hawkingtech.com/

Keep us posted.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2013, 10:59:31 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

lucidthoughts

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Connect DIR-628 to network (HELP) Please
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2013, 11:06:38 AM »

« Last Edit: January 14, 2013, 11:15:47 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connect DIR-628 to network (HELP) Please
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2013, 11:18:46 AM »

Ya, that kind of distance your either going to need to be wired or get into some High powered extenders.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

lucidthoughts

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Connect DIR-628 to network (HELP) Please
« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2013, 11:39:27 AM »

Yes 1- 4 are wired, the Dir-628 is now in my house.
How am I able to to make the computer hooked to the Dir-628 communicate with the 3 other computers that are hooked to the BEFSR41?
Computer #3 has the files that I need access to on computer #4... Computers 1,2,3 are work fine.
There must be a setting some ware in the router software that will let all 4 computers share with each other (files & printer) with out having to buy any more hardware.

Not sure maybe
routing?
port forwarding?
This is where I am lost....

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connect DIR-628 to network (HELP) Please
« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2013, 12:02:18 PM »

I think you should try the "Turning a router in to an AP" method. If the Linksys is acting as the main host router, DHCP and NAT, then you don't need another router on the line. I recommend using the 628 in AP mode and connecting the CAT cables via LAN ports only on the back of the 628.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

lucidthoughts

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Connect DIR-628 to network (HELP) Please
« Reply #8 on: January 14, 2013, 12:20:55 PM »

OK, so what your saying is to hook the cat5 cable coming form the Linksys into my house. To port 1 on the Dir-628 (which is in my house) and then connect port 2 of the Dir-628 to the back of my computer #4 (House). So by doing this I should now be able to go to Network Connections and click on view work grouped computers and see the other 3 computers that are connected to the Linksys?

Is there anything I need to do to the router access page? (192.186.0.1) to switch it to AP mode?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connect DIR-628 to network (HELP) Please
« Reply #9 on: January 14, 2013, 12:25:57 PM »

YES. I have a DGL-4500 set up like this and have my xbox connected to it and then also use the WiFi on my Laptop while in the bed room. Works great.

Just follow the link to the sticky about Turning a Router into an AP. Has all the info you need.

I recommend just connecting one PC to the 628 and get it configured first. Once you have it all set up, reboot it for good measure then connect it via LAN ports. Do not use the WAN port. The sticky has information about setting up a new IP address for the 628 and connecting to it.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

lucidthoughts

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Connect DIR-628 to network (HELP) Please
« Reply #10 on: January 14, 2013, 01:35:27 PM »

Ok Thank you for your info, I am going to give it a try using AP mode.
Just a question for you, why do I have to change the IP address if the Dir-628?
Also if someone connects to the wireless of the DIR-628 when in AP mode, are they able to access my files that are shared on my wired network now? I'm hoping not

Thanks for you time on this matter, I will post back and let you know how it worked for me
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connect DIR-628 to network (HELP) Please
« Reply #11 on: January 14, 2013, 01:41:23 PM »


Ok Thank you for your info, I am going to give it a try using AP mode.
Just a question for you, why do I have to change the IP address if the Dir-628? Due to the main host router and other routers having default IP addresses of 192.168.0.1, this avoids the conflict between the two addresses. And most DLink APs are defaulted to 192.169.0.50 anyways. Why not keep it like that and semi intuitive.
Also if someone connects to the wireless of the DIR-628 when in AP mode, are they able to access my files that are shared on my wired network now? I'm hoping not. This would depend on if you give them access to the WiFi. They could if they had access and access information to the shared folders which I presume should or are password protected?

Thanks for you time on this matter, I will post back and let you know how it worked for me
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

lucidthoughts

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Connect DIR-628 to network (HELP) Please
« Reply #12 on: January 14, 2013, 02:10:16 PM »

My other routers are changed to 192.168.1.1, 192.168.2.1 the DLink only has the 192.168.0.1 address if kept the same it should still work right? (Just a question) since all other routers have be changed it should not conflict? (I will change it to the 192.168.0.50 that was suggested in the AP setup link)

No the files are not password protected.
The other wireless router (Linksys WRT54GS) is the one I let friends connect to. It is connected to the linksys SD2005 5 port switch. I was told that people would not be able to see the computers that are wired to the BEFSR41. From the previous owner that had this network in place. That is why he said he put the switch in place. Any truth to this?

Thanks once again
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connect DIR-628 to network (HELP) Please
« Reply #13 on: January 14, 2013, 02:28:41 PM »

I believe that someone could access any of the network since the switch is just a switch, doesn't nothing to prevent any controlled traffic access.

Looking again at your set up, the switch is in the wrong place actually.
Recommended and common connections for switches are after a host router, not the modem.
Should look like this:
ISP Modem>Linksys BEFSR41>Linksys SD205 swtich<>Wired devices to switch.
                                      >And/Or wired devices to the back of the BEFSR41
                                      >DIR-628 (AP Mode) to the back of the BEFSR41

I could get more complicated however it can be done where you could use the 628 as a router and put the 192.168.0.1 address into the DMZ of the BEFSR41. This will give you full on Internet access and help prevent others from gaining access to your connected devices on the 628.
Would look like this:
ISP Modem>Linksys BEFSR41>Linksys SD205 swtich<>Wired devices to switch.
                                      >DIR-628 (Router Mode) to the back of the BEFSR41 and 628's IP address in    the DMZ of the Linksys router><Your wireless and wired devices connected to the 628.

Is this for a residential community or something were most everyone needs access to the internet?

I would recommend using passwords on network shares and folders.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

lucidthoughts

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Connect DIR-628 to network (HELP) Please
« Reply #14 on: January 14, 2013, 03:22:59 PM »

Yes, it is for a resort that has 11 cabins.

computer 1 (Resident manager)
Computer 2 (Accounting office)
Computer 3 (Front desk) That has Reservation Software on it & is setup in the shared folder on this PC
Computer 4 (My House) with the DIR-628 connected wired, the wireless function is just for me
So computer 1,2,4 access computer 3 to use this software.
No other computers will be connected to the wired connection

The guests that are staying are able to connect to the (Linksys WRT54GS wireless) it has a 15db antenna. (I don't want this to be able to access any wired connections)

I did manage to get diagram I sent you to work, by changing to DIR-628 to AP mode (THANK YOU)
so everything is functioning proper.

Now I'm just concerned about the guests being able to access any of the files shared on the wired network. I was told they had it setup this was so none of the wireless guests could connect to the wired network.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2