• September 21, 2014, 03:08:05 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: wireless stops working on DIR-655  (Read 5160 times)

fj5gtx

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
wireless stops working on DIR-655
« on: March 22, 2012, 07:33:09 AM »

Once every couple of days the wireless service seems to disappear.  I've connected to the router from a wired computer and everything looks ok from the d-link panel, however its not showing up as an available wireless network on the wireless units. 

Pulling the power off for 30 seconds tends to get it working again.  I'm configured bg and n.  I need a mix... an old B laptop, have one machine that has a G NIC, and the rest are N. 

I looked at the firmware updates, but didn't see any notes that would fix my issue.

   Hardware Version: B1      Firmware Version: 2.00NA

Any direction/help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Paul
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 27997
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2012, 07:46:09 AM »

What region are you located?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.

Some things to try:
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.

What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or mixed G and N?
I might upgrade the B device is possible to a G or N wireless adapter.

Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Use InSSIDer to find out.
Turn off Short GI, WLAN Partition and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

If some of the suggestions don't seem to help, a FW update might be needed. However this depends on your external conditions. Having a lot of other WiFi routers near by will be a cause of signal loss on the router as the router has to stop and try to find a open channel. No FW update will fix this. If there are many WiFi routers on 2.4Ghz, it might be an option to get into the 5Ghz radio band in your area. Let us know.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-645>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

fj5gtx

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2012, 08:09:51 AM »

I'm on cable.  The modem doesn't have wireless, just one RJ45 connection for a router.

I can't go single mode, I need BG and N.  I'll try the other settings, but I didn't do much to the router than just plugging it in and setting up my passwords.   Is this thing configured out of the box in a way that is immediately broken?

I bought it a couple weeks ago, and its been doing this since I installed it.   I have a NAS, HP lan printer, 2 desktops, 3 phones and two laptops.  Mostly its only the NAS and HP printer, maybe one phone and a computer that is connected simultaneously.

Only reason I bought this router was for performance.  Wired always works... however my old one performed fine wired.  I need 10mps on the wireless to match my isp.

When I have time I'll try changing some of those setting, but given it only happens every 2 days - I don't think I'll resolve much by testing given I'll have to wait a day or two to see what happens.

Thanks,
Paul
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 27997
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2012, 08:18:48 AM »

I'm on cable.  The modem doesn't have wireless, just one RJ45 connection for a router.
FYI, some modems do have built in routers.

I can't go single mode, I need BG and N.  I'll try the other settings, but I didn't do much to the router than just plugging it in and setting up my passwords.   Is this thing configured out of the box in a way that is immediately broken? Do a quick test and see if Single mode or Mixed G and N work. Might even try single B mode maybe? Yes we know you need B mode, this is just a quick test to see if this resolves. Going to Single mode or Mixed G and N also helps the signal better. These router DO work however like I said in my 1st reply, routers can be effected by other neighboring WiFi routers as there is only a limited number of channels to use and if the neighboring WiFi router numbers exceeds this limit then any and all WiFi  router will exhibit some forum of wireless problem. I call this wifi congestion. However lets see what you find using InSSIDer first and see whos around you.

I bought it a couple weeks ago, and its been doing this since I installed it.   I have a NAS, HP lan printer, 2 desktops, 3 phones and two laptops.  Mostly its only the NAS and HP printer, maybe one phone and a computer that is connected simultaneously. Any of the house phones on a 2.4Ghz freqency?

Only reason I bought this router was for performance.  Wired always works... however my old one performed fine wired.  I need 10mps on the wireless to match my isp. If wired always works even if the wireless goes down, then the problem is wireless related.

When I have time I'll try changing some of those setting, but given it only happens every 2 days - I don't think I'll resolve much by testing given I'll have to wait a day or two to see what happens.

Thanks,
Paul


Let us know how it goes.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2012, 08:48:35 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-645>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

bgarcia17

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2012, 08:49:58 AM »

I'm on cable.  The modem doesn't have wireless, just one RJ45 connection for a router.

I can't go single mode, I need BG and N.  I'll try the other settings, but I didn't do much to the router than just plugging it in and setting up my passwords.   Is this thing configured out of the box in a way that is immediately broken?

I bought it a couple weeks ago, and its been doing this since I installed it.   I have a NAS, HP lan printer, 2 desktops, 3 phones and two laptops.  Mostly its only the NAS and HP printer, maybe one phone and a computer that is connected simultaneously.

Only reason I bought this router was for performance.  Wired always works... however my old one performed fine wired.  I need 10mps on the wireless to match my isp.

When I have time I'll try changing some of those setting, but given it only happens every 2 days - I don't think I'll resolve much by testing given I'll have to wait a day or two to see what happens.

Thanks,
Paul

My 655 does the same thing, but even more infrequently.  Only thing I've noticed is that it may be affected by the amount of wireless activity it's handling.  In other words, the only time it's done this is when there is more than one active wireless device connected and working.  Most of the time, it's just me and my one wireless laptop, and it's never malfunctioned under those conditions (knock on wood).

