Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: DIR-825 Super Slow with new DOCSIS 3.0 Modem  (Read 4914 times)
SVTSkippy
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 8


« on: November 10, 2012, 05:40:11 PM »



  I have had the DIR-825 for a few years now.  Love it.  I have been running a Motorola Surfboard SB5101U cable Modem connected to the DIR-825 (2.02na Rev B) using Atlantic Broadband the whole time.  The speeds I had was 8Mbps/1Mbps.  I am working from home now and wanted faster speeds (20Mbps/2Mbps). So I went to our cable company and they gave me an Arris CM820 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem.

  Well got home and I set it up.  I tested the Arris very first thing running a wire from the modem to a laptop and went to speedtest.net and ran a test and got around 21Mbps/2Mbps.  So I was like cool the modem works fine.  So now I ran the cable from the Arris to the D-link.  Would not hook up.  I tried everything from different cables to resetting each and could not get the router to pick up on the Modem.  So I decided to start upgrading firmwares.  I did one at a time till I got to the 2.07na rev B.  Finally after about 4 hrs I got it to pick up.  Well now when I go to speedtest.net and run a test if it does run I get around 1Mbps/1Mbps instead of the 20Mbps/2Mbps I am paying for.  Both hardwired to the router and wireless I am hitting at a max of 3Mbps/1Mbps.

I unplugged the router for 20 mins and plugged it back in hoping it would work.  Nope no luck.  Now the router will not hook back up to the internet.  I have messed with the uplink settings, QoS settings, turned off firewall, and a few others and so far still slow both wired and wireless to the router.  I don't want to mess up all the settings but would like to continue to use the D-Link because it has been super great.

Any tips or tricks yall can give would be great and thanks in advance.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27827


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2012, 05:44:50 PM »

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=50682.0

What Arris Modem model do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
Double NAT
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.
If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-815>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
SVTSkippy
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2012, 06:19:56 PM »



Thanks for your super fast and very helpful reply.  My plans were to within the next week actually buy a modem so I am not renting it from the cable guys to save a few bucks.  I was looking at the Motorola SB6121 and see that you have a Motorola SB6180.  I am guessing either of these will work ok with the D-link.  I may just hit up the store tomorrow before I deal anymore with this Arris if it is already a known problem. 

Any recommendations on a good Modem that will work with the Dlink.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27827


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2012, 06:24:41 PM »

I have the 6120, 21, and 80, all work great with DIR series routers.

Keep us posted...
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-815>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27827


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2012, 06:28:58 PM »

I would ensure that the SB series modem are supported and allowed on your ISPs system, if so then you'll be good to go.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-815>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
SVTSkippy
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2012, 06:48:25 PM »

Atlantic Broadband Approved Modem List
The following modem models are all available for use with our High‐Speed Internet service.
              
DOCSIS 3.0 Compatible:         
     
Vendor   Model    Vendor   Model   
Ambit DDM3503    Motorola SBG6580
Ambit U10C035    Netgear CMD31T
Arris WBM760A    SMCNetworks SMCD3G
Cisco DPC3000    SMCNetworks SMCD3GNV
Motorola SB6120    Ubee DDM3513
Motorola SB6121    ZoomTelephonics 5350
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27827


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 10, 2012, 06:50:44 PM »

Looks like the 20 or 21 will be good for you.
Heres info on what SB models do what:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48213.0
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-815>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27827


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #7 on: November 10, 2012, 06:52:09 PM »

The Motorola SBG6580 is a VoIP/Modem/Router so I don't think you'll need that one unless you have phone service with your ISP.  Roll Eyes
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-815>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
SVTSkippy
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #8 on: November 11, 2012, 03:59:48 PM »

Well I bought the SB6121 and it will not even hook up straight to a computer.  It just blinks blue the second two lights.  So for now it is either slow with the Arris CM820 or nothing with the Surfboard SB6121.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27827


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #9 on: November 11, 2012, 04:12:13 PM »

Ensure you reset the network on the PC if your connecting it directly to the 6121. IT should get a IP address and connect to the modem. Modems web page is at 192.168.100.1.

Depending on some ISPs, mine, it will pop up in a browser that the modem has to be registered with the ISP. Mine asks for account info and then thats its. Turn off PC, modem, connect to router, reconnect PC to router then turn ON modem, then router and PC.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2012, 04:15:51 PM by FurryNutz » Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-815>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27827


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #10 on: November 11, 2012, 04:20:16 PM »

I also recommend checking cabling as well. Use CAT 6.
Try swapping cabling with known good cables to test.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-815>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
SVTSkippy
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #11 on: November 12, 2012, 04:08:38 PM »



Ok the surfboard not working was my bad.  Completely forgot to call and give them the MAC address.  I called them gave them the info and now the Surfboard SB6121 is hooking up to the Desktop.  Still back at main problem.

Running Cat 6 cables everywhere.  From the modem to the Windows 7 desktop it works fine I get 21/2.  Hooking it to the D-link I get 2/2.  This is straight wired Cat 6 from modem to router and from router to desktop.  I rest my router and tried and still slow.  I went through and unchecked every box I could find and no luck.  I am running out of ideas.  My wife is getting very edgy with with me.  Please Please help.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27827


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #12 on: November 12, 2012, 04:38:22 PM »

Turn OFF Qos and Traffic Shaping for now...should bring up the speed.

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using Link> teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-815>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
SVTSkippy
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #13 on: November 12, 2012, 04:58:57 PM »


I am up for anything.  I work from home over citrix a few times a month and will not be able to if I do not get this going faster.  The whole reason I upgraded to the faster speeds.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27827


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #14 on: November 12, 2012, 05:12:42 PM »

PM me the user ID and PW for the remote user.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-815>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.