BTW, on this forum you will find a handful of users suffering the same defect.  All with RevB hardware.  And I've yet to see someone report here (or elsewhere) of a tweak that fixed the problem.  Please let us know if you find a solution.  Mine malfunctions so infrequently, I can live with it.  AND it would be futile for me to try any tweaks due to the long time between failures.

Maybe you and Furry can swap routers temporarily? :)
Logged

fj5gtx

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2012, 08:58:23 AM »

Running ISSIDER, I have 3 other wireless networks available (neighbors at least 200 feet away), 2 on channel 6 and one on 1.  Mine was on 6 as well, so I changed it to channel 5.   When I checked ISSIDER, the other 2 on 6 switched to 11.   I'll try to figure out what the network conditions are when it stops working again.  The signal is low from the others, so I'm thinking its probably not going to matter.

I have no house phones.  Only 3 cell phones that sometimes use wifi for internet use.

The problem with "quick check" is that its something that only happens once every couple of days.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 27997
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2012, 09:08:13 AM »

Set up a manual channel thats not being used, if 6 is open, try 6. Some say 11 is preferred however since the other 2 have switched to that channel, try 6. Since you noticed that they were on 6, and have not moved to 11, this could be an indicator that they were experiencing the same thing and either there router or they manually moved from 6 to 11 after seeing some interference issues.  :-\

Let us know how it goes in a day or few.  ;)
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-645>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

fj5gtx

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2012, 10:13:16 AM »

Just checked inssider again, the two that were on 11 are now back on 6.  Mine is still manually on 5, I plan to leave it there.   I just had to power cycle the router last night, so maybe by Saturday evening I'll know if changing channels has an affect.  (happens only every 2 days or so)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 27997
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2012, 10:14:33 AM »

5 maybe too close to 6, try 4 or 8. Keep us posted.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-645>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

fj5gtx

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2012, 05:26:15 PM »

I've tried different channels as well as single mode... still drops the wireless.   Kids are now well trained to go down and cycle the power on the thing!   Anyone get a solution for this yet?

thanks!
Paul
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 27997
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2012, 05:32:15 PM »

Has a factory reset been done yet?
Is anyone using channel 1?
You area maybe crowded on 2.4ghz. You might want to get a Dlink model DAP that has 5ghz maybe to use w the 655. If your area has other routers using 2.4ghz and all the channels are being used up, the 655 is stopping due to this interference and tries to find another open and clear channel which it cant.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2012, 05:35:52 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-645>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 27997
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #11 on: December 29, 2012, 05:38:30 PM »

I notice that your on FW v2.00, even though this is a good version, you could try upgrading to v2.03 or 2.07 and see if this might help. Do not upgrade to v2.10.

Please do a factory reset before and after the firmware has been sent, then set up the router from scratch if you do this.

I would try manually setting a wifi channel and disable the auto scan.

Keep us posted.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-645>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

fj5gtx

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #12 on: December 29, 2012, 05:47:56 PM »

Has a factory reset been done yet?
Is anyone using channel 1?
You area maybe crowded on 2.4ghz. You might want to get a Dlink model DAP that has 5ghz maybe to use w the 655. If your area has other routers using 2.4ghz and all the channels are being used up, the 655 is stopping due to this interference and tries to find another open and clear channel which it cant.

I'm set on channel 5.  There is no one else on 5 per inSSIDer.  I have not done a factory reset, but I didn't change the out of the box configuration either - other than to track down these problems, which have not been fruitful.
Logged

fj5gtx

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #13 on: December 29, 2012, 05:49:31 PM »

I notice that your on FW v2.00, even though this is a good version, you could try upgrading to v2.03 or 2.07 and see if this might help. Do not upgrade to v2.10.

Please do a factory reset before and after the firmware has been sent, then set up the router from scratch if you do this.

I would try manually setting a wifi channel and disable the auto scan.

Keep us posted.

Is there anyone that has actually fixed this problem?   I did a search, found those with the same issue- but didn't see anyone with a success story...  Am I missing it?   
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 27997
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: wireless stops working on DIR-655
« Reply #14 on: December 29, 2012, 05:57:55 PM »

I would do a factory reset and then upgrade to v2.03 or 2.07 and see. Factory reset once more after the upgrade.
Please follow this: FW Update Process

If the problem still remains that your wireless is cutting out, then your problem is probably environmental having to deal with 2.4ghz and being in a crowded area.

One other way to see if the problem follows would be to take the router to a friend or family's place located in a different area from where you live at and see if the router does the same thing there. I might presume it might not. If it doesn't then you'll know.

IF your interested, maybe someone can review your router settings with you to make sure it's set up well after doing the FW update using TeamViewer. It's safe and secure.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2012, 05:59:42 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-645>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1] 2 3